• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTA IV Performance

miloshs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
362 (0.10/day)
Likes
39
Location
Serbia
System Name Begginer's E
Processor Intel E8500
Motherboard DFI LT X48-T2R
Cooling Thermalright HR-01 Plus & Silverstone FM-121B (800-2400rpm)
Memory 2x2gb GEIL Ultra Plus PC8500 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 1gb
Storage WD 1tb Black Series
Display(s) ASUS VW242HS 24"
Case CoolerMaster 690
Audio Device(s) ICH8 integrated crappie
Power Supply OCZ 700W xStream SLI PSU
Software Windows 7 x64
Figured out how to enable high texture quality another way; create a new text doc in the GTA folder (the one with GTAIV.exe and LaunchGTAIV.exe) and name the text file commandline.txt

Put:

-norestrictions
-novblank
-nomemrestrict

in the document and save it.

Next time you run it it should allow you to select "high".
Well DUH! it says the same thing 6 posts before :D :banghead:... but we forgive you, at first i tought it was a part of the signature too :toast:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
those SS's look awesome erocker, what settings are you using there? I take it that the texture's on "high".
1920x1200
Textures: high
Rendering: very high

Draw distance: 26
Detail distance: 50
Vehicles: 38
Shadows: 16
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
1920x1200
Textures: high
Rendering: very high

Draw distance: 26
Detail distance: 50
Vehicles: 38
Shadows: 16
Is that with your quad or dual? And how much VMEM do you have? :)

Well DUH! it says the same thing 6 posts before :D :banghead:... but we forgive you, at first i tought it was a part of the signature too :toast:
lol oops, didn't even notice!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
There is also a controller hack. Details in this link...
http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=379477

I used the software that came with my Saitek controller to map keyboard buttons to it. It took a while and then I realized that the game is unplayable without making me sick to my stomach because of the low frame rates. I can't wait until we get some updates!
If you are getting unplayable framerates, you need to turn down some settings. Your weak rig isn't going to max this game out, but it should handle medium just fine, and still look too too.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
There is also a controller hack. Details in this link...
http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=379477

I used the software that came with my Saitek controller to map keyboard buttons to it. It took a while and then I realized that the game is unplayable without making me sick to my stomach because of the low frame rates. I can't wait until we get some updates!
lower the settings especially draw distance and how many vehicles there is because those are very cpu intensive, this game uses four cores.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,947 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
With fraps on last night I stay around 36 FPS, and dip to 31 as the lowest, The peak was 50's for a short time.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
lower the settings especially draw distance and how many vehicles there is because those are very cpu intensive, this game uses four cores.
Exactly, this game is extremely CPU intensive(which isn't surprising). Cheap CPUs simply aren't going to cut it. The E4000/5000 series is a minimum I would say, and only if you have a good 3GHz+ overclock on them. The E2000 series and lower is going to drag at this game, even with a good overclock on them, unless you lower the settings. Especially vehicle desity and draw distance.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,312 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,721
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
turn off the clip capture feature, that will solve performance and crash issues
Umm which crash does it solve ?. Is it the unrecoverable error type hat asks if you want send info to MS ??.

I do believe i had mine on the 1st time i installed the game but this time i have had it disabled without a single crash. The worsted crashes are that require you to reinstall.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
game seems to run a lot smoother with the video capture turned off :)
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1

At me the picture is better than at prefix Sony play station 3 and, xbox360 look темболее gta4 фьурика, and европе europases left глюченные bad versions the game version not дароботанная, and in Russia awakes 19 декарбя and at us already pirates зделали пиратку on December, 4th and have cracked gta4 and 200.000$ that that they потратели on protection of game against a piracy it have not helped потомучто in россия in россии very much талантлевые people there live hackers итд, well and still game excellent I already play, but I wait the Russian licence look my screenshots and the video review a game плей

http://video.mail.ru/mail/apocalipsis20088/2933/3017.html

http://video.mail.ru/mail/apocalipsis20088/2933/3010.html

video game play GTA4
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
We don't need to know that you are a "game pirate", nor do we care, nor is it acceptable to talk about here. The video looks good.:)
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
My results in game GTA4=Here so game GTA4 at me goes in a fantastic way yes???????
Statistics
Average FPS: 37.98
Duration: 1.53 sec
CPU Usage: 74%
System memory usage: 74%
Video memory usage: 53%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: High
Render Quality: Highest
View Distance: 100
Detail Distance: 100

Hardware
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Service Pack 3
Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Video Driver version: 6.14.10.6879
Audio Adapter: Realtek HD Audio output
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+

File ID: benchmark.cli

////////////////////////
Statistics
Average FPS: 45.08
Duration: 1.35 sec
CPU Usage: 78%
System memory usage: 65%
Video memory usage: 34%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: Highest
View Distance: 100
Detail Distance: 100

Hardware
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Service Pack 3
Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Video Driver version: 6.14.10.6879
Audio Adapter: Realtek HD Audio output
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+

