• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

gpu-z show always dedicated memory 0 MB (geforce 650m gt + windows 8)

chronek

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

I have windows 8 pro on msi laptop what is with nvidia geforce 650m gt 2GB gddr5 + intel hd 4000. When i run games or benchmarks gpu-z always show 0 MB use of dedicated memory and 50-500MB use of dynamic memory. Is it show correct? Or it is a bug of gpu-z, driver or windows 8?

Mike
 

interman

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#2
I have the same problem on similar platform. It's weird. How is it possible that a dedicated card takes huge amount of memory from RAM while VRAM stays unused, even when amount of VRAM is equal to 2GB. I should not be.
Besides, it would be nice if gpuz shows name of core as "Kepler", not as GK107, as on Radeons.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,028 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,897
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
Does GT 650M have dedicated graphics memory? or does it use only main memory?

Besides, it would be nice if gpuz shows name of core as "Kepler", not as GK107, as on Radeons.
"Kepler" is the name of the architecture, like "GCN" on recent AMD cards
 

interman

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
Probably all mobile GT6xxM have its own dedicated VRAM, which is displayed in the main window of GPU-Z in every single case.

Does GT 650M have dedicated graphics memory? or does it use only main memory?
It has, but gpu-z displays something different as part of usage charts.
 

chronek

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
It have 2 GB gddr5 dedicated graphics memory, gpu-z see it. Is any other program who can show usage of graphic memory?
 

chronek

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Yay found nice app , GPU Shark , it show in detailed mode some memory usage , still don't know if it is dedicated or dynamic
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#8
It have 2 GB gddr5 dedicated graphics memory, gpu-z see it. Is any other program who can show usage of graphic memory?
There are lots! MSI AfterBurner, EVGA Precision and many more.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#10
Same problem here, but with XFX Radeon 7970 Black edition. Any ideas?
What does the AMD System Monitor show?
How about Sapphire TriXX?
EDIT: What Windows OS and what video driver version do you use? Try an older/newer AMD video driver.
 
Last edited:

chropose

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#11
Hello Naki, sorry for late reply.

I'm not sure how to deal with AMD System Monitor. As for sapphire Trixx, here's what it says:



Afterburner OSD shows 500-ish MB of memory usage while playing Skyrim on ultra high @ 1280x960.

I'm using Windows 8 Pro with Catalyst 13.3 beta 3 driver.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#12
If you're referring to the "Memory Usage (Dedicated)" in the "Sensors" tab of GPU-Z, I think you are thinking of something different. Mine shows a null value as well, but this is normal. The memory size you are thinking of is in the "Graphics card" tab and is the "Memory size".



The "dedicated" memory in GPU-Z is the amount of system (non-GPU) memory that is reserved for use by the graphics card (whether or not it is needed), whereas the "Dynamic" memory is the amount of memory that is actually being used by the graphics card at any given time for textures etc.. With DirectX 9 and before, all data in graphics memory was required to be duplicated in system memory and thus there was "Dedicated" system memory for graphics, usually equivalent to the memory capacity of the graphics card but sometimes bigger. With DirectX 11 and above, system memory is allocated for graphics dynamically and there is no "Dedicated" memory. Furthermore in DX11 and above there is no requirement that the the graphics memory be replicated in system memory, so the only time system memory is used is when the GPU runs out of graphics memory. This frees up a lot of system memory and is the reason why there is no "Dedicated" memory for you or any system running DX11.

This link also gives a good explanation of this.
I hope this clears things up.
 
Last edited:

chronek

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
This link show that windows 7 getting rid of the system memory copy entirely, but with my laptop and windows 7 i see dedicated memory use , with windows 8 not .... I think it is bug of gpu-z or windows 8 have another strange graphic architecture what not use gpu graphic memory at all ....