• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z Voltage Numbers

kaan

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
Hi. For a while i've been having problem with my pc and that's having random crashes while playing games. Especially the ones that are demanding. And in 4K benchmark (superposition) it instantly crashes. To solve this problem i need to lower my GPU's MHZ by 200-300 at least in some cases to make it work stable. My GPU is EVGA 1080Ti FTW3. I pretty much tried everything but nothing solved my problem in the end. And reason ı'm writing here is i either have a problem in my psu or gpu. And in the best case if it's my psu i tried GPU-Z program under heavy load (whic hopefully didn't crash during the time) and i got a little bit concerned about my Voltage numbers. Here they are;


gpu power max.gif
GPU Power Min.gif

Are there any problems with these numbers? Thanks.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,141 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
I think your V/F curve get's weird point when running Superposition at 4k (higher points are stable, while lower ones are not).
Try lock both frequency and voltage to one value, and see how it goes (maybe with a bit of undervolting) :
obraz_2020-10-24_144528.png

^Example
Quick guide :
 

kaan

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
My cables that i ordered few days ago just arrived (2x8pins) and i replaced them with my old ones and my crashing problem fixed... It's like a dream to me. My Volts for each pin were a bit unstable like there were times it dropped down to 10V under no usage. After i replaced my cables pretty much all W consumption increased and V become more stable. And power consumption increased from 90% to 98%.

So if any other people out there having this problem, black screen in high demanding situation, in dxdiag dwm.exe crash check your cables first!

I think your V/F curve get's weird point when running Superposition at 4k (higher points are stable, while lower ones are not).
Try lock both frequency and voltage to one value, and see how it goes (maybe with a bit of undervolting) :
View attachment 173162
^Example
Quick guide :
Thx a lot for the reply i saw that my cables were the problem from the beginning... And i tried it too back in the time :D I literally tried everything and seeing that the cables were the problem... It so reliving and frusturating :)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,685 (1.47/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
What PSU do you have? I am glad you got it sorted out and thanks for posting your followup, but I find it odd replacing your cables fixed your problem. Were the old cables damaged? If not, I wonder if the contacts on the old cable(s) were not just dirty or even loose. Perhaps just reseating them a couple times would have cleaned the contacts and ensured they were securely fastened to make a solid mechanical connection - essential for a good electrical connection.
Try replacing your PSU with a beefier one.
It is entirely possible I am just not caffeinated enough yet this morning but I don't see where the OP stated which PSU he has. The only hardware I see listed is the 1050 Ti. If not resolved already, I certainly would have suggesting trying a spare, known good PSU to see what happens. But without knowing what size is currently in there, not sure a beefier one is needed.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
291 (0.88/day)
System Name Kiste
Processor Intel Core i9 10850k 5.1 Ghz/4.8 Ghz 1.4V
Motherboard MSI MEG Z490 Unify
Cooling NZXT Kraken X73 (Now an NH D15 Chromax. Black)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio, and a big collection with all Ampere, almost all Pascal and Turing Cards
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Crucial MX500 2TB (Backup)
Display(s) LG 27GL850-B QHD 144Hz
Case NZXT H710 Black
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 750W Platinum
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Hero, G502 Hero Special Edition, Zowie EC-2A
Keyboard Logitech G915, Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
11.6V is quite low for that low current draw..

it has nothing to do with "do this and that to you V/F Curve"

the cards functions or not.. there is nothing to tweak.


i guess your PSU gives up soon. (my 12V on the 8 Pins barely drops to 11.9V under 350W load)
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,141 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
My last experience with bad cables was a complete shutdown/hard reset on load, and not simple crashing.
That's why I wrote, what I wrote. Also, I'm not 100% sold on accuracy of GPU-z's 12V voltage readout (for me it's multimeter or bust). If cable replacement worked - it worked.
 
Top