• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z won't start

brickwahl

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I just built my computer, and wanted to overclock my XFX 7950, so I tried to download GPU-Z. But every time I open it up, it crashes. I have windows 7 64bit if that helps. Thanks!

EDIT: Could it be a problem with CCC?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#2
GPU-z is not an overclocking tool
It's a tool to get all the info about your card , clock speed , ram , shaders , temp monitor ,etc..

As for GPU-z not starting it might be the cause of firewall or anti-virus software that block access to it

For overclocking tools you can get MSI Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx
 

brickwahl

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I know it's not for overclocking, it's for monitoring temperature and other useful things. Alright, I'l check that out.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#4
Which version?
Have you tried other versions?

What is the error message, if any?

Like Goodman stated, try dis-abling your A/V and firewall or giving permissions to GPUz's .exe file.
 

brickwahl

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Version 3.9 works, but all versions after do not.
The error is just that video card information utility has stopped working, and windows is checking for a solution.
And okay, I'll try that.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#6
Version 3.9 works, but all versions after do not.
The error is just that video card information utility has stopped working, and windows is checking for a solution.
And okay, I'll try that.
Don't you mean v0.3.9?

You did try the newest version 0.6.2?
You definitely got a problem somewhere , have you try to disable Windows firewall or what ever anti-virus you may have?

I doubt the v0.3.9 will support your 7950 (anything under v0.5.0?)

Other thoughts might be your overclock try down clocking a little & see if it's works?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#7
do you have intel opencl drivers installed by any chance?
 

v81

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
I'm having the same problem as the op.

Just built a new rig.

Gigabyte Z77 UD3H
Intel i5 3570
8 Gig of Kingston HyperX
Sapphire 7850 OC 2Gig
Intel 520 - 120Gig SSD

I have both the intel HD4000 and AMD CCC drivers installed.

Wondering if the Lucid Virtu MVP video software is doing anything to upset GPUz
I'm about to uninstall it and have a fiddle.

Appreciate any other suggestions.I might also look for a link to the older version that is working for the OP and see if it works for me too.

::edit::
all versions up to 0.4.6 work for me
all versions 0.4.7 and later fail
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#9
i disabled onboard GFX in my i5-2500k when i get it bcs the first time i wanna install the intel driver for it i got BSOD even at stock settings after disabling it, i have never had a problem with GPU-Z or BSOD, connected to the onboard gfx.
 

brickwahl

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Don't you mean v0.3.9?

You did try the newest version 0.6.2?
You definitely got a problem somewhere , have you try to disable Windows firewall or what ever anti-virus you may have?

I doubt the v0.3.9 will support your 7950 (anything under v0.5.0?)

Other thoughts might be your overclock try down clocking a little & see if it's works?
Yeah v0.3.9 sorry. Alright I'll try to go to stock and see what happens.
 

brickwahl

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Thanks so much! I got it to work! I disabled my i5 3570k graphics, and downclocked my GPU to stock, downloaded it and it worked! Thanks a bunch!
 

Nehvar

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
I'm having the same problem as the op.

Just built a new rig.

Gigabyte Z77 UD3H
Intel i5 3570
8 Gig of Kingston HyperX
Sapphire 7850 OC 2Gig
Intel 520 - 120Gig SSD

I have both the intel HD4000 and AMD CCC drivers installed.

Wondering if the Lucid Virtu MVP video software is doing anything to upset GPUz
I'm about to uninstall it and have a fiddle.

Appreciate any other suggestions.I might also look for a link to the older version that is working for the OP and see if it works for me too.

::edit::
all versions up to 0.4.6 work for me
all versions 0.4.7 and later fail
You situation looks about identical to mine so I'll share what I did to get it working for me.

Code:
Gigabyte Z77 board (UD5H in my case)
3570K with IGFX drivers installed
AMD card(s) (2x6850 CFX CAT12.1)
Lucid Virtu MVP installed

GPU-Z version 0.4.6 worked but anything newer crashed on start.
Uninstalling the "Intel OpenCL 1.1 Runtime" fixed my issues with 0.6.2. These would have been installed along with your IGFX drivers.

