• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z on Steam?

Would you like to see a free Steam version of GPU-Z alongside the regular one?


  • Total voters
    58

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,768 (3.88/day)
Likes
9,371
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
@W1zzard There are so many updates for GPU-Z that I tend to run older versions simply because I haven't got round to updating it yet. However, I keep Steam open all the time, which updates everything in a timely manner and with zero effort. So, to help us keep it up to date and to reach a wider userbase, would you consider making a free Steam version alongside your usual one?

Note that Steam apps can be programmed to run without Steam being active, so it's only a requirement for installation and updates.

I'd like to know how popular this idea is, so people please vote in the poll.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
791 (0.25/day)
Likes
264
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#2
I like the idea of it, but I imagine there would be some cost involved for W1zzard @ TPU
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
591 (0.21/day)
Likes
81
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#3
Voted NO.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,768 (3.88/day)
Likes
9,371
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
I like the idea of it, but I imagine there would be some cost involved for W1zzard @ TPU
I think for free software it's probably free to put on there. Would have to look at the terms and conditions to say for sure though.
 
Likes: Naki
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
591 (0.21/day)
Likes
81
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#5
IF a new channel for downloading GPU-Z is to exist, I would like that to be the (Microsoft) Windows Store.
This would reach many people, including non-gamers as it can work for Windows 8.1, as well as Windows 10. Many other Windows programs I use already have this option, such as Slack, Evernote and many others.
(some took the "pay to use Windows Store app with easy updates" approach, which obviously I do not like - e.g. Paint.NET, which is fully free otherwise)

Likelihood of non-gamers to use Steam client is quite low. Not everybody using GPU-Z is a gamer.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
13,161 (3.98/day)
Likes
7,520
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.4GHz 16c/16t 1.18V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + 27" Acer 2560x1440 75Hz IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#6
Dear God, no. I don't want an additional layer of software just to update the program. Nor do I think its even useful on steam to be honest. I laughed seeing UL's 3DMark was available through steam already. A monitoring program just seems so out of place. And especially for this reason....
Note that Steam apps can be programmed to run without Steam being active, so it's only a requirement for installation and updates.
I don't want to have to do that. I prefer a lightweight application without having to load steam up or configure the app to run outside of steam (how does it update if it runs outside of steam, btw? I have never forced any games to run offline...).

It isn't enough that GPUz notifies you in the first place that it needs an update and you take the few seconds to update it? Don't be lazy!!!

No, and No. Please don't. :)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,768 (3.88/day)
Likes
9,371
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
Dear God, no. I don't want an additional layer of software just to update the program. Nor do I think its even useful on steam to be honest. I laughed seeing UL's 3DMark was available through steam already. A monitoring program just seems so out of place. And especially for this reason....
I don't want to have to do that. I prefer a lightweight application without having to load steam up or configure the app to run outside of steam (how does it update if it runs outside of steam, btw? I have never forced any games to run offline...).

It isn't enough that GPUz notifies you in the first place that it needs an update and you take the few seconds to update it? Don't be lazy!!!

No, and No. Please don't. :)
I'm not sure you realise that I'm proposing this to go alongside the regular one, not replace it? There are merits to both approaches, especially if someone just doesn't want Steam on their system, they shouldn't be forced to have it.

I've actually got a paid for utility or two which run without having Steam active, which is quite handy and people should be aware that this is possible, hence I pointed that out.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
52 (0.09/day)
Likes
29
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8P67
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4x2GB DDR3-1600 GSkill RipjawsX
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + Samsung 500GB HDD
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire RAPID-i
Software Windows 10
#8
It seems to me like what you really want is an auto-update/one-click update feature.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
791 (0.25/day)
Likes
264
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#9
It seems to me like what you really want is an auto-update/one-click update feature.
That would be much better, the program connecting and updating itself on startup.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
13,161 (3.98/day)
Likes
7,520
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.4GHz 16c/16t 1.18V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + 27" Acer 2560x1440 75Hz IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#10
I'm not sure you realise that I'm proposing this to go alongside the regular one, not replace it? There are merits to both approaches, especially if someone just doesn't want Steam on their system, they shouldn't be forced to have it.

I've actually got a paid for utility or two which run without having Steam active, which is quite handy and people should be aware that this is possible, hence I pointed that out.
Oh, I get it... but still. No thanks. Update it when the software asks. It really is just that simple. This is a workaround for the extremely lazy. IIRC, it is literally 3/4 clicks... Update is avail, would you like to update? CLICK. Goes to TPU page... CLICK on latest version... install YES/No/run from exe... CLICK. And it is installed.

