• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z does not show memory usage

mmd1990

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

I have recently run into a strange problem with GPU-Z and HD 4850 with Windows Vista. It seems that on the sensors tab the Memory usage tab is missing. I have tested on the same system with Win 7 and there the Memory usage tab is shown. I have to do a log of memory usage for an app on Vista and i could use some help. I tried fresh install same thing. I tried other system with vista and same issue. Tries on a different system with vista and nvidia gpu and memory shows.

Edit:
as I found out from an older thread memory usage monitoring requires WDDM 1.1 (introduced with W7) does anyone know an app similar to gpu-z that can create a log of memory usage and gpu load would much apreciate it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#2
You could try an older version of GPU-Z, or perhaps the latest (v0.7.0). I have good luck on most systems using HWiNFO64 (or HWiNFO32), it shows every possible sensor, including all GPU info, and any of them can show in your system tray if you so desire. It also asks me if I want to disable certain Asus sensors that require too many resources, so it can run with a very small footprint. I have Windows 8 Pro and so far no driver issues at all, everything runs perfect, but some software has yet to be updated to Windows 8. You might consider going with 7 or 8, Vista has too many issues that never were solved.
EDIT - HWiNFO64 also has logging of all sensors.
 

mmd1990

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
You could try an older version of GPU-Z, or perhaps the latest (v0.7.0). I have good luck on most systems using HWiNFO64 (or HWiNFO32), it shows every possible sensor, including all GPU info, and any of them can show in your system tray if you so desire. It also asks me if I want to disable certain Asus sensors that require too many resources, so it can run with a very small footprint. I have Windows 8 Pro and so far no driver issues at all, everything runs perfect, but some software has yet to be updated to Windows 8. You might consider going with 7 or 8, Vista has too many issues that never were solved.
I already tried with 0.7 and 0.5.9 as stated above vista is missing WDDM 1.1, and I need to test the app on Vista for a compatibility and performance test.

thank you for your feedback.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#4
Sorry, didn't see your edit 'til I refreshed. As I said HWiNFO64 works for me on XP, 7, and 8, but I never used Vista so I don't know. Also didn't know that about WDDM 1.1, thanks for the info. Good luck!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
as I found out from an older thread memory usage monitoring requires WDDM 1.1 (introduced with W7) does anyone know an app similar to gpu-z that can create a log of memory usage and gpu load would much apreciate it.
that's correct. NVIDIA drivers can also provide memory usage on older operating systems, but not on AMD as far as I know. I also don't see how any application could work around such a limitaiton.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#6
Last edited: