1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Green Tea: retro AMD-nVidia build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by TRWOV, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    It seems that re-capping was a good move. Gflops went up by 1.2, from 5.5 to 6.7 :cool:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Jayzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    That's make me want to recap my board, but all of them seem in good condition.
     
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    Looks like I'll have to settle for 2.8Ghz, unless the copper heatsinks I'll get later improve the situation. Won't boot at 3Ghz no matter the voltage.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    I got the sleeving kit but I'm still waiting for the molex pin remover so I started to sleeve what I could:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,950 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,351
    You might be able to do it with a firm piece of wire like a paper clip or a small screwdriver like a jeweler's type.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  6. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    I think I'll wait. It's my first time doing this so I'd like to make it as easy as possible. I don't want to end up breaking one of the tabs on a pin.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    Just got the pin removers in. De-pinning (is that a word?) the PSU...
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,983 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am down to 1 s939 system now. But it is still crunching along with a 4400+ in it now. Still running Linux but I have another cruncher in the work to replace it. So I will take it down and reinstall win xp on it and play with it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jayzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    Didn't turn 100% right (specially the ATX plug) but it's done.

    [​IMG]

    I ran out of 9mm heatshrink :( Only 30cms for a complete PSU??? And that's after removing the PCIE and SATA cables :shadedshu


    Rig is 95% done. Just waiting for some cables.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    Since the build is practically done on the hardware side I'm now trying my hand with W7 32bit. If it works I think I'll stick to it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,095 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    Location:
    Pune
    did you heatshrink over the zipties?
     
  13. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    errr.... no...

    Also W7 32bit didn't work. AGP 8x @ PCI mode... :shadedshu I give up,this is going to be an XP machine
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    XP running fine. I ran into a problem trying to run 3Dmark (System info error). Working on it,

    In the mean time, IBT:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    You may want to read this for a headsup, blame NV for this stupid crap.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NForce3#Windows_Vista_Incompatibility.

    NF2 combined with a R300 Series GPU is capable of running Aero and gaming.

    Just NV never released a Proper AGP Gart to support Vista or 7 or even fix the Error when using a X2 CPU with Radeon or even GF graphics.

    which 3DMark Program were you trying to use?
     
  16. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    all 3 of them
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
  18. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,983 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Trwov I have been waiting for you to finish this thing like a kid a Christmas waiting to open presents. Keep up the great work man . :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    ok, got 3dmark running. The Futuremark System Info was the culprit.

    I've been doing some tests and I think that with the FX60 I'm hitting the upper limits of how much power can the board deliver to the CPU. I can't get anything above 200Mhz on the FSB to be stable, no matter the voltage... :banghead: maybe a beffier PSU could help but that's a big if, plus I don't think I'm really stressing the PSU to the point of being unstable.

    I've installed cooper heatsinks on the VRMs and the situation didn't improve so I'm going to have to live with a 200Mhz overclock. At least that'll make it as fast as the FX57.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    Benchmarks :cool:

    Intel Burn Test
    [​IMG]
    Cinebench
    The OpenGL accuracy test fails (???) so it doesn't give a score:
    [​IMG]
    3dmark 2003
    [​IMG]
    3dmark 2005
    [​IMG]
    3dmark 2006
    [​IMG]
    Street Fighter 4
    [​IMG]
    Devil May Cry 4
    [​IMG]
    RE5 Game test
    [​IMG]
    RE5 Fixed Test
    [​IMG]
    Lost Planet 2 test A
    [​IMG]
    Lost Planet 2 test B
    [​IMG]
    The Last Remant
    [​IMG]
    Final Fantasy XIV
    [​IMG]
     
    Jayzilla says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Jayzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Where are all the PCmark? Jezz, I need to find all those games to have a DM with ya.
     
  23. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,876 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    691
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Youve got to be shitting me, I threw one away at the beginning of this year, exactly like that (though dont remember the fab#). Didn't figure I would have a use for it, and would probably bend the pins whenever I moved out of my house.

    I was going to donate it to you. Just for kicks ill check and see if I for sure did throw it away.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    TRWOV- I was reading through the thread and noticed you had a PHY Lan Issue, I just wanted to mention some XP drivers do work with windows 7. Since you're XP only on this machine it dont matter anymore. I Assume this is 32bit you're running correct?

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/ULI/939A8X-M/?cat=Download&os=XP64
     
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,983 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I could use one thats for sure as Trwov got lucky and got one for a steal.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)