A better idea, to me, is to simply add a check-box in advanced for an auto-update feature. There is no need for Steam to accomplish this goal and would just be bloat to put in on there for this.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
591 (0.21/day)
Likes
81
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#11
@EarthDog and @Hellfire -- I think in current state of operation of GPU-Z updates, this would be problematic.
Remember, Steam games/apps' updates require NO UAC prompts. And update of GPU-Z from older to newer version does require UAC confirmation.

Same for Windows Store app updates - they do not need confirmation or prompts to confirm.
I think only exception would be if the permissions of a new version of any existing app have changed (new ones got added), similar to how this works on Android.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,293 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,260
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10
#12
Definitely a "no".
It'll make it a real pain in the ass to push updates, add complexity and overhead with Steam libraries, plus there's no real-world scenario where launching non-gaming software off Steam made any big impact for the end user. I'm still confused about Futuremark/UL decision to distribute 3DMark through steam...
What we want (I really mean "want", not "need") is some sort of auto-update mechanism, like, let's say, in Notepad++.
I'm sure @W1zzard can make it happen, but it'll definitely cut out a big chunk of ad revenue for TPU, given that millions of users download GPU-z off the main site. I can survive without both of those update mechanisms.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
295 (0.16/day)
Likes
324
Location
Bucks, UK
System Name Firebox
Processor Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-core processor @ stock
Motherboard Asrock B450M Pro4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro RGB
Memory 16GB DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 570 8GB Pulse 1410/8440 OC
Storage Really CBA to list all my drives
Display(s) Dell U2414H
Case Fractal Design Fcous G ATX Mystic Red
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z
Power Supply EVGA 500w bronze
Mouse £12.99 but not RGB
Keyboard £12.99 with RGB
Software What do you think?
Benchmark Scores SOME NUMBERS!!
#13
It's really not needed. It takes like 10 seconds to download GPUz directly from TPU (via Google Search) and use it.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,029 (1.86/day)
Likes
2,262
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 1201
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Gigabyte Aurus Rgb 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981 samsung 840, WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
#14
Yes I like the sound of saving 10 seconds twice a year ,ish.

Some sound somewhat if i can't have it my way no one can ish here.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
13,161 (3.98/day)
Likes
7,520
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.4GHz 16c/16t 1.18V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + 27" Acer 2560x1440 75Hz IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#15
Some sound somewhat if i can't have it my way no one can ish here.
I think we just called a spade a spade. For those who are too lazy to 'save 10s twice a year', it could be a good thing.....

....there are several ways to skin that cat though. One of which is adding a simple check box in the advanced tab to auto-update. Which seems to me, someone not in the know, a lot easier than to have to mess with Steam. So while I agree an auto-update could be helpful, Steam doesn't appear to be a good way to go about it.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,600 (3.47/day)
Likes
20,673
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
No plans for that. Especially not when there's no revenue stream associated with it. Why should I jump through all the hoops and loops that Valve certainly has tied to Steam?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
13,161 (3.98/day)
Likes
7,520
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.4GHz 16c/16t 1.18V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + 27" Acer 2560x1440 75Hz IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#17
No plans for that. Especially not when there's no revenue stream associated with it. Why should I jump through all the hoops and loops that Valve certainly has tied to Steam?
What is the LOE to add an auto-update feature that users can select via checkbox (default off).
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
591 (0.21/day)
Likes
81
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#18
I think we just called a spade a spade. For those who are too lazy to 'save 10s twice a year', it could be a good thing.....

....there are several ways to skin that cat though. One of which is adding a simple check box in the advanced tab to auto-update. Which seems to me, someone not in the know, a lot easier than to have to mess with Steam.
Already covered! No, not that simple, I am afraid -->
" I think in current state of operation of GPU-Z updates, this would be problematic.
Remember, Steam games/apps' updates require NO UAC prompts. And update of GPU-Z from older to newer version does require UAC confirmation. "

To not have UAC prompts on GPU-Z update would be a major change. For starters, it would need to change GPU-Z default install location not to be in Program Files, but somewhere in the user documents folder, such as %APPDATA%/etc so updates files can be written to it without an UAC prompt. Not a minor change by any means! :) And not one W1zzard would agree on easily.
(and NO, do not tell me "you can disable UAC" as I am most definitely not doing that, EVER)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
13,161 (3.98/day)
Likes
7,520
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.4GHz 16c/16t 1.18V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + 27" Acer 2560x1440 75Hz IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#19
Ahh, that makes sense. Typically I disable UAC things so I do not get notified for anything, which of course includes GPUz. Clearly I am in a minority of all users who leaves such measures active.

