• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTS 250 or HD 4850 or anyother???

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Upon looking they are hard as heck to find. How much are 945's and 810's?

EDIT:

810's are roughly $190 USD
945's are roughly $220 USD
 

mav2000

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
451 (0.14/day)
Likes
53
Location
Bangalore, India
System Name Project [E]
Processor 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Custom Water cooled
Memory 8 GB Gskill 2400 @ CL 11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6950 unlocked
Storage 120 GB OCZ/1 TB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Benq Full HD
Case Coolermaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 850W Antec HCP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Not yet launched in India.
 

Pop

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
India
Dragon Platform :cool:

(All prices are in INR. 1$=50Rs)

Phenom II X4 920 2.8 Ghz - 10,500
Biostar TA790GX A2+ 5.x -5,700(form factor ATX 305*205mm)
Palit or XFX ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB DDR3 256Bit - 8,500
Corsair DDR 2(2 X 2GB DDR2 800MhZ C5)- 2,600
Western Digital Sata 2 500 GB (16 MB Buffer) - 2875
DVD writer Samsung 20x SATA SH-203B-1200
Zebronics (Bijli,Vivah) or UMAX(Garuda,Gladiator,Terminator,Alien,Armour,Warrior,Thermo casing) without Psu Local but cool looking - 1250
Corsair vx450-3800 or Tagan TG500-U37 SMPS-3525(600W max) 500W -3525
Samsung LCD 19 '' 943NWX-7500
Creative Inspire 4.1 Spkrs M4400 2400
Logitech Multimedia-Wired Keyboard-400
Logitech Optical-350
APC 500VA 2150
Epson All In One 2800 -3750

Total-->950$

Going to order by April 20th. Wat do you think of this rig?
 

mav2000

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
451 (0.14/day)
Likes
53
Location
Bangalore, India
System Name Project [E]
Processor 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Custom Water cooled
Memory 8 GB Gskill 2400 @ CL 11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6950 unlocked
Storage 120 GB OCZ/1 TB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Benq Full HD
Case Coolermaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 850W Antec HCP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
All nice super pricing and super stuff,but ditch the bijli and all the other crap cases you have mentioned and go for a CM 590, will cost you abt 3.5-3.8k or go for the 33x series which is cheaper and not as good as the 590. With the 590 you will not regret it and will not have any issues of over heating. Add two high CFM fans to it and your done as far as cooling is required.

For CPU cooling I would suggest OCZ Vendetta 2 at 2.5-2.7k. Thats all the changes I see.
 

Pop

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
India
Does the case thing really matter? I was looking for great looking cases under 2K(under a tight budget). Umax cases look so cool and comes with 3 LED stock fans. So thought I would choose that
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Looks great man! Enjoy :D
I would get the palit 4850, but that's just me.
 

mav2000

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
451 (0.14/day)
Likes
53
Location
Bangalore, India
System Name Project [E]
Processor 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Custom Water cooled
Memory 8 GB Gskill 2400 @ CL 11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6950 unlocked
Storage 120 GB OCZ/1 TB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Benq Full HD
Case Coolermaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 850W Antec HCP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Ok...had a zebby antibiotic which is one of the better local cases in the market and the stock led fans that came with it sucked big time, and no they didnt suck any air. So I would suggest you get a slightly better cabinet if you want good case airflow, which I am sure you will need if you plan to run that config nice and cool. I have a pic of the old one and new cabinet in my case gallery so go have a look there and you will get a few ideas. Among the local cases the only one I think is decent is the B2 from zebby which is ok, but would need more fans to keep it cool. Should cost around 2.3k -2.5k or so.

As for DDR3- you will have to change your mobo choice and the Asus M4A series is nice, but ill cost you close to 9-10k.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
I have a 4850 1gb and it's a demon. By far one of the best cards that I have ever owned, so I would recommend the 4850.
 

Pop

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
India
Just a little question out of point


Would it be enough if I change the motherboard later on to support ddr3 ram? Wouldn't 920 fit in with that chipset then?
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
Just a little question out of point


Would it be enough if I change the motherboard later on to support ddr3 ram? Wouldn't 920 fit in with that chipset then?
pop,

The Phenom II X4 810, and Phenom II X3 720 both support DDR2 and DDR3.

You do not have to wait for the Phenom II X4 955, the above two will do the job.

I'd stick with DDR2, PC8500 on a regular AM2/AM2+ board and then move to a AM3 motherboard with DDR3 in a year or two when prices come down.
 

Pop

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
India
Sorry for being a noob.

"An AM3 motherboard has 938 pins.
An AM2/+ processor like the 940/920 has 940 pins.
A 940 pin proc won't fit in a socket with 938 pins.

Moreover, the PII 920/940 don't have a DDR3 controller either. These processors were released so that people with AM2 motherboards could upgrade without having to change platforms."

I just read this in a forum. So If I buy 920 or 940 processor I cannot upgrade to DDR3 when the price comes down. Right?


Also how much would the 810 processor cost around? Is 925 having AM3 socket?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
925 is AM3, 810's are good but they have low cache and a low multi. Tellin you.. Grab a 720 or 925.
 

Pop

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
India
925 is AM3, 810's are good but they have low cache and a low multi. Tellin you.. Grab a 720 or 925.
So 720 proccy is better than 810 one? How much would the 925 processor cost around?


So Phenom II 920 was actually a bad choice because it was not future proof. :wtf:
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
720 is better than the 810, it has more cache but it's missing a core. 925's are gonna be the same price as the 920, maybe a little more.
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
So If I buy 920 or 940 processor I cannot upgrade to DDR3 when the price comes down. Right?

The Phenom II 920/940 CPUs can only be put into AM2/AM2+ motherboards.
The Phenom II 810, 925, 955 and 720 BE can be put into AM2/AM2+/AM3 boards

However, there is a small exception.

There are a few AM3 motherboards on the market which can accept DDR2 modules and as a result can take all the Phenom II line up, 920/940 810, 925, 955 and 720 BE etc (exception which is rare)

Also how much would the 810 processor cost around? Is 925 having AM3 socket?

The Phenom II 810 should be cheaper than the 920 in most countries.


If money is an issue get the 720 BE


Edit:


Thanks mavv, Darren

How much would DDR3 2 gb Ram kits cost?
It varies country to country.

You will have to check your local prices. We can only give you UK and US prices.

Don't bother with DDR3, get DDR2 PC8500 and worry about DDR3 in a year or two when prices drop.

I would advise 4 GBs of ram opposed to 2 GBs.
 
Last edited:

mav2000

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
451 (0.14/day)
Likes
53
Location
Bangalore, India
System Name Project [E]
Processor 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Custom Water cooled
Memory 8 GB Gskill 2400 @ CL 11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6950 unlocked
Storage 120 GB OCZ/1 TB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Benq Full HD
Case Coolermaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 850W Antec HCP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
My advice pop, forget everything get a 720BE and then look at a AM3 board and DDR3 probably a year down the line when they are more mainstream. Most applications run a bit faster on the 720 BE than the 810, cause most applications are not meant for multi threading rite now.
 

Pop

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
India
My advice pop, forget everything get a 720BE and then look at a AM3 board and DDR3 probably a year down the line when they are more mainstream. Most applications run a bit faster on the 720 BE than the 810, cause most applications are not meant for multi threading rite now.

Thanks mavv, Darren

Wats multithreading? How much would DDR3 2 gb Ram kits cost?