• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gran Turismo 5 looks like trash.

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#1
I just bought GT5. The 1080 screenshots you've seen before are NOT what the game actually looks like. The jaggies are ridiculous. I'm extremely disappointed. Looks like the official screenshots all had Anti-Aliasing added afterwards.

Damn!! And I thought sony was giving me a reason to turn on my PS3.... Not to mention MGS4 beta downloading at less than 0.5kb/s

EDIT: 4:03PM Apr.24
Obviously this game has like 2xAA or less at 1080P.

I didn't shrink any of these images because resizing in Fireworks adds Anti Aliasing.



Enlarge this image, as the shrunken version looks aight.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#5
my guess is his ps3 is hooked up to his hdtv with standard RCA cables. im running 720P and it looks simply amazing. (over hdmi)

the downside is 40$ is a lot to pay for what amounts to a demo, GT5P that is.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#6
my guess is his ps3 is hooked up to his hdtv with standard RCA cables. im running 720P and it looks simply amazing. (over hdmi)

the downside is 40$ is a lot to pay for what amounts to a demo, GT5P that is.
yeah, that must be the problem. im running mine into a 22'' HD tv with a gold plated hdmi cable and the demo, not prologue, ran as smooth as anything, and i didnt notice any jagged lines. im hoping now thats the problem, i cant wait for 5 to come out! :banghead:
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
57
Likes
0
System Name ACER Aspire E380
Processor AMD Althon x2 5000+
Motherboard ACER EM61SM (stock mobo, came with the system)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Samsung PC2-5300
Video Card(s) eVGA 9600 GT KO
Storage Hitachi 300gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2235wm 22"
Case Acer E380
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek HD audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXtreme 650w
Software Vista 32bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 9233 PCmark05: 6749
#8
Make sure you're playing it on a good tv >.>


I have it too. Looks amazing in 1080p on 40"
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#9
my guess is his ps3 is hooked up to his hdtv with standard RCA cables. im running 720P and it looks simply amazing. (over hdmi)

the downside is 40$ is a lot to pay for what amounts to a demo, GT5P that is.


Actually, my PS3 is plugged into one of the 3 HDMI inputs on my receiver which is outputting 1080p to my 42 inch AQUOS and 7.1 speakers. I've spent a lot of money on the look and sound of perfect(;)). GT5 is anything but. I'll take a pic of my TV with my digital camera so you can see what I'm looking at.

Maybe I'm too picky about my graphics, but a lot of the terrain textures are real low res, and there are so many jaggies around objects. Looks like there isn't much AA in this game.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#10
Erm, I run it on a 40" 1080p Sony XBR2 through HDMI and it looks phenomenal...its probably your receiver, run your PS3 directly into your TV. 99% of the time to receiver will do extra processing and make the picture look horrible, especially with consoles.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
714
Likes
11
System Name Xbox 360 Super Elite
Processor 3.2GHz PowerPC Tri-Core Xenon
Memory 512MB 700MHz GDDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) ATI Xenos @ 500 MHz
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 26" Samsung LCD HDTV
Case Super Elite (COD:MW2 Edition)
Audio Device(s) 5.1
Power Supply 120w
Software NXE
#11
game still need to have damage in it.

it can't be called a "real driving sim" if there is no crash damage
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#12
Erm, I run it on a 40" 1080p Sony XBR2 through HDMI and it looks phenomenal...its probably your receiver, run your PS3 directly into your TV. 99% of the time to receiver will do extra processing and make the picture look horrible, especially with consoles.
Good call, dude. This may be possible - even though I spent a fuckload on my sony receiver.

game still need to have damage in it.

it can't be called a "real driving sim" if there is no crash damage
I shouldn't have even bought this game with GTA coming out next week.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#13


Actually, my PS3 is plugged into one of the 3 HDMI inputs on my receiver which is outputting 1080p to my 42 inch AQUOS and 7.1 speakers. I've spent a lot of money on the look and sound of perfect(;)). GT5 is anything but. I'll take a pic of my TV with my digital camera so you can see what I'm looking at.

Maybe I'm too picky about my graphics, but a lot of the terrain textures are real low res, and there are so many jaggies around objects. Looks like there isn't much AA in this game.
something isnt right, on my little 720P set up there backgrounds and grass and stuff like that look as detailed as the cars. and there is jaggies around nothing. and if yur reciever is grabing the audio stream out of the hdmi input that means it has to disasemble the hdmi data, grab the audio, then reasemble it back into hdmi for the next device, so yes there would b extra stuff happening that could make it look screwed up. it prolly wouldnt be as noticeable in movies, even HD ones, because of the way the coloring works.

GTA is crap, always has been, always will be.

