• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Yes, thats exactly what I found. In order to maintain the same quality settings on a 9800gtx as my gtx280, my cpu usaged shot up. I'm back on my 280 now, and cpu usage has gone way back down, especially when I use lots of aa like in crysis warhead with 16x aa....
 

AznGouki

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I just tried modifying my voltages on Nibitor and the Voltage IC is grey'd out. Am I doing something wrong or missing a step or can I not modify the bios on my evga gtx 260 sc?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
133 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6750 @ 2.66ghz (3.7 in a few weeks)
Motherboard gigabyte p35 ds3L
Cooling thermalright ultra 120 extreme
Memory kingston 2gb kit (crucial ballistix 2x1gb in a few weeks)
Video Card(s) palit gtx 260 sonic 216sp 55nm
Storage 3 x 1.5tb seagate
Display(s) philips 24" IPS pw9eb (1920x1200)
Case CM centurion 5
Power Supply seasonic-x 650w
Software windows 7 32bit
I just tried modifying my voltages on Nibitor and the Voltage IC is grey'd out. Am I doing something wrong or missing a step or can I not modify the bios on my evga gtx 260 sc?
i dont think you're allowd to mod voltage on the 55nm 260s cus they no longer have the volterra chip.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,634
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Top one looks like GTX275 PCB and bottom GTX260 55nm PCB. Well doesn't look like, but are :)
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
1,003 (0.24/day)
Likes
156
System Name [Primary Workstation]
Processor Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield @ 3.8GHz/4.55GHz [24-7/Bench]
Motherboard EVGA X58 E758-A1 [Tweaked right!]
Cooling Cooler Master V8 [stock fan + two 133CFM ULTRA KAZE fans]
Memory 12GB [Kingston HyperX]
Video Card(s) constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer nVidia]
Storage constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer Hitachi/Samsung]
Display(s) Triple LCD [40 inch primary + 32 & 28 inch auxiliary displays]
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 [Mesh Mod, CFM Overload]
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 + onboard Realtek ALC889A [Logitech Z-5300 Spk., Niko 650-HP 5.1 Hp., X-Bass Hp.]
Power Supply Corsair TX950W [aka Reactor]
Software This and that... [All software 100% legit and paid for, 0% pirated]
Benchmark Scores Ridiculously good scores!!!
Anyone know of any single slot GTX 260's, other than that Galaxy "Razor" card that seems to be impossible to track down? I sold my dual GTX 280's and went back dual GTX 260 again (Got PNY parts this time). I got an offer I couldn't refuse from some international buyers. Going back to 260's I pocketed nearly $250 in profits after the shipping fees took their toll. So I figure I can use the profits for another GTX 260.

I want to get a third GTX just for benching, before I dump all three for Fermi parts next month, but my Xonar card limits me to a single slot card for the third one. I know I could get a random GTX 260 and slap one of those slim water blocks on it, but that seems excessively complicated.
 

Retro*

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
39
Processor 2500K
Motherboard Asus M4E
Memory Corsair Doms
Video Card(s) 7950 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 830 256GB
Display(s) Acer X223w
Case TJ07
Power Supply XFX Seasonic OEM 1250
Software W7 64 Pro
What is considered a good overclock for a GTX 275 with just the standard cooling?
When I had the stock cooler and was using one 275, I was able to run EVGA's FTW clocks of
713/1512/1260 without any problem. This was a good 24/7 stable overclock so I flashed the bios to the EVGA FTW bios.
Beyond that, with the stock cooler I could run 730/1600/1275 without errors.
With AC Acceleros fitted, I can now run the card(s) at 743/1615/1282 for benching.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
What is considered a good overclock for a GTX 275 with just the standard cooling?
When I had the stock cooler and was using one 275, I was able to run EVGA's FTW clocks of
713/1512/1260 without any problem. This was a good 24/7 stable overclock so I flashed the bios to the EVGA FTW bios.
Beyond that, with the stock cooler I could run 730/1600/1275 without errors.
With AC Acceleros fitted, I can now run the card(s) at 743/1615/1282 for benching.
That seems about right, I remember not being able to push much more than 750-760 on the core. Really a shame you cant up the voltage to boost the clocks. My FTW clocks are much more than I really need, so I dont overclock my G200's. Unless I'm benching. :p
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
I'm at 720/1530/1260 at the moment, 5 hrs crysis stable, 10 hours call of duty 4, and I've tried my other games as well. Temps never go over 74......My only peeve is running the fan constantly at 75% as I'm worried of overheating. Would running on auto hold the overclock or should I just run the fan at 75% constantly. The performance difference with the OC is astounding even at my low res :)
 

Retro*

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
39
Processor 2500K
Motherboard Asus M4E
Memory Corsair Doms
Video Card(s) 7950 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 830 256GB
Display(s) Acer X223w
Case TJ07
Power Supply XFX Seasonic OEM 1250
Software W7 64 Pro
That seems about right, I remember not being able to push much more than 750-760 on the core. Really a shame you cant up the voltage to boost the clocks. My FTW clocks are much more than I really need, so I dont overclock my G200's. Unless I'm benching. :p
Same here, I find the FTW clock speeds to be high enough for any gaming, I only bump them for Vantage runs. I did notice that the EVGA FTW bios has a slightly higher 3D voltage than the SC bios, the specs. are listed at TPU's bios download section.

