• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPUz and 7970 Crossfire issue...

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,349 (4.20/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
GPUz and 7970 Crossfire issue...(GPUz freezes system)

Not sure if this has been covered before or if the scope reaches past my PC, however, with at least the 12.10 and 12.11 beta drivers, if I try to open GPUz to capture the score screenshot (after the benchmark of course) it freezes my whole system to a hard reboot. Happens through all 3DMarks, Unigine Heaven (hwbot).

This happened with HIS cards (7850s and 7970s)... Not sure about any other brand.

Help! :toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.44/day)
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
Same here. I open GPUZ 1st and then run benchie. It works then.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,349 (4.20/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
That is what I have to do... was yours on another brand outside of HIS?
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.59/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
Pretty sure this happens to me too, asus and sapphire 7970s reference cards. I haven't used GPUz lately so can't verify te last time this happened.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.44/day)
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.44/day)
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,328 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Is this a known issue that I missed or............?

This seems to be related to the AMD driver. Can you check if it happens with 12.8 or earlier?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,349 (4.20/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I had 12.8 handy and it showed the same behavior on my PC.
 

alamakluke

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Thanks Earth for posting on the other thread.

I've had GPUZ freeze both my rigs. The only thing that is coming between both rigs is Windows 8 and GPUZ 0.6.6 for me. My first rig got 2xSapphire 7970 in CF using 12.11beta 8 drivers, and my 2nd rig is using a MSI 7770 with AMD official 12.10 drivers and both rigs have the problem.

But a way around it is too open GPUZ before you bench, that works all the time.

Hope they fix it shortly. :)
 

alamakluke

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
I want to add something right now. I just open up GPUZ, no problem I was going to start benching but instead I decided to try to save the GPU bios to disk and my rig crashed. So GPUZ is crashing on different situations.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
System Name 5870 Xtreme Xfire System SpeC
Processor Intel I7 920 @ 4.2 HT
Motherboard Biostar Tpower X58
Cooling Thermal Right Extreme 120 - Push Pull Config
Memory 3x2 Ocz Blades 7.7.7.21
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 5870 Xfire @1000/1300 | PhysX 8800GTS
Storage 1TB Samsung F3 32 + 1TB Samsung F1 32 + 3x Misc HDD`s
Display(s) 24" Nec Multisync 24WMGX3 LCD
Case Coolmaster Staker Monster Case Custom
Audio Device(s) XFI Azuntech Prelude 7.1 HD
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 910w Monster Single Rail 75a Killer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage, 31k With PhysX
Has the maker vanished ? lol

this is also happening to me, complete system lockup when running previous and latest GPUz

2x HIS 7950s.

works perfect if i run it after a reboot but if i dont run it and boot system after 10 minutes i decide to run it, it completely locks.

this needs fixed ASAP, i think its the way GPUz detects the cards, something must have changed with 7 series cards.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
System Name 5870 Xtreme Xfire System SpeC
Processor Intel I7 920 @ 4.2 HT
Motherboard Biostar Tpower X58
Cooling Thermal Right Extreme 120 - Push Pull Config
Memory 3x2 Ocz Blades 7.7.7.21
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 5870 Xfire @1000/1300 | PhysX 8800GTS
Storage 1TB Samsung F3 32 + 1TB Samsung F1 32 + 3x Misc HDD`s
Display(s) 24" Nec Multisync 24WMGX3 LCD
Case Coolmaster Staker Monster Case Custom
Audio Device(s) XFI Azuntech Prelude 7.1 HD
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 910w Monster Single Rail 75a Killer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage, 31k With PhysX
well wizzard has been online for quite a wile these past 2 days, and no replys to his gpuz customers
wonder where he is :/

this is a massive issue for lots of people with 7 series cards. the detection is just not quite right

AIDA64 has perfected the detection as there is no issues with that program when it detects our cards or sensors.

but use GPUZ instant lockup.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,191 (2.88/day)
I don't get lock-ups?


