• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
488 (0.15/day)
Likes
33
guys..I am planning to get a gtx 260 (216 core)...resolution - 1920 x 1080 & i Just need 2 or 4 AA max in games...is it a good choice? (I don't need dx11...so no ati ...plz)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Even when I have to use only one GTX260 216, I get great performance. Of course it helps to OC. I can run my main card at 702\1512, the secondary at 660\1452 for now until I get it bios modded. When in sli mode, my 2 216s power through anything I throw at them! Can it run Crysis, dam right it can! Sli 470s are the next step up. If you can afford them!
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
the 260 216 is a nice card it ran any game i played at 45fps and up. i was getting 55fps in BFBC2 at maxxed out settings 192X1080. maximum AA etc
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
god damn it!!! my driver crash errors are back! now on my GTX280. its been happeneing ever since my new windows install and I cant for the life of me figure out why! it was working finewith the stock cooler then i went to water it was fine, fresh windows install on my SSD now problems occur. im gonna be getting another stock cooler soon so we will see if its maybe the ddr3 chips overheating but it happens usually when running gpu grid or benches sometimes 2d enviroment to. but the vregs are not overheating i just dont get why. im thniknig it has to do with pci-e speed but with clarkdale that clock cannot be manipulated
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,226 (0.37/day)
Likes
148
Location
The Netherlands
System Name Silent allround
Processor i5 750 @ 3,0Ghz 1.04v / 3.4Ghz 1.11v/ 3,6Ghz 1.15v
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-USB3
Cooling Thermalright IFX-14 + Scythe Slip Stream 140mm @ 600RPM
Memory 2 x 4GB Samsung M378B5273DH0-CH9 @ 2000 MHz 9-10-10-27 T1
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5870 Vapor-X @ 940/1270
Storage Intel Postville 80GB SSD & Western Digital Green 2TB
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2412M
Case Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2 with Unified Drivers
Power Supply Nexus NX-5000 R3 530W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Super pi 1M : 8,549s @ 4,7Ghz (Core i7 920)
Hmm. Just set pci-e bus 100 MHz to be sure. also when does the driver crash? only in 2d/3d or when switching from 2d to 3d? maybe you should turn that feature off which switches your clock rates from 2d to 3d , i forgot how that's called but it's in the nvidia control panel. Also try to reinstall windows again or try a different pci-e slot.
 

Burgers

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Hmm. Just set pci-e bus 100 MHz to be sure. also when does the driver crash? only in 2d/3d or when switching from 2d to 3d? maybe you should turn that feature off which switches your clock rates from 2d to 3d , i forgot how that's called but it's in the nvidia control panel. Also try to reinstall windows again or try a different pci-e slot.
You can stop it from changing between 2D/3D clocks with Rivatuner. I'd try a bios update, see if that flushes out the problem, overclocking101.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
i need some help with a GTX280.

its got an arctic cooling ubercooler on it, but theres a problem...


the VRMs get so damn hot when running furmark, that the back of the card (the backplate) gets well over 100C (i'm too chicken to touch the VRM's directly) and the card crashes.

is there any known issues with 280's and furmark? is the 'Accelero XTREME GTX 280' an inferior cooler? or do i just have a dud card? (i got it and cooler free, since its overheating)


P.S - its fine at idle, just gets damned hot at load. previous owner used a 120mm fan blowing from rear of card to delay the crashes.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
Last edited:

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,949 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
There is a HUGE thread dediated to that cooler, iirc OnBoard created the thread with reviews, pictures, etc.

It's a great cooler, but yes the VRM cooling was a total failure. Same for the other solution at the time too (I think it was the Thermalright solution).

What OnBoard had done was cut the VRM section from the OE cooler and screwed it to the card. It cleared the AC Xtreme cooler fins, and had much better contact, along with a pretty dramatic drop in temps iirc.

I've never seen an issue or failure with Furmark and a GTX2xx card, doesn't mean it can't happen, but I can't imagine running Furmark all the time is a good idea regardless.

Edit, LAN_deRf beat me to it! Nice work! :toast:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
the problem i have, is that i dont have the stock cooler or any parts from it.

