1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Graphics card issue, possibly driver related.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Techtu, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So sometime last week I woke up and came down stairs to turn the pc on, then to make a drink of coffee like usual so I come back to log into Windows to be confronted with a BSOD stop code 51 - My friend was telling me about how he had issues recently with a driver update from nVidia so I was quick to the solution as I thought!

    Uninstalled nVidia drivers and ran Driver Sweeper in safe mode to reboot so I can obviously reinstall the driver to find when I installed the previous driver before the update I now get BSOD with stop code 50:confused:

    What would I be best doing next?
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,156 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,723
    A BSOD of 0x0....50?
    Isn't that a page fault in non paged area?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    That would be correct.

    But it only happen's when my graphics driver is installed - At the moment I'm suffering with safe mode. :(


    EDIT: Now it also seems to happen when the driver isn't installed - Working in safe mode normally though.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  4. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I believe this is in the wrong section :/ Could a mod move it please to the respected area and rename the thread also - I'm not sure of a title as I'm pretty clueless right now and had a long day so something like - woke up this morning and it was dead, jokes. Something along the lines of Unstable Windows: Stop code 50 + 51 repeatedly.

    The error was clearly nothing to do with my graphics card as I went and borrowed another to test - got the same results. Really would be greatful for help with this before I go ahead and format for a new install.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  5. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,738 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    663
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I'd be doing the standard procedures right about now.. One stik of memory at a time. Unplug all periphals.. etc.. Start testing components.. good luck. ^^
     
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Tried one stick at a time, same result, also ran Windows Memory Test which passed - I would of used Memtest but I can't find my disc for some reason! :ohwell:

    I do have a few thing's plugged via USB... I never did think of that one to be honest, *high five* :laugh:

    EDIT: So I've just tested with no USB devices and still get the same old result. :banghead:
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    There can be a couple things. First question for you: cpu overclocked? Yes or was: how far and what was max temps? How old is your windows installation? If you were overclocked, did you install WHILE overclocked? Any antivirus or just recently ran into a virus that got cleaned from your system?
     
  8. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    CPU was overclocked when Windows installed the latest graphics driver yesterday, nothing major at all was running 3.3Ghz with no turbo boost and no voltage increase also temps went to 48 yesterday whilst playing Driver San Francisco but it was quite a hot day but still those arn't to worry about, Graphics card was a little higher I think that reached 52 - 53 but again still shouldn't be an issue.

    Windows isn't very old probably a month and half to two months and there was a virus maybe yesterday or two day's ago.
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Could be related but you may have some OS corruption. I would start with a fresh windows installation without an overclock and go from there. Also, don't overclock when you are installing anything hardware dependent (just as a partial failsafe precaution).

    PS: This is a reason I have stopped pushing a max overclock and eased up a little. I havent had any OS downtime since.
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,580 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,320
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta

    Might just be these two things. try sys restore to before these events.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I don't use my max overclock just because I want things to last. :)

    You know, my mate said this to me earlier...

    I don't use system restore :banghead:
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Didn't mean for you to read that wrong. Wasn't presuming you don't take care of your stuff. :)
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  13. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I didn't read it the wrong way :)

    I didn't mean what I said to sound cocky and arrogant was just pointing out I don't like to push my hardware for every day use.

    :toast:
     
  14. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,738 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    663
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    +1
     
  15. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    So its time for reinstall?
     
  16. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Seem's so, gonna make a large mug of coffee then get round to reinstalling. :twitch:
     
  17. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,738 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    663
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
  18. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I don't use system restore :/

    I now will in future...

    EDIT: Actually I do, for some reason I wasn't able to access restore earlier on in the day but I'll post back after the restore with results.
     
  19. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,738 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    663
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    You don't use it? so you don't have a restore date?
    If you don't know how to use it I can explain easily..
    Start/programs/system tools/system restore.
    Pick the most recent date, then start working backwards to farther dates, if that first date doesn't work.
     
  20. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Sorry to hear this.... Dont forget the partitions!!
     
  21. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,329 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,319
    Have you tried F8\Last Known Good Configuration?

    I have found W7 is FAR better at resolving issues with LKGC than XP was.

    BTW, I don't use Sys Restore. In over a year and a half on W7 I've not needed to. Sys Restore uses a fair amount of resources, leaves lots of fragmentation, and doesn't even restore certain sizes of files anyway.

    If you're really paranoid about backing things up, I would rec a a good imaging tool and saving things to discs over Sys Restore any day.
     
  22. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I know how to use it I just chose not to but thank you. :toast:

    I did try system restore in the end, I only had 2 restore point's for some reason and they was spaced just 2 days apart, neither worked though.

    I have enough drives I don't need partitions. :)

    I tried F8 - last known good configuration but no luck.

    I went ahead with a reinstall and all seem's to be well, Im just glad it wasn't hardware.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)