• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z v2.8.0 causing freezing with new Nvidia drivers

Joined
May 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.17/day)
Likes
0
Processor i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory Kingston HyperX ) DDR3-12800CL9 (1600MHz) 6x2GB
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Strix
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
#1
After installing Nvidia drivers version 397.31, GPU-Z is causing some strange issues.

It's starting to cause my computer to slow down and sort of 'stutter', GPU-Z becomes unresponsive and closing it instantly fixes the problem.

Windows 7 64bit
Asus GTX 970 - Asus GPU Tweak 2 v1.6.2.0 (latest version)
Nvidia Drivers version 397.31 (Latest version)
GPU-Z V2.8.0 (latest version)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,488 (5.40/day)
Likes
6,201
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
May 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.17/day)
Likes
0
Processor i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory Kingston HyperX ) DDR3-12800CL9 (1600MHz) 6x2GB
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Strix
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
#5
What happens if you dont run GPUTweak at the same time as GPU-Z ?
I have been having frame rate issues in some games recently. But the games seem to run fine without it (although i suspect the GPU clock is being locked at around 800-900mhz).

GPU-Z seems to be causing the problem without Asus GPU Tweak, GPU-Z will run fine and then slowly start to cause frame rate issues and cause games to stutter.

Might just be some issue with compatibility with the new drivers?

Remove and reinstall gpu-z
I've already done this. I've reinstalled Nvidia drivers (clean install), Reinstalled Asus GPU Tweak, Redownloaded GPU-Z
 
Joined
May 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.17/day)
Likes
0
Processor i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory Kingston HyperX ) DDR3-12800CL9 (1600MHz) 6x2GB
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Strix
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
#7

someguy11

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
3 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#8
i've been having system crash/freeze issues recently, happens a few seconds after i start up gpu-z.
even reset button dont work, have to press power for 4 sec to shut down PC to restart. never happened before until this month.
asus z170-ws (with plx chip) + 6700k + gtx 960 + drv 397.64 + windows 10 x64 pro 1803 (17134.48) + gpu-z 2.9.0

i can no longer use gpu-z.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,488 (5.40/day)
Likes
6,201
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
i've been having system crash/freeze issues recently, happens a few seconds after i start up gpu-z.
even reset button dont work, have to press power for 4 sec to shut down PC to restart. never happened before until this month.
asus z170-ws (with plx chip) + 6700k + gtx 960 + drv 397.64 + windows 10 x64 pro 1803 (17134.48) + gpu-z 2.9.0

i can no longer use gpu-z.
Try old version
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,488 (5.40/day)
Likes
6,201
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

someguy11

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
3 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#12
yeah thanks 2.7.0 seems to run fine here not crashing pc. looking forward to new version.

also long wanted to ask why gpu-z dont show video engine clock for gtx 960?
hwinfo64 does it, could you guys implement it too?

and smth else just noticed, for igpu 530 it shows core clock 4250 )
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top