• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Graphics card for 5 or 6 monitors

spixel

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
299 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asrock z77 Extreme4
Memory 8GB Corsair LP 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx570 + Evga gtx570 HD
Storage Corsair Force GT 120gb
Display(s) Samsung 931bw
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair vx550
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#1
I'm looking for a card which supports 5 or 6 monitors. Are all 6 series cards capable of this or do they need 2 display port outputs? I can't find any solid information about it. I'm hoping to find a 6850, 6870 or 6950 with this option.

If I was to put two 6850's in crossfire would I get 6 then? or maybe even 12? :)

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
1,190 (0.44/day)
Likes
312
System Name Titan
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.6ghz
Motherboard AsRock 990FX Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7970 3gb
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 64mb Cache/ Western Digital 500gb
Display(s) iMac Display 2560 x 1440
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#2
5870 2gb Eyefinity edition that does up to 6 displays at once.
 

spixel

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
299 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asrock z77 Extreme4
Memory 8GB Corsair LP 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx570 + Evga gtx570 HD
Storage Corsair Force GT 120gb
Display(s) Samsung 931bw
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair vx550
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#3
Yes I know that card does, but is there any others? I thought I read something that all 6 series support up to 6 monitors, not sure though.

Is there anything additional required for the 5870 to display 6.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#4
HD7970 when it release's :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#5
AsusTek says their EAH6950 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5 can do up to 6 monitors.



SIX monitors output for the win!
Exclusive 6 monitors output via 2 DVI & 4 DisplayPort Output.



Asus EAH6950 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5

just be aware that this beast fills up 3 slots.

and the same goes for the Asus EAH6970 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5 it can also take 6 monitors at once.
 

spixel

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
299 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asrock z77 Extreme4
Memory 8GB Corsair LP 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx570 + Evga gtx570 HD
Storage Corsair Force GT 120gb
Display(s) Samsung 931bw
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair vx550
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#6
Yes I saw that Asus one earlier. I'm still not sure what I would need though for 6 monitors to work with it. Would I need an adaptor for each monitor that's using a display port?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#7
yes you would
 

spixel

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
299 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asrock z77 Extreme4
Memory 8GB Corsair LP 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx570 + Evga gtx570 HD
Storage Corsair Force GT 120gb
Display(s) Samsung 931bw
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair vx550
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#8

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#9
I think most of the 6 series reference cards support five monitors max. Only cards that specifically say they do six can, I believe. However, I've heard you can do up to six using daisy-chained powered active displayports and such with cards that have less than six outputs.

Best to go to AMD's website, or the card manufacturer and check directly!
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#10
Thats alot of adaptors... why can't they use more dvi outputs instead.


http://www.dabs.ie/products/sapphir...-2gb-pci-express-hdmi-7TZK.html?q=6750&src=16

This says it supports 5 monitors but can't find any other information.
I think it's because the hardware on the video card can only sync two monitors at once be it HDMI, VGA or DVI these all need a sync signal but Display Port monitors don't. I guess that's why those active Display Port adapters are so expensive. It might be cheaper to buy monitors with DP rather than buying monitors plus the adapters. That's if you require the active adapters. I think "some" of the eyefinity cards can use the passive ones. Oh what did Sapphire call it... Flex? I think even the 5770 Flex Edition for example could run 3 monitors at once without an active DP adapter while a normal 5770 can only run 2 monitors unless you use DP or an active DP adapter. I could be wrong here just something to keep in mind.
 

AngryChief

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Texas
System Name AngryChief
Processor i7-3930k
Motherboard intel DX79SI
Cooling lots of water on everything
Memory 8 x 8GB (64GB) G.Skill DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2- HD6870's in x/f
Storage intel ssd 120 & 8 X 1tb HD103SJ's in Raid 5 on intel RT3WB080
Display(s) 2 - 30" Dells @ 2560 x 1600
Software Win7 Pro x64 sp1
#11
I've got 2-Powercolor 6870's in crossfire driving 2-Dell 30" 2560 x 1600 monitors plus an old 37" Visio 1920x1080 HDTV. I wound up buying 'bout $100.00 worth of "powered" and "unpowered" dongles to make it work. I would strongly suggest that you draw it out on paper, and get the Mfg or some "expert" tell you exactly what you need. What you'll find is few of them really know. You can only use 1 DVI-I port in my configuration.
 

davele

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Not all vendors are equal

On initial release most vendors ship the "reference" card. After a few months they bring their "Value-Add" card to market.
It is these 2nd generation cards where they add unique functionality & capability to their cards.
From what I've seen the "FLEX" versions of Sapphire cards have by far the most flexibility & capability for Eye Infinity. ie: supporting 5 VDU's when the reference model only supports 3.

It is definitely not a 5 Series or 6 Series thing. More Monitors demand i) More GPU speed, ii) more RAM & iii) more power for more Outputs. As you add this to a card the cost, heat output & power increases. Thus the low end models in any series card will not drive as many VDU's as the higher end models.

Why don't they offer more DVI?
An advantage of Display Port is that you can power 3 monitors with the same number of transistors that 1 DVI-Dual Link requires. (As DP doesn't need individual sync signals.) That is why cards which support 4+ VDU's do so via DP.
Also the recent DP 1.2 spec permits serial connection of VDU's this will mean in future one output of the card could drive 3 monitors each. Perhaps more VDU's in future if they move to faster fiber optic connectors.

PS: The 7 Series cards are likely to support even more. The 28nm fab means lower heat, lower power, so more room for custom extras.
 
Last edited:

Phillip

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
AMD (ATI) Maximum monitors supported (Link)

AMD's site Eyefinity FAQ page details maximum monitors supported for each series they offer.

http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/amd-eyefinity-technology/how-to/Pages/faqs.aspx#maximum-monitors

Important to note individual card manufacturers determine implementation. Both in number of ports & maximum number of monitors supported. In other words a card can have 4 ports yet only support 3 monitors (see last paragraph).

Find the series from AMD's FAQ then always check implementation by looking up card manufacturers website before buying.

Currently the norm for display ports is to need an active adapter after you connect two monitors. This is to do with the implementation of each card. Active adapters provide additional hardware only implemented for 2 monitors (specific combinations of ports) on the card. This saves both money & space for card manufacturers.

Also consider the memory available for each GPU. Some newer games may use more than 1GB when eyefinity resolutions are implemented & therefore benefit from newer larger memory cards.

I have a 5850 triple monitor setup at present. The maximum supported by card even though it has 4 ports. 58xx series can support 6 monitors so limit is implementation. I also have a 5870 eyefinity 6 2GB card I'm looking forward to trying out in the future. Will crossfire the 5870 & 5850. This will slow the 5870 to clock of 5850 reducing efficiency by only a small percentage. Could also overclock the 5850 to 5870 spec but personally prefer to under-clock for reliability & longevity.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#14
5870 2gb Eyefinity edition that does up to 6 displays at once.
I'm pretty sure this was said at some point during the casting of Sasha Grey for a film.