• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z shows vga as running at v1.1 but should be v2.0

iwsmallwd

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Strider
Processor Intel E7200 2.5GHz @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Akasa AK 965 cooler
Memory 2x2Gb Kingston Hyper-X 8500
Video Card(s) XFX 4890 XXX
Storage 2x250GB in RAID 0
Display(s) LG Flatron L1919S
Case Gigabyte
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply OCZ 600W ModXstream-Pro
Software OS WinXP SP3
#1
Hi folks

My ATI 4890 (XFX XXX) is on a Gigabyte mobo (EP45-DS3R) both supposedly PCIev2.0 on the slot I'm using for my vga. GPU-Z (0.5.1) shows it as running at v1.1 most of the time but flicks over to v2.0 occasionally. It seems like it goes to v2.0 when there's a bit of load but not confirmed that. What's going on? Is that normal opperation to be at one version then switch to another?

Any clarification on this would be great. Thanks.

----------------------------------------------
E7200 @ 3.2 GHz
GA-EP45-DS3R
XFX ATI 4890 XXX
2x250GB in RAID 0
4Gb Kingston Hyper-X
OCZ 600W ModXstream-Pro
Akasa AK 965 cooler
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#2
Have you tried taking your card out and putting it back in? Maybe it is not firmly connected.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,547 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,909
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
It's a power-saving feature. ;) Perfectly normal for it to not be in PCI-E 2.0 mode when not loaded. BOTH AMD and Nvidia cards do this.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
^ It has only happened to me when card was not firmly connected. If it's a power saving feature, then it doesn't work for me. Is it related to windows power plans?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#5
PCI-Express Link Power Management setting thingy?
 

iwsmallwd

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Strider
Processor Intel E7200 2.5GHz @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Akasa AK 965 cooler
Memory 2x2Gb Kingston Hyper-X 8500
Video Card(s) XFX 4890 XXX
Storage 2x250GB in RAID 0
Display(s) LG Flatron L1919S
Case Gigabyte
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply OCZ 600W ModXstream-Pro
Software OS WinXP SP3
#6
Thanks chaps

Re-seating is definately on my to do list and would like to know more about PCI-Express Link Power Management but XP doesn't reveal much. Planning on going to Win7 (but not sure whether 64bit) and give the whole pc a shake down. It just struck me as odd the that the version changed like that and wondered if there was a major compatibility issue with my mobo and vga. Thanks again.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#7
Aaah, XP, ignore my last post then.
With how much RAM you've got, I'd go 64 bit win7.
 

iwsmallwd

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Strider
Processor Intel E7200 2.5GHz @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Akasa AK 965 cooler
Memory 2x2Gb Kingston Hyper-X 8500
Video Card(s) XFX 4890 XXX
Storage 2x250GB in RAID 0
Display(s) LG Flatron L1919S
Case Gigabyte
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply OCZ 600W ModXstream-Pro
Software OS WinXP SP3
#8
Yeh! Most probably will. 4Gb at mo but maybe put another 2 in.