1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-z says one slot is 2.0 and other isnt

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by FR@NK, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    I'm using ATI HD4870 on a P5E WS Pro board that uses the x38 chipset. GPU-Z shows "PCI-E x16 @ x16" when installed in the top slot nearest the CPU. When in the bottom slot it says "PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ x16 2.0". CCC and everest says its running at x16 2.0 in either slot. Is this an error in GPU-Z? or could one slot be limited to 1.1 and the other 2.0?


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    It must be an error,if you KNOW the specs of the board to be true,then the software is misreporting.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Yea I know but this board has a PCI-X slot on it and im wondering if its tied into the PCI-E lanes and not compatible with PCI-E 2.0 and forcing 1.1 mode. Its just weird that one slot shows 1.1 and the other 2.0 in GPU-Z.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,961 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,947
    ask asus support its either a design limitation or some bios link negotiation issue
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,229 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    try update bios , if you update bios of the x38 maybe you have a x48 mobo , bios of x38 do too much things am sure
     
  7. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    I got a beta bios from asus support which fixed the issue. If anyone needs this bios pm me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Whats the email of the tech that replied to you? I'd like to talk to those dimwits about the P5Q series.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)