• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z sorta screwed up computer

akashi

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Ok, i saw this program called GPU-Z and i decided to try it out

When i started up GPU-Z my computer just froze for like 10 minutes before i reset it

Then my computer wouldn't even start up for some reason, i took out my graphics card and ran it on the integrated graphics and it started to work again for some reason

I asked a friend of mine and he told me to do system restore, which kinda made sense as its probrably something to do with software but that screwed it up even more

Now my computer can't get past the windows loading screen, (the one with the bar moving across), well it kinda does but it just remains as a blank, black screen and i can't do anything

I tried formatting windows but now for some reason my computer has difficulty reading the CD and it just "hangs"


Is this something to do with GPU-Z? I searched and couldn't find much. What should i do now?

I can't really get the info for my computer, but by memory it is:

2.8GHZ CPU, AMD <i forgot the model>
2GB RAM
512 GFX card, NVIDIA <i forgot the model>
Windows XP OS
(i used the 0.3.0 version of GPU-Z)

thanks
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.94/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#2
What was some of the last things u did on that comp?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,168 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,138
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
gpu-z can't damage any hardware. if you formatted/reinstalled windows and the problem is still there then you clearly have another problem.

have you removed your overclock? try a cmos reset. any lose cables? cpu/gpu fans spinning?
 

akashi

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
wow, that was a fast reply

What was some of the last things u did on that comp?
the last thing i remember doing on the computer was installing a game

gpu-z can't damage any hardware. if you formatted/reinstalled windows and the problem is still there then you clearly have another problem.

have you removed your overclock? try a cmos reset. any lose cables? cpu/gpu fans spinning?
opps, sorry i didnt make it clear in my post

i didn't format windows, but i attempted to, but it won't read the CD and it "hangs"

no loose cables, and when i reconnected my GPU the fan spins alright

i just googled cmos reset and i found a tutorial about it and i'll try it out when i get home
 

akashi

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
ok, i got windows working again

the graphics card still doesn't work, when i put it in, i get "no signal" from my monitor, but windows is still loading and working, just with no screen, if i take it out, windows works perfectly, with the screen on as well

how do i fix this, i tried the NVidia forums, they weren't much help... :respect:
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.15/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#6
Have you installed the drivers? As you don't know which graphics card it is I can't be sure, but this should work.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,660 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#7
gpu-z can't damage any hardware. if you formatted/reinstalled windows and the problem is still there then you clearly have another problem.

have you removed your overclock? try a cmos reset. any lose cables? cpu/gpu fans spinning?
W1zzard is correct.

Sounds like you might need to go into the bios and set your Graphics/video to auto, like they said reset your bios. If the video card was working it probably is ok, slim chance it might have died, but possible. More than likely, something did not set right if you loaded a game or software.

You need to let us know what your system specs are, too. You know like the motherboard, video card, etc.

Most of the people on here will help and they are mostly great people with a lot of knowledge.:)
 

akashi

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
ok, i managed to fix the problem now

apparently the monitor got screwed up somehow but i googled for info and a fix came up