• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z triggers Hardware Acceleration

sp00n

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Currently GPU-Z activates the graphic card's hardware acceleration. Does there exist some sort of config option to disable this feature? Or if not, would it be possible add such a thing?

I'm using the hardware acceleration as a flag for RivaTuner to up-/downclock my graphics cards, and whenever GPU-Z is running (even minimized and in the background), it makes the card run at 100% speed, consuming unnecessary power.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
what card do you have? try turning off some of the sensors
 

sp00n

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Geforce 8800 GT (Elitegroup ECS).
I've turned off all the sensors now and restarted the program, it still triggers the acceleration.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
Windows 7 ?
 

sp00n

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Ah yes, forgot that.
Win7 x32.

// Edit
I've also tried several of the compatibility options, it even triggers if I select e.g. 256 colors.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
i just realized that those cards don't have 2d/3d clocks set in the driver.

what exactly do you mean by hardware acceleration?
 

sp00n

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
RivaTuner (or I think rather the RivaTuner Statistics Server, which is also included in e.g. MSI Afterburner) offers a monitor for several GPU sensors/properties, much like GPU-Z does. One of these properties is the "Hardware acceleration", which normally kicks in if any DirectX or OpenGL game is started.
However, a few "regular" applications also trigger this state, and GPU-Z is one of them (maybe for the rendering of the bars, I don't know).
Firefox also triggers this if you enable the "Use Hardware acceleration when available" checkbox.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
Unwinder said:
he can always add GPUZ or any other undesired app to the exceptions list of OSD server
from the man himself
 

sp00n

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Yeah, I've actually just stumbled across this possibility as well. :)
It's not a real exception list (at least not in the version I have), but rather a list of applications for which you can define specific settings.
And by setting the "Application detection level" to "None" you're effectively excluding an application from being caught by the Hardware Monitor.

So my initial problem is solved, though I still wonder what exactly's going on there. Thanks.


// Edit
Funny thing, after adding 0.6.5 to the list, it is now displaying negative GPU Clock and Pixel/Texture Fillrate values with my downclocked settings (GPU clock is set to 150 MHz).

// Edit 2
On the sensor page the GPU clock is displaying correctly.


Downclocked:


Original:
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
gpu-z creates a directcompute and opencl context for feature detection. RT detects that and puts GPU-Z into its "3D application" list. Once detection is complete, GPU-Z closes all contexts but RT only removes applications from its list when the application itself is closed