GT5P looks amazing, and the final GT5 will hav full crash damage, last i heard they are working on implementing it visably on the vehicles.

last time i looked into sony reciever with hdmi built in it there was some issue wich made me decide to go a different route, i dont remember what it was off hand though.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#14
While I disagree with the GTA always being crap thing, yes GT5 will have full crash damage.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
306
Likes
49
Location
Planet Earth
System Name FrostWolf
Processor Intel Core i5 7400 @3.5Ghz with Artic Cooling 7 Pro Rev. 2
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming H270M Mortar Artic
Cooling Corsair HD 120 RGB + Corsair NODE PRO
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE LED 8 GB DDR4 @2400Mhz (White)
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon R9 390 - 8GB
Storage PNY 240Gb SSD
Display(s) Samsung 24" F390 1080p Curved FreeSync Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide Clear 400C White
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply EVGA NEX750B Supernova 80 Plus
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy RGB
Software Windows 10 PRO X64
#15
change that PS3 for a killing computer!!!!
:laugh: consoles are ·%$%&$% VS. Pc
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
486
Likes
56
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
#16
Sigh what did you expect...? A 7800GT to blow your mind away, yeah good one... Lol.
Full GT5 will have crash damage, and also the graphics in the demo are not finalised although you can't expect it to be "mind blowing" or anything... People who say the graphics are amazing are people in the car industry who don't play on consoles/computers...
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#17
something isnt right, on my little 720P set up there backgrounds and grass and stuff like that look as detailed as the cars. .
Dude, you're looking at 1280x720. That's a helluva lot lower resolution than 1920x1080. Of course it's going to look good for you. This game on 1080P is like looking at at Painting UP close. Sorry I promise I'll post images very soon!
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#18
i actually dont care im sure youll fix it dangle i just want to see your sweet set up ....jealous
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
895
Likes
299
Location
Canada
System Name MurderBox #17
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k - 4.5Ghz 1.275v - Bitspower Summit EF
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS - Bitspower THOR AIX99 Full Full Board Block
Cooling SR-1 480, 8x Corsair ML120 , MCP350, I&H Res 250, PETG hard pipe, Mayhems Pastel White
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition - EK Fullcover waterblock with Backplate
Storage 3x Samsung SM951 256GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Samsung PM961 512GB, WD Black 2.0TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" UN40HU7000 3840X2160, 2X ASUS PB278 2560x1440
Case MurderMod TJ07 With Illuminated mid-plate
Audio Device(s) Onboard Crystal Sound 2, Optical out to Pioneer VSX-1017TXV 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i With custom MDPC Sleeve and Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
#19
The game doesn't run in full 1080p 1920x1080p it runs at the highest 1280x1080p with 2xMSAA and upscales to 1080p. The Picture quality is probably getting lost somewhere in the upscaling process. The menus and pit garages do run in full 1080p and they may look better.

When you run it in 720p it runs at 1280x720p with 4xMSAA so that explains why there would be less jaggies in 720p mode.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#20
then you didnt setup your A/V properly. ive got it running on my 42" 1080p Marantz 7.1 (PS3=>HDMI)setup and it looks and sounds beautiful. by far the best racing graphics yet, IMO.
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#21
The game doesn't run in full 1080p 1920x1080p it runs at the highest 1280x1080p with 2xMSAA and upscales to 1080p. The Picture quality is probably getting lost somewhere in the upscaling process. The menus and pit garages do run in full 1080p and they may look better.

When you run it in 720p it runs at 1280x720p with 4xMSAA so that explains why there would be less jaggies in 720p mode.
Thanks for this post. By looking at the image up close, it's obvious there isn't more than 2xAA at 1080P.

Also, the Framerate seems like ~40fps.




i actually dont care im sure youll fix it dangle i just want to see your sweet set up ....jealous
 
Last edited:

VroomBang

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
183
Likes
8
Location
Spain
System Name Computer
Processor Wolfdale E8400 stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 FSB 1600MHz
Cooling CPU Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - front stock 12cm - rear Xig XSF-F1251 12cm - side Tacens Aura Pro 12cm
Memory Mushkin Redline DDR2 1000MHz 2x2GB 4-4-4-12 @1.8V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB stock
Storage SATA2 Seagate 500MB + IDE WesternDigital 500MB
Display(s) Samsung 19" LCD SyncMaster 193v
Case Jeantech NJX ATX gaming tower case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Jeantech 600W Arctic Modular JN-600-AP (dual 19a +12v rails )
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06: 9906 / Super Pi 1M: 15.641 s
#22
game still need to have damage in it.

it can't be called a "real driving sim" if there is no crash damage
Damage in Prologue will be available for download for free later this year and fully part of GT5 next year.

Car damage aside, cars behave very realistically. If you set the options to professional driving, with no steering assistance, no stability control and just a bit of traction control, the cars become alive. Hit a wall at high speed and you'll lose control of your car and start a few 360s. When you're in the sand, it's difficult to get out and you lose a lot of time. If you accelerate too much coming out of a bend, the car will zig zag quite a lot, especially the Ferrari F430 (I haven't tried the other 4 Ferrari's yet). Drifting quickly becomes part of the driving experience and when controlled, adds a lot of fun to it. There's a clear feeling of weight in the cars, completely absent from GT4. I had low expectations with this game, due to some reviews I read, but I'm completely hooked. I even prefer the car physics model and behaviour in GT5 P compared to Forza Motorsport´s, although the latter remains a fantastic game for many reasons. Getting Gold in GT5 P is challenging and fun. Great simulation. Looking forward to car damage this fall.
 
Last edited: