• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-z reporting 8x bus speed

shadd

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
my gt9800 is reporting 8x bus speed when motherboard can support 16x. when i have my 8600gt in it reports 16x. is this just a bug or what? starting to think it isn't because bandwidth is lower than that of my 8600gt.

 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2
What motherboard?
You need to list some specs.

And, welcome to TPU.:)
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.54/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#3
PCI-E 8X shouldn't really bottleneck a 9800GT
 

shadd

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Thanks. Can post the whole thing if you would like

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/13/2009, 21:48:08
Machine name: JOHN-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7100) (7100.winmain_win7rc.090421-1700)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD
System Model: MS-7392
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3072MB RAM
Page File: 804MB used, 5333MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7100.0000 32bit Unicode
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#5
Try:
1. Checking the slot for dust or trash and blow it clean. Also, make sure the card is seated in the slot properly.
2. If you have a card (sound or other) in the 1X PCI-e slot try it without it.
3. Try resetting the cmos(bios).
4. Make sure you are using the lastest bios for your Motherboard.

Your MSI P31 Neo is a 1X16 PCI-e 1.0a compiant board, info here :http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=&cat3_no=&prod_no=1286
:)

Edit: Sorry, I can't address the GPU-z question, but the developer/author will be able to ; he pops in every so often.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.54/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#6
what he said
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#7
In the past, I've managed to cripple some of the PCIe lanes on a few cards by knocking off some of those tiny surface mount capacitors located on either the front or the backside, just above the PCIe connector on the card. One single missing cap can (will) cut 8 lanes at best scenario (upto 15 lanes) leaving the card with just 8x to 1x lanes.

So if you've physically abused your cards (like me)...
:D

This is probably not the case here, though.
:p

My current HD4890 ran at PCIe 8x a while back after getting two caps... err... pulverized off of the SOB. Nothing a little soldering wouldn't fix though.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
399 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
United Kingdom.
System Name i7 Rig.
Processor i7 3930K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition
Cooling Custom, Liquid Cooled.
Memory 32gb DDR3 2133mhz Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte 780Ti Gigahertz Edition in SLI
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) 1x 30" Dell U3011, 2x 24" Dell U2414H
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply be quiet! Power Zone 1000W
Mouse Corsair Gaming CG M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Brown MX
Software Windows 7 Premium 64-Bit
#8
I don't know if this is 100% or not but I think I read somewhere that when you are in game some cards changes to x16. But I could be completely wrong lol. Anyone else heared about this?
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#9
^I'm pretty sure that doesn't happen.
=)
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,047 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,146
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#10
Have you powered down, and reseated the card yet? That's fixed it for me in the past. I've noticed that cards will work even if not completely seated evenly in the slot, but at a lower speed at times. There was another time it read 1x and even though it appeared seated correctly and fully, reseating it still fixed the issue. Definately where I'd start if you haven't already.

:toast:
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
#11
I have recently had the same problem with my cards...The one reported x8 and the 2nd x1...
It turned out to be a driver problem.Reinstall clean your forceware sometimes and see what u get!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,165 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
I don't know if this is 100% or not but I think I read somewhere that when you are in game some cards changes to x16. But I could be completely wrong lol. Anyone else heared about this?
i've seen evidence that some power saving mechanisms may support that. have never seen it in action though
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,459 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,126
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#18
Kornev, if you are having the same problem, try uninstalling your video drivers, then install new drivers.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,378 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,291
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
do as i do



Start>Control Panel>Hardware and sound (click the actual title)>Choose power plan> unclick hide additional plans>select high performance>change plan settings>change advanced power settings>click PCI Express drop down>select link state power managment>choose off. reboot. what happens?
 

shadd

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
do as i do

http://img.techpowerup.org/090819/kidage.jpg

Start>Control Panel>Hardware and sound (click the actual title)>Choose power plan> unclick hide additional plans>select high performance>change plan settings>change advanced power settings>click PCI Express drop down>select link state power managment>choose off. reboot. what happens?
its set to off. gonna try the driver suggestion and reseating the vid card
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.55/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#21
Just reseat the card, happened to me before. Went from x8 to x4 to x2 as the weeks went by. By the time it was x2 it's very hard to boot already so I opened the case and reseated the card. Then it's x16 again.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
In the past, I've managed to cripple some of the PCIe lanes on a few cards by knocking off some of those tiny surface mount capacitors located on either the front or the backside, just above the PCIe connector on the card. One single missing cap can (will) cut 8 lanes at best scenario (upto 15 lanes) leaving the card with just 8x to 1x lanes.

So if you've physically abused your cards (like me)...
:D

This is probably not the case here, though.
:p

My current HD4890 ran at PCIe 8x a while back after getting two caps... err... pulverized off of the SOB. Nothing a little soldering wouldn't fix though.
i've seen that, cards that didnt POST due to damage, but would post when you put tape over the card and locked them to 1x/4x

I don't know if this is 100% or not but I think I read somewhere that when you are in game some cards changes to x16. But I could be completely wrong lol. Anyone else heared about this?
Vista and 7 have PCI-E link state power management as an option. no idea what it does, but it doesnt lower the bandwidth.


i've seen evidence that some power saving mechanisms may support that. have never seen it in action though
see above :) because you're you, i grant a screenshot

 

shadd

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
so after a little testing, i am pretty sure the video card is defective. it reads 8x on my fathers computer as well and it's pushed all the way down. do you think its worth RMA'ing? how much of a performance increase would i see going from 8x to 16x? thanks for the help thus far
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
no performance difference at all really. not worth RMAing it as it will still be working at full power.