• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gta 4 crashing constantly

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#1
Sup everyone, i seem to be having a very annoying problem. I purchased gta 4 recently and i installed it and it runs quite well, my system is listed in my specs. The problem with the game, is that about +/- 5 minutes of playing, the screen gets funny coloured squares and my whole pc crashes. I have xp sp3 installed. I have tried numerous things like clocking my cpu back to stock but to no avail. My pc is not overheating, thats for sure, i dunno. My mate just told me that it might just be a bug, but it seems strange that i bug in the game would cause my whole pc to crash. Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.41/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
Your 4870 is overheating. Funny coloured squares on your screen usually means your video card is overheating. What video drivers are you using BTW?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#3
You checked if your video card is overheating or not ?.. Try GPU-Z and for a + that will tell you the reg temps too which can be the issue and not the ram or GPU.

Maybe update your v card drivers ? or even try different versions just in case of a incompatibility issue.

Personly i think it might be the ram on your v card overheating just becouse thats when i seen those kind of things happen mostly.


Your v card overclocked ?. if so try clocking it down and check if it's the ram or gpu if that sorts the problem out.
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#4
My temp is 47 degrees at 60% at idle. So this sounds fine. I tried with 8.12 and with 9.1 but to no avail. Crysis runs at high with 2x AA with no problems at all. I had a problem with crysis when i first got my pc, but that was because i was using the 2 six pin adaptors from the psu. I am now using one from the psu and one of the 4 pins connected to a six pin for the power
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#5
regardless of if your at stock clocks, back off on your video memory clocks a little bit, like say 100mhz or so then it should stop doing that.
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#6
K will do, Ive got riva tuner open here, and my shader core is at 49 and my memory i/o is at 57, is that normal at 60% fan speed?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#7
its fine. but under load i bet the memory is gonna get too hot, thats the problem i had on my 2900xt which caused the exact same crashes, they dont supply good enough ram cooling on alot of their stuff.
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.35/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#8
mine does crash when my GPU is OC'ed too far specially the memory constant lock-up bsods you name it. Just don't push the CPU and GPU to far. I've finished GTA IV the other day without any crash anymore and don't use to much memory make sure its on the green numbers you'd be fine :toast:

also update your GTA IV to the latest 1.0.2.0 patch it greatly improves my overall FPS and stability.
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#9
So all i need 2 do is underclock it while playing gta then, cause its the only game that does it?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#10
the patch shouldn't do much, but insure to have the newest ATi Catalyst Control Center and Driver that should fix more then the patch, and u can delete GTAIVsomething.dll to get better performance aswell this located with your game exe file in the same folder (just backup it or move it out of the folder to be sure u have it if something goes wrong) :)
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#11
Absolutely nothing has worked got the patch, underclocked the v-ram by 100mhz but 2 no avail :-(
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.35/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#12
did u underclock the gpu clock or only the memory clock? u should underclock both and see if it helps
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#13
its fine. but under load i bet the memory is gonna get too hot, thats the problem i had on my 2900xt which caused the exact same crashes, they dont supply good enough ram cooling on alot of their stuff.

Yeah i've noticed that but there was a bigger issue with the 2900XT and that was the voltage regs were if they hit 90c-100c the card would show issue's all though the GPU and ram would be at way safe temps.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#14
Yeah i've noticed that but there was a bigger issue with the 2900XT and that was the voltage regs were if they hit 90c-100c the card would show issue's all though the GPU and ram would be at way safe temps.
hmm, can you give me a little more info about that? ive done all i can and fallout 3 REQUIRES the memory to be underclocked a little else it crashes like crazy, voltage regs?

i hadnt actually checked the memory temp or anything i just assumed it was overheating since the cooling on the memory consists of that giant black umm, heatspreader? which actually seems to make things worse :p and since setting it to 900mhz made it run flawlessly i just figured thats what it was, i didnt have that problem in GTA4 but... it was the same thing, screen would get corrupted with little squares for like a couple seconds then bsod

EDIT: voltage regulators?
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#15
hmm, can you give me a little more info about that? ive done all i can and fallout 3 REQUIRES the memory to be underclocked a little else it crashes like crazy, voltage regs?

i hadnt actually checked the memory temp or anything i just assumed it was overheating since the cooling on the memory consists of that giant black umm, heatspreader? which actually seems to make things worse :p and since setting it to 900mhz made it run flawlessly i just figured thats what it was, i didnt have that problem in GTA4 but... it was the same thing, screen would get corrupted with little squares for like a couple seconds then bsod

EDIT: voltage regulators?
I use heatsinks on top of that black plate with a 120mm fan on top of them as well. Been meaning to remove the plastic part of it and just place 2 120mm fans on it but not got around to it yet lol.

Here's the pic it shows the regs are getting near 20c more than any other part of the card if i could find a way to cool them down more by air the GPU could be clocked higher.

http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=19371&d=1224251707

O yeah not had any issue's with FO3 at all or any other game and the cooler i am using is a the Artic Cooling one.
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#16
Where are the voltage regs on the 4870 with a reference cooler? Would it be a good idea to just send the card back?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#17
Where are the voltage regs on the 4870 with a reference cooler? Would it be a good idea to just send the card back?
Run GPU-Z and look at the VDDC temps. You could try putting a fan on the top of the card to cool the other ram chips and PCB. Then see if it still happens.


You could try touching one of the ram chips hehe. it's when i knew mine were to hot.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,163 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#18
GTA IV is the only game that does this? (GTA IV = the least stable game i have ever played)
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#19
Yeah only gta4, even crysis works 100%
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#20
What part of the card has the voltage regs? My card has the reference cooler why isnt this cooling the regs off?
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#21
Well, it wasnt the temps or anything like that, i sent an email to sapphire this morning and it appears i have the bad bios version :) thank goodness. So im on my way home now, ill let everyone know how it goes wen i hav done it
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#22
Well, it wasnt the temps or anything like that, i sent an email to sapphire this morning and it appears i have the bad bios version :) thank goodness. So im on my way home now, ill let everyone know how it goes wen i hav done it
Sweet Good Luck! :).
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#23
Awesome, it worked! My first bios flash! Anybody with a sapphire 4870 with the same problem should email them. Now, before i did the flash i found out how to enable ati overdrive, yes i know, im stupid, surely the key should have meant something! Now i ran farcry 2 maxed out and did 15 runs of the ranch long bench and it successfully completed with no artifacts at 800 core and 1000 memory up from 750 and 900. Is it a safe bet to say its stable? When i get home from work today ill overclock with the new bios and see if it makes any difference. Ati overdrive must be smoking its shader socks again, auto tune set my card to 845 and 1100!
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#24
Thats strange. A 50 mhz increase to the core and memory resulted in no performance increase in 3dmark06 or farcry 2.