• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GRID + Win7 32Bit

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#1
Ok the game did work and now doesn't heres what I did from when I first installed it through to today...

1) Installed Windows 7
2) Got 7 all up and running with drivers etc
3) Installed GRID, which is v1.0
4) Used NoDVD fix thing, worked perfect and disc would stay clean
5) Didn't play it for ages, theres been a few Catalyst updates since then
6) After not playing it for months I played it yesterday, GRID.exe crashes in race after 2 mins
7) Tried reinstall, patches 1.1 - 1.2, compatibility mode and nothing stops it crashing

If I use the "-safemode" switch it works perfectly, no problems what so ever (but really bad graphics) And the "-novisual" switch helps it go for longer without crashing...

The only thing I haven't tried is to use older graphics drivers, but the question is which ones? I'm currently using the latest 10.7 drivers from ATi

Any ideas?

Cheers all
 
Last edited:

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.69/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#2
I think it's a driver issue. You can try getting back to the 10.3 driver (The last driver i tested GRID which worked perfectly.

You can also try this fix.:toast:
 

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#3
Hi mdsx1950,

Tried both these things now, they didn't work :cry:

Really don't know what else to do, I've read on the net that it could be the NoDVD .exe's that are causing the problem as the programming is abit hit and miss or something. The original disc works with the problems I'm experiencing apparently but I'm not going up in the loft just to get a disc I've managed to keep in perfect condition. Also as I said never had the problem with these NoDVD fixes before

Gunna reinstall again with my ISO, could even be that thats failing... but I had the problem before I reinstalled the first time so I don't think so.

Wish I had another 7 machine to try this all on to see if reinstalling Windows would solve the problem, but of a ballache though...
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#4
delete your hardware settings in documents/codemasters
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,139
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#5
Update DirectX.
 

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#6
Tried both of the above, still no joy, tried a v1.2 .exe on v1.0 of the game, and it works PERFECTLY!!! ...the only problem is, is that it will not let you past the very first race in the game with the Dodge.

It would run without crashing forever but soon as you finish the race, and press continue, at which point it would normally load back to the main garage screen or whatrever, GRID.exe just crashes like normal...

I'm gunna keep smashing away at this until I get it to work! Found an ISO which cant install the game but if you use Daemon Tools or such it will let the game run with the orginal .exe wich I hope will see the end to all these problems.

Will report back my findings...
 

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#7
Still no luck, even got up in the loft, put in the disc, play the game, exactly the same problem...

I'm just gunna call it a day and say that GRID doesn't work on Windows 7.
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.69/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#8
I'm just gunna call it a day and say that GRID doesn't work on Windows 7.
Though the thing is that IT does work on Win7 perfectly. :p
 

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#9
Then why doesn't it work for me :'(

Don't get me wrong, it works, runs like a dream infact, but without the "-safemode" switch which you don't really want on it will crash...
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.69/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#10
Then why doesn't it work for me :'(

Don't get me wrong, it works, runs like a dream infact, but without the "-safemode" switch which you don't really want on it will crash...
I honestly have no idea. Maybe its a hardware problem? Do other games crash like GRID?
 

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#11
No, I mean... AC2 used to crash, but only after like 4 none stop hours and even then I'm not sure it was the game crashing tbh more the graphics drivers stop responding iirc.

It's a shame because GRID is a really good game (I know... I USED TO BE ABLE TO PLAY IT! lol)

I'm starting to thing maybe it's something thats happened to Windows inbetween when I installed GRID when I first got 7, up until the other day... I've repaired PC's in the past with odd behaviour and nothing worked other then reinstalling Windows.

I did however expect more from 7 if that is the case......
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
921 (0.29/day)
Likes
186
Location
London, UK
Processor AMD FX 8350 Black Edition @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Samsung Green 16GB 30nm 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX HD 7950 DD 3GB @ 850/5000Mhz
Storage 240GB Intel 520 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" QHD
Case Fractal Design R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760W
Mouse Corsair Raptor M40
Keyboard Corsair Raptor K50
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
grid dosent like overclocked systems, try putting your oveclocks back to default

also uninstall 10.7 and put 10.4a's on
 
Last edited:

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#13
Hi IINexusII,

Thanks for the heads up on the OC'ing, however since going back to 10.3 as mdsx1950 suggested Overdrive is now locked and on its default clocks. I've been into the mobo BIOS and turned everything, performance enhancing wise at least, to either "Off/Disabled" "Standard" or "Auto" so atm the whole system is complete "Default".

I haven’t yet tried 10.4a does the "a" mean its beta? Anyway I'll try the 10.4 from ATi's website unless there is significant difference?

As of where things stand right now... I think everyone’s stumped I certainly am, so if its not going to work I'll just have to try and forget about it :(

Any good racing games anyone would recommend? I've got GRID, Dirt 2 and NFS Shift (Not fond of Shift, plus it doesn't run so great on my system)

Cheers for your help everyone :)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,139
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#14

mod2max

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
System Name Full Spectrum
Processor Intel Core 2 Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 266.7Mhz x9> x4
Motherboard ASUS P5K Deluxe (P43)
Cooling CPU> Tuniq Tower 120 - GPU> Stock - HDD> Zalman ZM-2HC2 - Case Fans> 4 - Other> Stock
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC EPP 1GBx4 (PC6400 CL4 2.1v)
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870XT Ice3 Turbo RV670 (850/2380/Unknown) Catalyst 10.4a
Storage WD Caviar Green 1TB 32MB + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2032BW
Case Asus TA-250
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PCI
Power Supply OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream 2
Software Microsoft Windows 7 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores Need to do some benchmarking...
#15
Lol didn't work...

Why didn't I just buy a console... oh yeah I rememeber, cause of the graphics lmao.

Anyway thanks for the idea erocker, if anyone has any ideas keep them coming as I'm sure I'm not the only one whos experienced this problem.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,139
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#16
Darn it! Well, if you want to try using the 10.4a drivers (I'm still using them they're great), I've uploaded them here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XOOKP0NS

Also make sure to delete the Codemasters folder in your documents that contains the settings and all that.

Btw, F1 2010 comes out next month, it's a "must buy" for me. :D