• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Grand Theft Auto V Performance Analysis

Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
45 (0.02/day)
System Name Skynette
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Maximus Hero VII
Cooling V8 GTS
Memory Corsair Dominator 16GB
Video Card(s) GTX1080
Storage SSD Samsung EVO 240GB
Display(s) Samsung LS32D85KTSR
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 1300W
Keyboard Corsair RGB Strafe
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
509 (0.17/day)
Processor i5 4670K - @ 4.8GHZ core
Motherboard MSI Z87 G43
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 *(Modded to fit on this motherboard)
Memory 16GB 2400MHZ
Video Card(s) HD7970 GHZ edition Sapphire
Storage Samsung 120GB 850 EVO & 4X 2TB HDD (Seagate)
Display(s) 42" Panasonice LED TV @120Hz
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Xfi Xtreme Music with Hyper X Core
Power Supply Cooler Master 700 Watts
Umm...look at the results, it is playable on 2-core CPUs, but the game definitely benefits from 4-Cores. This is probably the first game to actually take advantage of more than 2 cores.

That is why the i3(2c/4t) 3.8GHz is outperformed by the i5(4c/4t) 3.0GHz by almost 10FPS.
Nope, Far cry 4 and the older gold - Metro 2033 used 4 cores.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
2,021 (0.69/day)
System Name msdos
Processor 8086
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
2 thread game? I won't be buying this crap.
What, you want a game like Far Cry 4 that artificially refuses to launch for dual-core and tri-core owners? (Unless the game is pirated, then the restriction is removed, but I think they were clever and broke something else in the game for pirates.)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,853 (5.16/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Unless the game is pirated, then the restriction is removed, but I think they were clever and broke something else in the game for pirates.
The pirated versions still have the restriction, the hack is just easier to use with the pirated versions.

Nope, Far cry 4 and the older gold - Metro 2033 used 4 cores.
FarCry 4 definitely doesn't use for 4 cores, the just implemented a stupid restriction for 4 cores. Using the hack and it runs just fine on a dual-core and there really isn't a noticeable performance degradation.

I'm not sure about Metro2033, but I don't seem to remember there being that big of a difference between a dual-core and a quad.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,332 (3.07/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080// EVGA GTX 980 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Well I ran the bench test and at 2560 X 1440 I get 60 - 80 fps. The same as I get in actual game play both story mode and on line. I also confirmed it with fraps. Nice looking game
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Processor I7-3770K@4ghz
Motherboard Asus maximus v formula
Cooling H100 w. Corsair SP120s
Memory 4x4 gb Corsair Platinum 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 780Ti Platinum
Storage Intel 250/500gbs + assorted WD Blacks
Display(s) U2711
Case Haf xb
Power Supply Corsair i760
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard Steelseries 6gV2
Running it at 1440P with quite high settings and its damn smooth. Not complaining one bit

GTA4 was ahead of its curse GPU demanding wise - was using at gtx260(896gb ram) when it came and it looked good. Then on gtx 460/570 - was brilliant looking. Never thought of it as a bad port

*edit* Can see some of my specs are old specs. updating now
 

Dextar

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Nvidia needs to just release the 980 Ti already. I've been waiting for a good single card solution for 1440p long enough.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
1,789 (0.70/day)
Location
KL, Malaysia
System Name The Rainbow Puke Machine :D (* = WIP/not final)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600*
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming ATX*
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i RGB PRO XT AIO CLC* + HD120 RGB (3) + Commander PRO
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200MHz*
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX2060 Twin Fan 6GB GDDR6 (1.9GHz core clock stable via MSI Afterburner)
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD | Kingston A2000 1TB M.2 PCIe SSD*
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W 1080p IPS FreeSync (primary) + Dell U2417H 1080p IPS (secondary, portrait mode)
Case Corsair iCUE 220T RGB Airflow (White) w/Lighting Node CORE & SP120 RGB PRO + RGB LED Strips.
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX 8-Channel HD Audio CODEC S1220A* + Corsair VOID Stereo Headphones
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750W 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB FPS Mouse (White)
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Mechanical Keyboard (Cherry MX RGB Red Switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 (November Update, v1909)
This could be one of the better open-world game for PC, albeit it's somewhat massive filesize. Graphic engine is one of the most highly scalable to date for the PC platform, so those who owns an entry grade, gaming ready PC should have no problem running the game, though you'll need an SSHD to load the game as traditional ones will take a little longer, which is the only trade-off. Ran the game using my Y50 is a breeze with everything on High, FXAA & V-Sync enabled. Smooth 60fps with small drop on rare occasions.
 
Top