File ID: benchmark.cli

смотрите видео RUSSIAN MUSIC VIDEO CLIP http://video.mail.ru/bk/drum_s/12/41.html?tagpos=c_11#c_11
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Is that with your quad or dual? And how much VMEM do you have? :)



lol oops, didn't even notice!
E8600 @ 4ghz (it needs the speed for this game), GTX260/216 896mb GDDR3 650/1100
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
We don't need to know that you are a "game pirate", nor do we care, nor is it acceptable to talk about here. The video looks good.:)

I not the pirate, I tell that in россии a piracy процвитает continually in any shop in any market and on a techno the market it is possible to buy piracy production, without speaking about that that on the Russian sites it is possible to download 98.8 % of the licence and пиратки so not I питат and Russia number one on a piracy in the world.С one party well, it is possible to buy пиратку for 10$ and the licence of the same game costs 55$ but gta4 I have bought пиратку потомучто I cannot wait more and the licence the purchase, извените for ломанный English language but as I can so I translate
 

miloshs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
362 (0.10/day)
Likes
39
Location
Serbia
System Name Begginer's E
Processor Intel E8500
Motherboard DFI LT X48-T2R
Cooling Thermalright HR-01 Plus & Silverstone FM-121B (800-2400rpm)
Memory 2x2gb GEIL Ultra Plus PC8500 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 1gb
Storage WD 1tb Black Series
Display(s) ASUS VW242HS 24"
Case CoolerMaster 690
Audio Device(s) ICH8 integrated crappie
Power Supply OCZ 700W xStream SLI PSU
Software Windows 7 x64
OMG! :D Please don't use the translator anymore... :D
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.41/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Wanted as a pedophile

Go to a TW@ Internet Cafe, log into a computer, and enter ww w.littlelacysurprisepageant.com as a URL to get an instant five star wanted level as a pedophile.

LMAO...
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
GTA5 needs to be based in 2 cities. One, in Russia, Moskva, and with an an airport so you can "hyperspace" to Detroit. A bit of inflight entertainment as the new city maps load. Nice, two different cultures, completely different music, scenary, missions, russian mafia in moscow vs gangs and unions in detroit. Smuggle cocaine, diamond, hookers on the plane and through immigration. Bribe the officials. CANT WAIT.


You saw it on TPU first :)
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name H5N1
Processor i7 920 Apogee GTZ B Batch (20x201)
Motherboard DFI UT X58-T3eH8 Mips Coldzero WC
Cooling 3Loop GTX's: 2x240->VGA; 360 6xFans->CPU; 120->Mb,HD's
Memory Corsair Dominator 6Gb @ 1608 Cas8 w/2x Silenx 80mm 14dBA 32CFM Custom Coldzero Cooler
Video Card(s) Powercolor 4870X2 w/EK-FC4870 X2
Storage 6Tb's (2xVelociRaptor300 RAID 0 + Storage) w/2x Silenstar Quad Rev.2
Display(s) 2408WFP + 2407WFP-HC(+3007WFP-HC or 3008WFP soon)
Case Dual Lian Li V2000B
Audio Device(s) HDA Xplosion @ DTT3500 DDL
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000w
Software Vista x64 SP1 Ultimate
GTA5 needs to be based in 2 cities. One, in Russia, Moskva, and with an an airport so you can "hyperspace" to Detroit. A bit of inflight entertainment as the new city maps load. Nice, two different cultures, completely different music, scenary, missions, russian mafia in moscow vs gangs and unions in detroit. Smuggle cocaine, diamond, hookers on the plane and through immigration. Bribe the officials. CANT WAIT.


You saw it on TPU first :)
Actually i've seen it all over GTA IV Threads even before the launch of GTA IV on consoles. :laugh:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.

nice :)
I hope I can find her in the GTA4 hotel! :roll:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
People running rivatuner experiencing texture problems, make sure you upgrade to the newest version of rivatuner released today, it appearently fixes some texture issues with GTA:IV.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,908 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,003
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
That was eff'in hilarious!


So... I went out eating with Roman and I had to take him back to his apartment. I got my Turismo and Comet parked in front of Roman's apartment so the drop off point is mostly blocked. I thought, yeah, he'll just do one of those magical relocating acts and spawn outside of the car, no problem. So I park with the his door right next to the Turismo. And then he punches me right in the face with a right hook! :roll: I fall out of the car and he slides over to my seat swearing. Then he got out of the car like nothing happened.

I'm gonna try it again. XD
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
That was eff'in hilarious!


So... I went out eating with Roman and I had to take him back to his apartment. I got my Turismo and Comet parked in front of Roman's apartment so the drop off point is mostly blocked. I thought, yeah, he'll just do one of those magical relocating acts and spawn outside of the car, no problem. So I park with the his door right next to the Turismo. And then he punches me right in the face with a right hook! :roll: I fall out of the car and he slides over to my seat swearing. Then he got out of the car like nothing happened.

I'm gonna try it again. XD
Careful with that, I've noticed that with the Roman side missions like that, after you return him to his apartment it autosaves. If you load from that autosave, your cars will be gone.:eek: It happened to me all the time in the PS3 version, I don't know about the PC version.

I got in the habit of getting out of my car after dropping him off, and getting into each one of the cars I had parked there, then saving again by running up into the apartment and sleeping.