• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gregion 3.1 recording Software and Codec

belzebub

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name OhShitItDidntBlowYet
Processor Core i7-2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3 v1
Cooling Boxed! :)
Memory 16GB - 4x G Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL
Video Card(s) Gainward GF GTX570
#1
Hello everyone!

I hope this is the right place, lets see.

Im using Gregion 3.1 to record Game footage - its free, its fast, its high quality and the file size is sooo much smaller than fraps
and I have not a single issue with it but this:
The "gregion high quality" codec cant be used by any other program but the Gregion Converter and Windows Movie Maker.
My problem is that to be able to edit the records I need to be re-encode to a different codec, like xvid.
However the Gregion Converter crashes on my system and windows movie maker doesnt give me a too good result on the re-encoding.

So my question is - am I able to somehow get that codec working in other Movie Editors like VirtualDub?
Im quite clueless about codecs in general...
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
if the codec is installed correct it should work in VirtualdubMod bcs ino Fraps codec works in there so why shouldn't "Gregion Codec"?
 

belzebub

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name OhShitItDidntBlowYet
Processor Core i7-2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3 v1
Cooling Boxed! :)
Memory 16GB - 4x G Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL
Video Card(s) Gainward GF GTX570
#3
Ive been using 'VirtualDub-1.9.11-AMD64' that build - it doesnt work!

Now you made me aware of that VirtualDubMod - used it - it does work!
Thanks for the help!
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#4
you are welcome belzebub.

it's weird that Virtualdub don't work bcs virtualdubmod is only a modded version with some more stuff in o_O
 

belzebub

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name OhShitItDidntBlowYet
Processor Core i7-2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3 v1
Cooling Boxed! :)
Memory 16GB - 4x G Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL
Video Card(s) Gainward GF GTX570
#5
I tried the 32bit Version 'VirtualDub-1.9.11' - works there as well! Looks like its a 64bit issue? Anyways, works like that, so im happy! ;)

If anyone uses Fraps etc, I recommend trying out Gregion!
Made a 37minute recording of Guild Wars 2 at 7.8GB (1680x1050).
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#6
hehe, i only used Fraps for FPS in games but not i am using W1zzard's TPU OSD for that bcs it got GPU-Z Sensors aswell in it ^^

only thing TPU OSD needs is recoding and it will be rulling all over them :nutkick:
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#7
Is it just as fast as Fraps though? Sounds interesting.
 

belzebub

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name OhShitItDidntBlowYet
Processor Core i7-2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3 v1
Cooling Boxed! :)
Memory 16GB - 4x G Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL
Video Card(s) Gainward GF GTX570
#8
Gregion works alot better for me because it puts less stress on the hdd for saving the data. So overall the performance is perfect for me. Plus it doesnt seem to cap the framerate while recording. (So I had like 50+fps while the recording was at 25fps)