1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Great success thanks 2 u - still need a little help please

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Thlorian, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    ^ That, plus if you have a Vista disk I have found it is by far the best one to use to ready a hdd when problems arise.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  2. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks sneekypeet - Yes, in Win7 set-up, I got there and had a few choices one of them being NEW and one being FORMAT. NEW was greyed out so I had to chose Format and after about 10 seconds I got the same "Setup unable to create a new system partition" message...

    :confused:
     
  3. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks ricksss69 - I only have an XP upgrade cd and the win 7 upgrade cd. Do you think I should try the xp cd? Then after it installs (if it does) come back and install win 7? I guess the big thing here is getting the hard drive to be partitioned by the win 7 upgrade disk which does not seem to be working...so would the xp disk do the job?

    :wtf:
     
  4. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I do have another HD with this win7 upgrade installed on it. Would placing this in my mobo work? If so, would I have to plug this HD into sata1, with the second 1.5 new blank hd in sata2, and my cd/dvd player in sata3 or does the mobo sata sequence not matter?
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Shouldn't even need to do either new nor format. Just click on the disk and choose next. It "SHOULD" do all the work for you.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,394 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,246
    if 7 is an update, yes you need a real OS to start from, sorry.
     
    Thlorian and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Didn't catch that!! There is a work-around but unsure of the legality.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,014 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,857
    It would work, and you would just have to select that drive in the BIOS in the boot priority menu. Like the peet says, if 7 is update, I believe you need a replacement OS on the drive.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  9. qamulek

    qamulek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    In Win7 installer try delete the partition so the HDD is in a raw format, then select "new" partition(or w/e it is for win7 installer).

    Oh crap win7 upgrade? I know from experience that Windows XP upgrade absolutely would not continue unless you either had a previous version of windows installed or a previous windows install CD. Try to do an install of winXp without connecting it to the internet, immediately shut down after first boot, then install win7.

    Try it. I bet it will install over the old win7 HDD, but I don't know if it will install onto the new 1.5Gb HDD without first installing winXp. Just try it and see.

    Edit: LOL@ the x4 "oh crap its an upgrade? ya need a real os installed first"
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  10. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks JrRacinFan - But that option "Next" is greyed out. Is it a timing thing? When I click on advanced options at this juncture, should I walk away for a while and come back to see if it becomes "ungreyed out"? The other choices are not greyed out, i.e. "Format" and a couple of others...

    :confused:
     
  11. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks sneekypeet - I couldn't remember which full os's I had but I just checked and I have a full version of Win NT followed by a Win XP upgrade and then a Win 7 upgrade. So I will start with booting up on the NT disk.

    Thanks
     
  12. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks gamulek - I will give this a try before resorting to booting up with Win NT (My only full version cd).

    :rockout:
     
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You probably wont be able to load Win NT on a system that new, it wont recognise the hardware and ram size, hdd size etc.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  14. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10

    I have an odd question on something please - If I have two h-drives, one has win 7 on it with my files from a previous set-up, and the other is my new empty h-drive, why won't my new build setup and BIOS recognize the h-drive with win 7 on it and thus allow me to avoid a reinstall of the win 7 os?

    :confused:
     
  15. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    SO I may have to bite the bullet and buy a win 7 full version? I don;t mind as I have always upgraded since Win NT. But will buying the full version allow me to get past this partition block (should your suggestions/tips above in this thread not work out)?

    Where can I get a good price on Win 7 full version and could I get it at a store today, i.e., best buy, office max, directron, microcenter, or frys?
     
  16. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,655 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    To thin out the terminology please refer to "h-drives" as HDs (Hard Drives) or HDDs (Hard Disk Drives). Thanks.

    Your system will recognize the HD with win7 on it but it might not boot correctly off that drive. There are some differences in the core files of Windows which vary according to the CPU and mobo you're using (which is mostly unrelated to post-install drivers). The aforementioned files may prevent Win7 from communicating with your hardware and result in the computer freezing, restarting or throwing an unrecoverable error during boot.

    You can attempt to boot using the drive with win7 already on it (and it may work) but I strongly recommend doing a clean install for optimal performance.

    I'd highly recommend trying the method described on the follow link before you throw away your money:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/win...-7-download-links-just-like-vista-before.html

    Also there are lots of ways to mess with the Win7 discs depending on how resilient you are.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2010
    Thlorian says thanks.
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    or you could just download XP and install that to upgrade being as you wont be using it anyway I see no issues with doing this. (I am not a lawyer though so..... :p )
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  18. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks streetfighter 3 -This is pretty new to me but I am willing to try it. So all I need is to download and then use the key extraction program on my current computer (the one I am using right now to converse with you online) to extract the factory win 7 key from this computer and save it to a thumb drive or cd. Then follow the instructions in the link you provided via downloading the three files and then creating an iso file. Is this legal and is there a fee or cost for these files? Following the instructions closely will provide me with a a full version of Win 7 that will allow me to get past the partition block I am stuck on right now using the Win 7 upgrade disk...

    Thanks
     
  19. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Actually Directron down the road has an OEM 64 bit full version for $98. I'm thinking of just making the purchase so that I can save some time plus have a much newer full version on hand (bye bye WIn NT) fo future upgrades, builds, etc....
     
  20. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    A good idea if you don't mind paying for it again, and if you haven't used the upgrade just sell it on here or ebay! :toast:

    Good luck man!!
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  21. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks NdMk2o1o - I guess my only question left please is will the full version get me past the partition block? Do you know by chance?
     
  22. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    There shouldn't be any issues with an OEM copy, let us know how it goes.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  23. Thlorian

    Thlorian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Yep - Took one of your suggestions and deleted the partition and it worked...sort of...windows installed but then the key I used from the upgrade would not work....so I have two choices....extract the key from one of the HP systems I have and try to use it...or buy the full version for $98....

    Thanks again for all your help as I am pretty much close to up and running from pretty much disaster mode two weeks ago!
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,024 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    wait, couldn't you clone your old drive to your new drive, then try to reinstall win 7 on it? Would save you the 100 bucks :p I'd go through the trouble to save 100$ if I were you, just buy the full version of Windows 8 when it comes out lol

    EDIT: nvm, so it installed? all you need is the key? is there no ey with the upgrade version?
     
  25. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,655 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    It's completely legal and free provided you already own a license. The files are direct from Microsuck. What matters is that your key works for the version of the win7 installer you download. I'm not sure if your key is specific to the upgrade disc and will not work with any of the files linked on that page.

    Also, I can't figure out what you mean when you say "partition block".
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)