• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z error at launch

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,

My specs: MSI P965, C2D 6400, 2GB DDR2-800, Leadtek 7600GT, Win-XP SP2
It's impossible to launch GPU-Z 0.0.4 on my system.
See the attached image.

p.s.
Why did you use UPX compression for the GPU-Z package?
 

Attachments

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Oops.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
you using an old nvidia driver?
 

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
W1zzard said:
Tualatin : Why did you use UPX compression for the GPU-Z package?

to make it a smaller download
- UPX compression does make sense only in case of huge source files (> 100MB, not this case)
- UPX has a significant decompression time (annoying in most of the cases)
- Executable UPX files require TEMP folder for decompression.
This is a source of troubles because you'll get different files in different folders

W1zzard said:
you using an old nvidia driver?
ForceWare 163.71 WHQL
The latest ...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
- UPX compression does make sense only in case of huge source files (> 100MB, not this case)
- UPX has a significant decompression time (annoying in most of the cases)
- Executable UPX files require TEMP folder for decompression.
This is a source of troubles because you'll get different files in different folders



ForceWare 163.71 WHQL
The latest ...
- download size goes from 1.02 mb to 334 kb - i consider this significant
- i see no difference in decompression time. please link me to the source that states upx takes a long time to decompress
- gpu-z needs temp folder anyway, it extracts a driver binary and starts it
 

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
W1zzard said:
- download size goes from 1.02 mb to 334 kb - i consider this significant
For 1MB source file(s) ZIP or RAR is more than enough.

W1zzard said:
- gpu-z needs temp folder anyway, it extracts a driver binary and starts it
Why do you need a TEMP folder for that GPU-Z.sys (26608 bytes) file?
Why don't you put both files in the same folder and launch the executable?
People don't use to delete the TEMP files on a regular basis and for this reason they'll get a messed up HDD.

Anyway, in my case, I launch GPU-Z, I get that SYS file in the TEMP folder and that error message.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
For 1MB source file(s) ZIP or RAR is more than enough.



Why do you need a TEMP folder for that GPU-Z.sys (26608 bytes) file?
Why don't you put both files in the same folder and launch the executable?
People don't use to delete the TEMP files on a regular basis and for this reason they'll get a messed up HDD.

Anyway, in my case, I launch GPU-Z, I get that SYS file in the TEMP folder and that error message.
- if its not compressed people can run it directly off the web
- if it needs its own folder it should have an installation
- if you just allow "run from any folder" you can't run it from a network drive unless you copy the driver file to a folder on the physical storage
- depending on your permissions you may not be able to write to certain folders
so temp is the only way to go.

if the app doesn't crash it cleans up its files
 

PG

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Have some error on launch too. Vista 32 (notebook FSC Xa1526 (7600 GPU) Drivers 156.65). At launch it just say , it stopped working and thats it , previous versions too.
 

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
W1zzard said:
- if its not compressed people can run it directly off the web
- if it needs its own folder it should have an installation
- if you just allow "run from any folder" you can't run it from a network drive unless you copy the driver file to a folder on the physical storage
- depending on your permissions you may not be able to write to certain folders
so temp is the only way to go.
Come on ...
Let's take CPU-Z for example: 4 files in a 406KB ZIP file.
All you have to do is to create a custom folder ("C:\CPU-Z" for example), to extract those 4 files there and to launch the executable.
No installation required, everything clean.

W1zzard said:
if the app doesn't crash it cleans up its files
Only if it doesn't crash.
Unfortunately ...
 

sglider

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Barcelona
#11
I have same error on launch too.
GPU-Z v0.0.5
WinXP SP2
3Dfuzion 6200 PCI
ForceWare 84.21

At launch show the attached image by Tualatin and that´s it , previous versions too.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
Come on ...
Let's take CPU-Z for example: 4 files in a 406KB ZIP file.
All you have to do is to create a custom folder ("C:\CPU-Z" for example), to extract those 4 files there and to launch the executable.
No installation required, everything clean.



Only if it doesn't crash.
Unfortunately ...
cpu-z extracts a driver too to temp directory
 

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
W1zzard said:
cpu-z extracts a driver too to temp directory
I know, and I asked you why do you need to extract something?
Why both files are not present in the working directory from beginning?

p.s.
I get the same error message with GPU-Z 0.0.5
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
without a driver gpuz will not work
i need a 32-bit and 64-bit driver. that's two files already. why complicate things for the user?
 

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
without a driver gpuz will not work
i need a 32-bit and 64-bit driver. that's two files already. why complicate things for the user?
If you can't (don't want to) use different names for these drivers (for example GPUZ32.sys and GPUZ64.sys), why don't you create 2 different packages for GPU-Z (32 & 64bit)?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
what's the advantage?
 

Giux-900

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Italy
Processor E4400@2.67GHz
Motherboard Asrock 4Core Dual-vsta bios L2.00B
Cooling Zalman 9700NT
Memory 2GB G.Skill HZ Black
Video Card(s) X1950XT-X AGP8x 722/855
Storage Assay® GB
Display(s) NEC MultiSync 20WGX2
Case Thermaltake Aguila w
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply OCZ Modstream 520W
#19
error or crash at launch

Hi ! I have this error at launch gpuz:
"impossible find driver" and in system report the error of service gpuz "impossible start service"
or system freeze !

i have tried with catalyst 7.7 and 7.9 without solutions..

Thanks
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#20
no executable archive, no TEMP folder, all the files are present from beginning, everything clean.
What's your problem with the temp folder? Double click the file and it works, why would you care if it extracts something in the temp folder? The folder is there for exactly this purpose.
 

Tualatin

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#21
DanTheBanjoman said:
What's your problem with the temp folder? Double click the file and it works, why would you care if it extracts something in the temp folder? The folder is there for exactly this purpose.
I don't have any problem with the TEMP folder, the main question is why does he need a TEMP folder.
The main problem is that GPU-Z (any version) cannot be launched on my system (and I'm not the only one in this situation).
I'm trying to help here and I really don't understand what's your problem?
 

Kainco

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core Duo T2300 1.66GHz
Memory 1.5GB DDR533
Video Card(s) GeForce Go 7900GTX @ 600/1600
Storage 60GB 5400RPM
Software Windows XP SP2
#22
Hi, I'm having exactly the same error message. My system is a Dell Inspiron E1705 with a GeForce 7900GS Go flashed to GF 7900GTX Go.

w1zard, I know it's a little more work, but, could you please not use UPX compression and create a file like de CPU-Z, just to try if the problem is fixed?

People in Colombia have been reporting several issues with the program, you can see them here: http://www.laneros.com/showthread.php?t=110455
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#23
Tualatin, all you're doing is just arguing for the sake of it. What you're wanting to do would be far more complicated than what W1z has already implemented. Gpu-z IMO is very "clean" and boots up very quickly and also gets rid of any temp files. And with the UPX compression, I've had no problems with it. I prefer this method over CPU-Z any day, because with cpu-z you have to download, decompress, then run the exe (which takes about 10-20 seconds to load itself). GPU-Z is obviously in beta and bickering like that doesn't help anything. :slap:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#25
tualatin contact me on instant messenger please