I'm surprised that an install location, seems to be, changing the way the wheel works. Who would have thought... a different path would be so difficult.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,301 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,980
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#20
UAC? LMFAO!!! Literally the first thing I do after installing an OS is turn that stupid shit OFF. And not one single time, since its inception, has there ever been a set of circumstances where it would have done me a lick of good to have it ON. If you think you need to have UAC ON, you have pretty much no business operating a computer unsupervised. If you like having UAC ON, you're a masochist. In either case, I feel sorry for you.

Anyway. Voted no. No point whatsoever in having it on Steam. Sorry.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,029 (1.86/day)
Likes
2,262
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 1201
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Gigabyte Aurus Rgb 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981 samsung 840, WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
#21
So no auto update in any form ever , ah well , you tried @qubit.
Shame because every time I use it it needs updating , same with hwinfo64 and the same thing will continue , I and most others, click the forget that option, it worked last time and im not interested enough in your updates.

That's how shit presently rolls, and shortsighted eye's have missed a promo and add revenue stream there.

Tie up gpuz with more compos ,prizes and partnerships and it might earn you more undrr the radar it would also better promote tpu in the guises. Qubit asked for and Naki.

If more see it hows that bad promotion.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
591 (0.21/day)
Likes
81
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#22
MrGenius - I have more than 3 of my own PCs here, and I admin 3-4 more of my family members, so I am supervising at least 7 PCs here - ALL of those have UAC on, and I have no plans to change this, EVER. My family is happy with how I admin their PCs for over 20 years now. :)
Reasons are simple, and well-known so will not discuss in detail here.
LMFAO as much as you wish, it's your choice to cripple your PC's security - genius idea! (how did I not think of that myself?!) - and mine is not to do that, so go joke around with your dumb jokes elsewhere.

RE what the others say - I agree having GPU-Z in more download locations would make it more popular, which is a good thing to any app/program. Auto-update due to that is a bonus, and all can still choose to download from TPU directly instead.
I think Steam is not the better of those possible choices, IMHO Windows Store is as I said. BUT if Windows Store downloads would mean less TPU views/visits and thus less ad revenue, I guess this is unlikely to happen.
EDIT: A way out/partial compromise to mitigate this would be include ads in GPU-Z itself if downloaded from Windows Store, with no option to turn those off unless money is paid/etc, but that would be a big OUCH. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,293 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,260
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10
#23
UAC? LMFAO!!! Literally the first thing I do after installing an OS is turn that stupid shit OFF. And not one single time, since its inception, has there ever been a set of circumstances where it would have done me a lick of good to have it ON. If you think you need to have UAC ON, you have pretty much no business operating a computer unsupervised. If you like having UAC ON, you're a masochist. In either case, I feel sorry for you.
Pretty much every modern OS, Windows being last to the party, has something like UAC in it, and it's there not to annoy users, but to prevent unauthorized access to your stuff from the inside and the outside.
Having a seatbelt on is also an annoyance and many people don't get into car accidents over their lifetime, but having this feature in a car is generally considered a good thing.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
13,161 (3.98/day)
Likes
7,520
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.4GHz 16c/16t 1.18V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + 27" Acer 2560x1440 75Hz IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#24
Well, the thing is, many of us here would be considered enthusiasts. And though it could still protect me from myself and any other number dubious things, I do disable it religiously on my personal PC (my wife and kids, LOL, its enabled). Many here do disable it I would bet. However, we are but a drop in a lake of PC users where leaving UAC enabled is a normal, and 'best' practice.

Sadly, due to that, a most simple of ways to appease those who may want this feature, seems it isn't so simple. :(

Steam though... that's like calling EA a solution for games. :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
591 (0.21/day)
Likes
81
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#25
As the man said, Linux and macOS have this for a while now. In fact, it is worse there - you have to confirm major changes with your (master/root) password, and Windows UAC does not need that so it is less obtrusive. :)
I would consider myself a "power user" and use PCs since the Windows 3.1, and DOS 3.3 days (do not remember pre-3.3 DOS too well, was a LONG time ago). Used Windows 2.x only briefly so do not remember it either. :)
 
Top