• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPUZ reports wrong PCI-E version on X58 Mainboard

Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
159 (0.06/day)
You should be able to check that with HWinfo. Just uncheck the "sensors only" box.
But there is a lot of info, have to find the right one.

I think i found it.
PCI-E.JPG
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,751 (3.50/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Naki, what do you think the number in front of @ means? What about the number after @?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
719 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
You are the low-level programmer and PCI expert, you tell me. :) If I knew this, I would not ask you.
I have done lots of Windows GUI programming, but not low-level stuff, nor any drivers programming. The lowest level I have used is some serial port read/write, nothing more. :)

I am pretty sure a 2.0 video card cannot run at 2.0 speeds on a 1.1 mobo, and likewise a 3.0 card cannot run at 3.0 speeds on a mobo that only has 2.0.
Why would ASRock and other mobo manufacturers need to make any Gen3 mobos, if Gen1 (with 2.0 support on them) can run 3.0 cards at 3.0 speed? :confused:

Such backward compatibility may work on those new AM4 socket boards, but that is besides the point.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
600 (0.27/day)
Processor ryzen 5 1600x
Motherboard b450m pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory teem group xtreem
Video Card(s) xfx rx580 8gb
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
You are the low-level programmer and PCI expert, you tell me. :) If I knew this, I would not ask you.
I have done lots of Windows GUI programming, but not low-level stuff, nor any drivers programming. The lowest level I have used is some serial port read/write, nothing more. :)

I am pretty sure a 2.0 video card cannot run at 2.0 speeds on a 1.1 mobo, and likewise a 3.0 card cannot run at 3.0 speeds on a mobo that only has 2.0.
Why would ASRock and other mobo manufacturers need to make any Gen3 mobos, if Gen1 (with 2.0 support on them) can run 3.0 cards at 3.0 speed? :confused:

Such backward compatibility may work on those new AM4 socket boards, but that is besides the point.

he actually answered your first question already, he is asking what YOU think.

the first field is the reported maximum link speed the card can run at as reported from the card itself, irrespective of the motherboards capable max speed. the second reports what the current link speed is.

Naki your Screenshots show 1.1, which is expected for idle. Any chance you're misinterpreting the field? It's "max supported @(at) currently active"

The issue OP is having is specific to Vega
For the second part, this applies to intel cpus only:

boards that support pcie 2.0 should be able to run 3.0 and asrock may have updated the board for other reasons. many manufactures dont update the user manuals and sense ivy bridge was not out yet it may not have gotten updated. btw, Every h61-z77 that i dropped an ivy bridge cpu in supported 3.0 and reported running at said speed. the reason is that the first pcie x16 port is supposed to be wired directly to the cpu and unless the bios tells it to specifically run at less than what the cpu is designed to run at it will always default to the max capabilities of the cpu. some manufactures may have used less than adequate components and wiring for the connection between the cpu and pcie slot but that would not stop the cpu from wanting to communicate at its maximum capable speed. it would result in other problems. so, its also possible that the board manufacturer limited the speed using software because they knew the board might experience problems. the only way for them to limit the max speed is threw the bios and sense that is software, its possible windows and the drivers are ignoring that and running at max possible speed. (cheep programing on the bios).


why would asrock make a gen3 mobos?

the change may have been for marketing and to clear up confusion. just come out with a revision and dont update the old models Manuel so as to make people buy the updated model with a higher price tag. people want to make sure they are getting the best and selling a board that says pcie 2.0 when one of the marketing points of ivy was pcie 3.0 is not good marketing and will probably cause customers to look at other options.

hope this helps clear things up for you.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,249 (0.27/day)
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming / EVGA Titan SC
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,751 (3.50/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
the first field is the reported maximum link speed the card can run at as reported from the card itself, irrespective of the motherboards capable max speed. the second reports what the current link speed is.
Exactly that, and I suspect Naki is misinterpreting it
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
719 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Okay, I will rephrase - "I am pretty sure & think that..." -- rest of it what I said. :)

Anyway, no, this did not help any. Thanks for trying. But let's leave it this way. :) Yes, I am no engineer - my university degree was in Chinese language, so math & technology was sadly absent during my years at uni. (Actually, we had a few hours of basic computer use - Windows, MS Word, MS Excel and a few other common programs but I already knew all of that and much more anyway. :) )

Unless of course somebody from the PCI spec folks or one working in mobo design comes along to explain this, which I doubt can happen here in these forums. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
719 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Sorry, what? I know in theory PCI Express 2.0 16x is the same as 3.0 x8, but this is not a valid test. :)
I do not have the time to test this now, but surely will when I get a chance. :)
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
159 (0.06/day)
I would say if you run the 3d mark pcie-test, and you get above 8GB/s then your board is truely running at PCI-E 3.0 16x :)

And how is this not a valid test? It is made to be comparable when you run it on different hardware :p
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
719 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
No, 3DMark test is fine! :) What I meant your method of testing in 8x mode on a PCI Express 3.0 mobo. :) (which I do not have here - only 2.0)
In theory, using a 3.0 slot in x8 mode should be the same as 2.0 in x16 mode, but I doubt this is true in practice. :)

Actually, I think my parents may have 1-2 PCs here with PCI Express 3.0 on them but all of them have no discrete cards, just Intel CPU built-in GPUs.
(Those PCs are used for work + 1 is used as HTPC, so no gaming involved and thus no need for discrete cards)
 
Top