• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GT 218

Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi,

I have one Asus oem gpu with a gt218 die and 1gb ddr3.

I cannot install drivers for it bescause it's not reconized as an nvidia gpu.

Is there a way to change that?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,580 (5.08/day)
Likes
9,832
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
hi,

I have one Asus oem gpu with a gt218 die and 1gb ddr3.

I cannot install drivers for it bescause it's not reconized as an nvidia gpu.

Is there a way to change that?
One of these?


Got a serial number on the back of the GPU PCB?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
3,264 (2.06/day)
Likes
3,939
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI Z270 SLI Plus
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING (Waiting on 1180 Ti)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27 inch 1440p PLS PB278Q (Waiting on 1180 Ti for 4K)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850 W Gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
#3
I googled it and came up with a GTX 260m. Is this a laptop? Also have you tried going to the manufacturers website and downloading the drivers there?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,580 (5.08/day)
Likes
9,832
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
that's strange because in that rig i already have one of those gpu's the older model with 512mb ddr2 and it runs fine with the latest drivers, but when i put this gpu it's not reconized...same thing in linux.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,580 (5.08/day)
Likes
9,832
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
that's strange because in that rig i already have one of those gpu's the later model with 512mb ddr2 and it runs fine with the latest drivers, but when i put this gpu it's not reconized...something in linux.
OH you're running linux? I have no idea, NVidia have naturally been assholes about drivers for linux. There is a custom linux driver for NVidia GPUs however.

What kind of motherboard are you trying to put both of those GPUs in? Could be a lane issue, and power issue. Without specifics of system spec and OS I can only guess. What distro you running?
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
i'm dual booting have this issue both on ubuntu 14.04 and windows 8.1

I was hoping some kind off bios flash would solve this.

my motherboard is an asus p6t deluxe v2, x5650 cpu, 12 gb of ram and a corsair cx500 v3 psu.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,580 (5.08/day)
Likes
9,832
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#9
i'm dual booting have this issue both on ubuntu 14.04 and windows 8.1

I was hoping some kind off bios flash would solve this.

my motherboard is an asus p6t deluxe v2, x5650 cpu, 12 gb of ram and a corsair cx500 v3 psu.
If you open device manager does it show up as an unrecognised device, or under the display adapters, or does it just not show up at all?
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
It shows under display adapers like a generic microsoft graphics adapter. And the other gpu is reconized as an asus gt210
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,580 (5.08/day)
Likes
9,832
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#11
It shows under display adapers like a generic microsoft graphics adapter. And the other gpu is reconized as an asus gt210
So you have two identical GPUs plugged into the same machine then? Try uninstalling the generic MS display adapter driver and then running the driver.

Also, try just using one GPU at a time. Plug in one GPU in the top slot and install the driver. Remove it, then plug in the other GPU in the top slot and install the driver. Then try both in the second slot to ensure A) they both work as GPUs, and B) both top and bottom PCIE slot actually work.
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
I'm trying to run 2 gpu's so i can get 3 monitors to work.

I've pretty much already tried what you sugested and always have the same result, it's not reconized by the nvidia installer and even if i use the other gpu to install the drivers it still doent work.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,580 (5.08/day)
Likes
9,832
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#13
I'm trying to run 2 gpu's so i can get 3 monitors to work.

I've pretty much already tried what you sugested and always have the same result, it's not reconized by the nvidia installer and even if i use the other gpu to install the drivers it still doent work.
Have you tried both GPUs in both slots individually?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,728 (4.54/day)
Likes
5,847
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
I've found nVidia's drivers to be incredibly annoying when it comes to multi-monitor in Linux. I've almost strictly used AMD for the last 4 years for my Linux boxes for this reason. I wanted something like TwinView but without each monitor being in a different independent X display and the only other option was making it into one huge desktop like in surround.

I would install nVidia's proprietary drives and see if TwinView works for you but you will probably need the proprietary drivers to do what you suggest if it's possible.
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
Problem was my second G210 was actually a geforce 505 :D

Once Ive downloaded the drivers from Asus website it started to work :p
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,008 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,667
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
#16
340.52 - WHQL http://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/77224

These are the last available drivers for the GeForce 8-GeForce 200 series GPUs while supporting up to the 700 series, as driver support has been discontinued for the former GPUs.
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
That will work for the geforce 210...but the Geforce 505 is an OEM product and I cant find a suitbale driver in nvidia website.

Not a big deal anyway because i've scored a used HD6870 that hopefully will drive all my monitors.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.36/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#18
You could probably flash it to a 210, but what the heck. 6870 = superior.
 
Top