• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] VRM temperature monitoring on HD 7970

Status
Not open for further replies.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,279 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Adds Voltage regulator temperature monitoring for all ATI cards with CHL8228
 

Attachments

  • GPU-Z.exe
    1 MB · Views: 3,552
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Location
Monahans, Texas
System Name Custom Build
Processor Intel Core I-5 8600k
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X Wifi/AC
Cooling EKWB custom loop
Memory 16Gb DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Waterforce WB Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung EVO M.2 500GB plus 2 RAID configs
Display(s) LG 55EG9600 OLED
Case Corsair
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma w/green switches
Software Windows 10 Build 17661
GPU-Z Test Build] VRM temperature monitoring on HD 7970

Hello W1zzard, This doesn't work on my Asus HD7970 DCUII non-Top version with or without the Top bios flashed. It only shows my (gpu temperature) reading temps-wise.




The ONLY software i have found that shows me 2 different temps is the latest ASUS GPU Tweak's GPU Monitor. It has a reading for (Power Temperature) and I distrust its accuracy.

If anyone knows why this is or may be please let me know. I have looked everywhere through hours and hours of forum reading on my card and other 7970's, and No.... HWiNFO32 nor HWiNFO64works either.... Slightly disappointed in Asus right now :wtf: really......no sensors on your Top-End Ati model?? And tons of problems.... Love my Sabertooth Z-77 mobo though but somethings gotta give with this DCUII card. Thanks :)
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,279 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
my guess is your card doesnt have chl8228
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Location
Monahans, Texas
System Name Custom Build
Processor Intel Core I-5 8600k
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X Wifi/AC
Cooling EKWB custom loop
Memory 16Gb DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Waterforce WB Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung EVO M.2 500GB plus 2 RAID configs
Display(s) LG 55EG9600 OLED
Case Corsair
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma w/green switches
Software Windows 10 Build 17661
GPU-Z Test Build] VRM temperature monitoring on HD 7970

my guess is your card doesnt have chl8228



Darn! lol Thanks anyways man :) I'll have to find out how to find out what my sensor is (if any).
 

Frantic

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
vrm monitoring works

Hi,
I have a gigabyte 7970 oc windforce edition and the vrm temp monitoring works great. Good thing it is now easy to see how hot these get.

Thanks.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.29/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
just played 3 hrs of BF3, VRm 1 was 103 Celsius, and VRM 2 was 89 Celsius.....

1175v 1125/1575


thoughts? am i doing something wrong? is this normal?
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
274 (0.05/day)
Location
Unknown
System Name ASAS
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3-B3
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Patriot 2x4GB DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 T1 @ 1.5V
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Gaming
Storage Samsung 830 256GB + Samsung Spinpoint T133 HD400LJ 400GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster EX1920
Case Bitfenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze 620W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
just played 3 hrs of BF3, VRm 1 was 103 Celsius, and VRM 2 was 89 Celsius.....

1175v 1125/1575


thoughts? am i doing something wrong? is this normal?

Your sig say you're using aftermarket cooler. They usually have worse VRM cooling than stock.

Did you put VRM heatsinks on?
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.29/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Your sig say you're using aftermarket cooler. They usually have worse VRM cooling than stock.

Did you put VRM heatsinks on?

yes I did, all the VRm sinks are on and are on properly. :(

edit: msi afterburner allows you to underclock memory voltage, so i took it down a few points, and took down the 1175 down to 1162 for the core. now bf3 didnt get past 95 celsius on VRM 1, and was 100% stable. so fair enough I guess, i have read 120 Celsius is what they are capable of handling on the VRm temp... so i guess as long as i stay below 98 or so i should be ok, my card just wont last 10 years, it will last maybe 5... but by then i will upgrade anyway lol
 
Last edited:

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.29/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
just updated my BIOS to Msi latest one, and no vrm temps are not going past 75C... was using ref bios from launch day... lol xD :love:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,842 (0.33/day)
Location
UK Warwickshire
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Ryzen 5 5600x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming.
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE CPU Air Cooler 6 heat pipes.
Memory Patriot Viper 32gig dual channel 3600mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor HellHound RX 7900 GRE OC
Storage 2X Samsung 860 EVO SSD's 500gig / 2TB crucial P3-NVME / WD-BLUE SN550 1TB M.2 / SP A55 512gig
Display(s) Panasonic 40-inch 4k TV
Case Modded NZXT H510
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220A - Yamaha A-S501 AMP - Wharfedale diamond 9.1 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G6 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Some cheap wireless thing
Keyboard Razer Cynosa lite
VR HMD Oculus Quest 2 128gig version
Software Windows 11 pro 64bit
Seems to work on my sapphire HD7970. Do i need to add pics here to show its working?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top