I'm at 720/1530/1260 at the moment, 5 hrs crysis stable, 10 hours call of duty 4, and I've tried my other games as well. Temps never go over 74......My only peeve is running the fan constantly at 75% as I'm worried of overheating. Would running on auto hold the overclock or should I just run the fan at 75% constantly. The performance difference with the OC is astounding even at my low res :)
Nice clocks, looks very stable.
I run the AC Acceleros mounted on both 275's at 100% fan speed. When I was running the stock coolers, I ran the fan at 100% speed permanently on the cards, as I have done for the last few years with the various generations of Nvidia cards. Does the noise level prevent you from running yours at 100%? If it does than I guess you have to leave it at a comfortable speed. I never run the cards on auto as the fan doesn't always ramp up enough when needed.
 
Last edited:

Triton.se

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
235 (0.07/day)
Likes
12
System Name Hendrix Inside
Processor Q9650 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard EP45 UD3P v1.1 F10
Cooling TRUE Black
Memory OCZ Blade PC9200 2x2GB Low Voltage
Video Card(s) SLI @ MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB
Storage Samsung F1 1TB
Display(s) Dell SP2309W (23", 2048x1152)
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC889A
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (SLI Patch 0.9b + 260.99)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage (Performance) P25000 (s775, SLI GTX260 216SP) ..|.. 3DMark Vantage (High) H24045 (s77
Comparing my old SLI GTX260 max OC'd results vs Core i7 @ 5.5GHz and GTX480 under LN2

Gigabyte EP45 UD3P (2x 8x PCI-e 2.0@SLI), Q9650 @ 4.25GHz, Mem 1133MHz, SLI GTX260 @ 729/1512/1260@1.05v, Windows 7 x64 RC1 - SLI Hacked



Core i7 @ 5.5GHz and GTX480 under LN2

link to the GTX480@LN2 thread: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=248303

Noway I'm in a hurry getting a toaster!
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,634
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
Comparing my old SLI GTX260 max OC'd results vs Core i7 @ 5.5GHz and GTX480 under LN2

Gigabyte EP45 UD3P (2x 8x PCI-e 2.0@SLI), Q9650 @ 4.25GHz, Mem 1133MHz, SLI GTX260 @ 729/1512/1260@1.05v, Windows 7 x64 RC1 - SLI Hacked
http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=30547&stc=1&d=1258055908


Core i7 @ 5.5GHz and GTX480 under LN2
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/4645/vantagek.jpg
link to the GTX480@LN2 thread: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=248303

Noway I'm in a hurry getting a toaster!
Yep!! Ironically power usage is about the same haha... I was looking forward to the gtx 470, but I have the same results as you, and there is no way I would give up these puppies for the same performance and the same power consumption and a -$300.

SLI makes things last so long. I got these cards ages ago, and they will still serve me well untill the 6800/500 series or until 5850 prices fall under $150.
 

Triton.se

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
235 (0.07/day)
Likes
12
System Name Hendrix Inside
Processor Q9650 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard EP45 UD3P v1.1 F10
Cooling TRUE Black
Memory OCZ Blade PC9200 2x2GB Low Voltage
Video Card(s) SLI @ MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB
Storage Samsung F1 1TB
Display(s) Dell SP2309W (23", 2048x1152)
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC889A
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (SLI Patch 0.9b + 260.99)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage (Performance) P25000 (s775, SLI GTX260 216SP) ..|.. 3DMark Vantage (High) H24045 (s77
I'm curious to see models under GTX470, say 750MB RAM and fewer shaders. Those OC'd in SLI could be fun with anything lower than the 30" rez 2560x... 5850@xfire kicks butts....
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
http://www.semiaccurate.com/2010/04/08/nvidia-misses-gtx470480-launch-targets/


Charlie was correct again :D


With other sources calling nvidia a mafia clan:

It may actually be worse than Charlie stated in his article. An Austrian computer shop had this to say (in German):
http://www.semiaccurate.com/2010/03/23/nvidia-forces-garbage-those-wanting-gtx480s/

Short summary: That shop obviously tried to order cards from three Nvidia board partners, with one of which he has been in commercial relations for years. The offers he received were:
Manufacturer A: For each GTX470 card, 10 additional products must be purchased; for each GTX 480 card, 20 additional products must be purchased.
So for a batch of 20 each, you have to buy 600 shelf-warmers!
Manufacturer B: Same as A, but in a more friendly tone (we believe a sensible relationship can be built, but not for the new cards only...)
Manufacturer C (the one he had been doing business before): It will be possible to ship those cards without bundles with older products, but only from the 4th delivery onwards. The manufacturer himself had not received deliveries 1 to 3 then.

No wonder he compares Nvidia to a mafia-clan.
 
Last edited:

Vitaliy69

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Russia, Tver
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Motherboard Asus P5Q
Memory 4 * 2Gb DDR 800 MHz
Video Card(s) Leadtek GTX 260 Extreme+
Storage 320 + 640 Gb SATA 2
Power Supply Hiper 530 W
Software Windows 7 x64, Ubuntu 9.10 x64
- The max GPU:SHADER ratio is 1:2, i.e. 700GPU is the maximum OC-able with 1400Shaders.
Is it true? Why does all hardware's vendors not follow by this rule?

I have 660 Mhz at GPU and 1400 MHz at shaders (GTX 260 SP216). Will be best to change shaders to 1320 Mhz?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
I guess it had been put for safety back in the day ,gt200 gpu and shader speed can be clocked separetly ,dont worry.
No you dont need change your shaders
Is it true? Why does all hardware's vendors not follow by this rule?

I have 660 Mhz at GPU and 1400 MHz at shaders (GTX 260 SP216). Will be best to change shaders to 1320 Mhz?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Kind of a dumb question here, but I have one single sli bridge, and can only get single bridges from ncix( or a tri ready for $30??). Can I just use 2 singles to sli 2 gtx260s?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
That's no help! Now I'm reading that the one single bridge will do for 2 cards. I hope that's right. And no, I've never done sli before.....
Edit: never mind, one is all I need.