I don't know if OpenCL is important to Virtu MVP or not so I don't know if it's worth uninstalling for you. In my case I discovered that Virtu MVP doesn't work with CFX/SLI; so I was already in the process of uninstalling everything Lucid/IGFX.

For the devs: I checked 0.6.2 after uninstalling each MVP/IGFX element and it worked directly after uninstalling the OpenCL runtime. I uninstalled Lucid Virtu MVP first, however, so I cannot say with certainty whether or not that program also inteferes with 0.6.2.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
Do you know which Intel OpenCL and AMD driver versions you had installed? I couldn't reproduce the problem here.

So far I found out that AMD's OpenCL driver crashes and takes GPU-Z with it. (GPU-Z tries to initialize OpenCL for detection)
 

Nehvar

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
My AMD drivers are Catalyst 12.1.

The OpenCL version...I did not write that down. I'll try to grab the information off my mobo software/driver CD.

The HD4000 drivers (OpenCL must have been installed alongside these. It has no option of its own.):

Code:
Intel(R) Graphics 4000 Driver (Win7/Vista x64)
Version:8.15.10.2618
The OCLSetup.exe file on the CD says "file version/product version 1.4.14.0" on the details tab of its properties. I hope that's what you're looking for.

Oh, and these were for Win7x64.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
thanks! let me try to replicate
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#17
does the intel 2696 driver have the problem, too ?
 

Nehvar

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
Can't say. I didn't try the newer drivers because without Virtu MVP, I have no use for them. Kinda bummed that MVP doesn't work with CFX/SLI. I was looking forward to giving virtual v-sync a try.
 
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
Do you know which Intel OpenCL and AMD driver versions you had installed? I couldn't reproduce the problem here.

So far I found out that AMD's OpenCL driver crashes and takes GPU-Z with it. (GPU-Z tries to initialize OpenCL for detection)

This might be slightly unrelated, but I can't find help for it anywhere else.

There is definitely something wrong with AMD OpenCL and the newer intel chipsets with integrated Video. I'm considering a system wipe so I can try again without installing the intel chipset drivers.

Basically anything that uses AMDocl.dll crashes for me. GPU-Z and a host of other programs (bitcoin mining, etc).

To OP: Out of curiosity are you also getting errors with kdbsync.exe not starting when you boot up?
 

Erubyr

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
Same problem

Well, I do not think it is Intel related as I have an AMD system with onboard Radeon 3000 graphics, Catalyst 12.3 (though have already tried installing 12.4 a couple of times) and OpenGL version 6.14.10.11631.

When I start GPU-Z I get the same message that the Video Card Information Utiliy has stopped working followed by a BSoD. If anyone has any suggestions that would be appreciated, I will continue to try and keep you informed if I make any progress.
 

Erubyr

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#21
After some effort I finally managed to have Catalyst 12.3 uninstalled and 12.4 on my system but it did not bring anything.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#22
if you dont have an intel system with intel opencl drivers installed, and gpuz still crashes, please contact me via instant messenger so we can figure this out
 

v81

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
Appreciate the replies above, i have just tried GPUZ and no longer have any issues.
Not sure what fixed it, the most recent GPUZ is dated before my earlier post.
I think I might have updated the internal GFX Driver at some point.
 

Oria

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
Hey!
I just had the same problem, the solution is very easy!

Go control pannel > Admin Tools > Computer Management
There u click on device manager, then on "display adaptors.
If you have more than one gfx card there, that might be your problem!

For me it was :
Intel HD graphics 4000 and NVIDIA GeForce GTX680.
Due to the onboard Intel gfx card GPUz wouldnt launch.

Right click the onboard gfx card and click "disable".

Launch GPUz, problem solved!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#25
you can also update your intel drivers to a newer version to fix the problem.
the intel driver you have installed has a bug in its opencl driver which crashes gpu-z.
next version of gpuz will come with a warning message for this case