• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTA IV APPLICATION CRASH error

Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#1
I'm sure this thread is SO 2008 but I've got this error:


I tried uninstalling the game, replacing the common folder with the one I backed up manually
tried reinstalling from a STEAM backup

uninstalled and re-downloaded

SAME PROBLEM

how do I fix this? :D
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
Try this:

1. Open steam and select your game.(GTA IV)
2. Select Properties at the very bottom
3. Click on the Local Files tab
4. Click on verify integrity of game cache
5. Follow all further instructions

if that doesn't work than it could be a x64 issue if u run 64bit Win7 Ultimate.

there are also this page FIXING GTA IV (PC) Errors, crashes, install problems and freezes.

and i have also read to install patch 1.0.4.0 (1.4) that should fix issues too, i also had GTAIV installed together with Episodes from Liberty City on my Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit but i deleted it about 5month ago or something bcs i didn't play it anymore, and that copy i have had for like over 6month jumping it from one Windows 7 installation to another no issuse there ^^
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#3
Try the 1.0.7.0 patch too.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#4
Try this:

1. Open steam and select your game.(GTA IV)
2. Select Properties at the very bottom
3. Click on the Local Files tab
4. Click on verify integrity of game cache
5. Follow all further instructions

if that doesn't work than it could be a x64 issue if u run 64bit Win7 Ultimate.

there are also this page FIXING GTA IV (PC) Errors, crashes, install problems and freezes.

and i have also read to install patch 1.0.4.0 (1.4) that should fix issues too, i also had GTAIV installed together with Episodes from Liberty City on my Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit but i deleted it about 5month ago or something bcs i didn't play it anymore, and that copy i have had for like over 6month jumping it from one Windows 7 installation to another no issuse there ^^
I tried that page but I didn't find the APPLICATION CRASH error (it's so vague I can't check an error code)

I downloaded it from Steam so I thought it would be patched already?
How can I check/download the patch from steam
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#5
in ur Library but it should ask or tell u that there is update if u don't have them.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#6


same problem still
nothing came up from steam about patching

and yeah I DO run64bit Windows7 Ultimate
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#7
bump :(
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#8
This might be from leftfield but have you tried adding the launch application to DEP?

control panel >
system&security >
view amount of ram & processor >
advanced system settings >
Performance/settings >
Data Execution Prevention

Then click on "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select"

Then click add and find the launch exe.

Sometimes when windows 7 64 is acting kooky, I add a launch exe there and it works. Not definite but worth a try huh?
 

waseem

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Project R-1TS
Processor QX9650
Motherboard EVGA 780i FTW
Cooling APOGEE GT
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR2 1066 PC2-8500 DHX Dominator Dual
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800GTX+ SLI
Storage WD 640GB : MB 1TB
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" 2253BW
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar d1
Power Supply CoolerMaster 850w
Software Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores 246380p vantage
#9
try with the sound sittings
 

Funtoss

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
588 (0.24/day)
Likes
61
Location
New Zealand
System Name My Heater
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-E Plus
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory Patriot 4GB 800MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 1GB
Storage 2x Western Digital 640GB (1.28TB)
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2349wm 24"
Case Raidmax Hurricane
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8738
Power Supply Aywun Megapower 650w 80+
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#10
what patch do you have right now?
my gta 4 used to crash all the time lol i just reinstalled mine and it fixed those random crashing
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#11
This might be from leftfield but have you tried adding the launch application to DEP?

control panel >
system&security >
view amount of ram & processor >
advanced system settings >
Performance/settings >
Data Execution Prevention

Then click on "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select"

Then click add and find the launch exe.

Sometimes when windows 7 64 is acting kooky, I add a launch exe there and it works. Not definite but worth a try huh?
tried that and now I got this error:
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#12
tried that and now I got this error:
http://i.imgur.com/asFyG.png
Ah, now I see....you are on Vista. Enough said.

But seriously, it may be looking like fresh installation time I'm afraid. Hope you get it sorted without having to resort to that though.....those vista updates are a bitch.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#13
Ah, now I see....you are on Vista. Enough said.

But seriously, it may be looking like fresh installation time I'm afraid. Hope you get it sorted without having to resort to that though.....those vista updates are a bitch.
That's why it's annoying
I'M ON WINDOWS 7 WHAT IS GOING ON
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#14
Ah, now I see....you are on Vista. Enough said.

But seriously, it may be looking like fresh installation time I'm afraid. Hope you get it sorted without having to resort to that though.....those vista updates are a bitch.
EDIT - Oh yeh ....shit man, you have issues with that system. Fresh install bud, that's all there is for it.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#15
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

I really don't wanna! It was all going well and it just stops working all of a sudden!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#16
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

I really don't wanna! It was all going well and it just stops working all of a sudden!
I've been there myself mate, in fact, I'm betting alot of us on here have. It's the nature of the beast.

Touch wood though, I have been on my current install for about 4 months without any major probs.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#17
I just remembered what might've caused this

I did a system restore and RIGHT AFTER it I couldn't play GTA IV (but ONLY gta iv)
maybe that narrows things down? -crosses fingers-
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#18
oh I noticed cos it was only GTA IV that had this problem, so I reinstalled games for windows live and it works just fine now :D
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,257
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#19
oh I noticed cos it was only GTA IV that had this problem, so I reinstalled games for windows live and it works just fine now :D
was going to say this. it's games for windows live causing the issue. Stupid crap I bought the games on steam, I don't want anything to do with games for windows live. But alas GTA IV, Bioshock 2, Batman:AA, and Dawn of War II and expansions all require it. I will say that Dawn of War 2 and Batman:AA have no issues whatsoever with this, however both bioshock 2 and GTA IV do. Simple fix is to create an offline account for both of those games, it auto signs you in and you never have to worry about crashes or losing saved games.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#21
was going to say this. it's games for windows live causing the issue. Stupid crap I bought the games on steam, I don't want anything to do with games for windows live. But alas GTA IV, Bioshock 2, Batman:AA, and Dawn of War II and expansions all require it. I will say that Dawn of War 2 and Batman:AA have no issues whatsoever with this, however both bioshock 2 and GTA IV do. Simple fix is to create an offline account for both of those games, it auto signs you in and you never have to worry about crashes or losing saved games.
there's a .dll you can download to make gta iv run without gamesforwindows (something like xliveless.dll or something) but it won't recognize your previous saves (first hand experience)
Glad to hear it matey :)
so happy i don't have to re-install XD
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#22
there's a .dll you can download to make gta iv run without gamesforwindows (something like xliveless.dll or something) but it won't recognize your previous saves (first hand experience)
Yup, previous saves are "attached" to the profile you play with Games for Windows that's why it doesn't show up, as technically you're now playing without a profile at all (but it's the other way around, you're playing without Games for Windows running).


Did you add some mods prior to that error? Many mods can only run without Games for Windows, making it necessary to get the xliveless.dll.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#23
Yup, previous saves are "attached" to the profile you play with Games for Windows that's why it doesn't show up, as technically you're now playing without a profile at all (but it's the other way around, you're playing without Games for Windows running).


Did you add some mods prior to that error? Many mods can only run without Games for Windows, making it necessary to get the xliveless.dll.
Yeah I was using a few mods but they didn't require xliveless.dll
I just did a system restore and suttin musta fucked up xD