Can you give me a step-by-step rundown of how to make it happen?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,328 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
confirmed. waiting for 13.1 to check if it fixes the problem or if i have to work around it on my own
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,974 (1.22/day)
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Glad to see it's not just me having this issue.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
System Name 5870 Xtreme Xfire System SpeC
Processor Intel I7 920 @ 4.2 HT
Motherboard Biostar Tpower X58
Cooling Thermal Right Extreme 120 - Push Pull Config
Memory 3x2 Ocz Blades 7.7.7.21
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 5870 Xfire @1000/1300 | PhysX 8800GTS
Storage 1TB Samsung F3 32 + 1TB Samsung F1 32 + 3x Misc HDD`s
Display(s) 24" Nec Multisync 24WMGX3 LCD
Case Coolmaster Staker Monster Case Custom
Audio Device(s) XFI Azuntech Prelude 7.1 HD
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 910w Monster Single Rail 75a Killer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage, 31k With PhysX
confirmed. waiting for 13.1 to check if it fixes the problem or if i have to work around it on my own

Sweet ;)
could you give us all some information on whats causing it to happen.
if i reboot my pc and run GPUz as soon as the pc is booted up, it will load up no problem GPUZ

but if i wait and not use it and try to use it 10-20 minutes later it will instant lock ont he GPUZ startup Logo.

This does not happen with AIDA64 at all might want to get in contact with those guys on there sensor card detection ect as there`s might be different to yours....
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
System Name 5870 Xtreme Xfire System SpeC
Processor Intel I7 920 @ 4.2 HT
Motherboard Biostar Tpower X58
Cooling Thermal Right Extreme 120 - Push Pull Config
Memory 3x2 Ocz Blades 7.7.7.21
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 5870 Xfire @1000/1300 | PhysX 8800GTS
Storage 1TB Samsung F3 32 + 1TB Samsung F1 32 + 3x Misc HDD`s
Display(s) 24" Nec Multisync 24WMGX3 LCD
Case Coolmaster Staker Monster Case Custom
Audio Device(s) XFI Azuntech Prelude 7.1 HD
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 910w Monster Single Rail 75a Killer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage, 31k With PhysX
UPDATE : 13.1 still the same system lockup when starting up GPUZ
works after logon but 10 minutes later lockup if you run it again.
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,086 (0.99/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @ 3.8ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD + 2TB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Acer ED273 27" VA 144hz Freesync |Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
I want to add something right now. I just open up GPUZ, no problem I was going to start benching but instead I decided to try to save the GPU bios to disk and my rig crashed. So GPUZ is crashing on different situations.

i've had this happen as well on my Sapphire
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,328 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
After spending half the day crashing the card and resetting the system, it seems that the hang is caused when GPU-Z tries to read the BIOS of the slave card.

GPU-Z asks the driver "is this card in ULPS?" and if yes, then skips BIOS reading. But the AMD driver tells me "no no you can go ahead", and boom system crashed.

Now trying to figure out how to work around this. Not having high hopes. I might just disable BIOS reading completely for all slave cards.

This does not happen with AIDA64

aida64 never touches the slave bios when ulps is enabled
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,086 (0.99/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @ 3.8ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD + 2TB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Acer ED273 27" VA 144hz Freesync |Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
i run a single card tho, and the freeze/crash happens to me
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,328 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
i run a single card tho, and the freeze/crash happens to me

are you sure it's the same problem?

gpuz will work perfectly fine, you can start it as often as you want. but once you've run a 3d app and then start gpuz the system will hang
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,086 (0.99/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @ 3.8ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD + 2TB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Acer ED273 27" VA 144hz Freesync |Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
gpuz will work perfectly fine, you can start it as often as you want. but once you've run a 3d app and then start gpuz the system will hang

so i should restart the PC if i want to save the BIOS? I've tried 2 times to get GPU Z to read the BIOS of my card and the system freezes/crashes.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,328 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
so i should restart the PC if i want to save the BIOS? I've tried 2 times to get GPU Z to read the BIOS of my card and the system freezes/crashes.

does this only happen after running a 3d app?
 
Top