i'll have to look into those replacement VRM sinks
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
158 (0.06/day)
Likes
17
I can't seem to get even a drop more clock from the overvoltage. I managed to get 725-1515-1225 on stock voltages without a problem. I flashed the card several times. Starting out at 1.18V, 1.2V, 1.25, and then 1.360V. None help me achieve more than 725Mhz core clock. I'm running an MSI Geforce GTX260 65nm 192 core. I also noticed it can't handle anymore than 1515Mhz shader clock. I have the GPU Core Voltage at 1.360V and left the Voltage Regulator at 1.125V. Turning the voltage regulator up doesn't do anything to stability other than make it worst until the screen turns into a huge artifact. I then have to manually reset the computer without a problem. It's just ATITool artifacts at anything above 725Mhz core even with the 1.360V. What's up with this? I didn't change the voltage IC of 1.125V since that's the regulator voltage. What should i do EXACTLY????
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Ati tool doesn't work right any more, use Furmark to check for artifacts. I can get ati tool to show artifacts at proven stable clocks on my cards.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
158 (0.06/day)
Likes
17
what clock speeds are you achieving? and at what voltage specifications? Core voltage and Voltage Regulator Voltage. I can run through 3dmark vantage at 765mhz core 1530 shader 1225Mhz memory but no games will run for more than a minute before the driver fails. Metro 2033 especially. It runs great, like insanely amazing frame rates, but after a minute the screens goes black. Without anyway of correcting it, i reset the pc and following reset the Post was black. So i have to Hard power down, then restart and it's back to normal again. Only when running Metro 2033 does this happen. Scared the crap out of me last night!!! I was omg i'm an idiot for volt modding/ extreme overclocking this gfx card. Since it has modified bios, i supposed it's not impossible to simply reflash to the original bios, correct? for RMA purposes. Your thoughts about my issues are appreciated hugely!!!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
With a single card I can get 666/1566 stable. With sli, I seem to be stuck at 1512, but haven't actually tried lately to see if I get higher. I've only got 1.15 and 1.18v on the cards right now. I think trying to use 700 on the gpu core is too much, you'll get the shaders higher if you back it off to 666 ish. I think at 666 I might be able to do 1566 shader stable in sli. I've got 2 gtx285s coming, so I've kind of lost interest in the 260s.....
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
158 (0.06/day)
Likes
17
**johnspack**
POST YOUR VANTAGE SCORES ONCE YOU GET THOSE 285's UP AND RUNNING!!! I'de be really interested to see how much of a gain you will get with the cards running at stock speeds compared to overclocked GTX 260s.

I always wanna keep a 1:2 ratio for core clock and shader. It's seemed to work itself out in terms of running 3dmark vantage. 765Mhz Core 1530Mhz shader is 1:2 ratio. That's on a 1.25V core voltage and the stock 1.125V voltage regulator. Adjusting the voltage regulator has no effect on stability, it actually makes it less stable. I've found out that it can do 730Mhz Core and 1460Mhz Shader stable @ 1.25V. The crazy thing is i noticed 5fps increase at the 765mhz core 1530mhz shader in metro 2033 compared to 730mhz-1460mhz. It might just need 1.3V or 1.35V for stability.
**After overclocking this card to the limit, it really makes me wanna just say screw it and get a GTX 580. The only thing holding me back is money and my power supply. I just recently upgraded from a BFGTech 550W power supply to a Kingwin MKX-850W and will need to return the 850W and push for 1000W minimum. I calculated what power my system would need right now and with my gpu stock and 4ghz i7, it said i required 830W. With a stock GTX 580 I would need a 935W i believe. So i'll probably just go for a 1000-1200W just be 100% certain regarding stability.
**Oh yeah and i noticed people running the 216 core GTX 260 achieve 3d mark vantage gpu scores that outperform my overclock 192 core and overclocked they're quite a bit faster in terms of points. I believe the difference is a couple. No the less it shows how outdated this 65nm 192 Core GTX 260 is, right?!?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Your shader speed is more important than the core speed. Core speeds over 700 will mostly just make it less stable. Drop your core down to 666, and push the shaders up and see what fps you get then. I expect to get 740 or so on the 285s, but not on my 260s. One of my 216sp 260s is a 65nm, and it does as well as the 55nm one. I believe I can do 1580 shaders with the core at 666, but I'm not willing to push more volts into them, they are slated for my folding box so I don't want to kill them!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
158 (0.06/day)
Likes
17
Yeah i totally agree on the "you don't wanna kill them". I remapped the dynamics of the fan speed on the card so it never goes beyond 68C. I also didn't see hardly any difference what so ever with over volting the core. Maybe a couple degrees Celsius. I love how i have the dynamic fan speed though, I never have to touch rivatuner. It does it all automatically, and beautifully at that! It's so much quieter and cooler as well with the dynamics to try and maintain 68C under 100% load. Which is a good realistic temperature for this gpu. Oh yeah! i did some research today at work and i was comparing all the different gpu's. I've known this for a while but recently was pushing for the 580 but actually the best bang for your buck card is the 470. It outperforms the 285 and i love the 448 Cuda cores. I do a lot of encoding and i take use of the 192 cores on my 260. 448 of them is really gonna kick ass. That's 2.3 Times more Cuda cores! The best part is you can get them all day long on newegg for 250 bucks! I looked up the 285 and it's actually more expensive. That is unless your getting them used on ebay or something? I compared the 480, 470, and 285 on a benchmark review site and the 470 outperforms it in almost all aspects. Cool huh? I say u should push for 2 470s in SLI! I think sparkle gives a $20 mail in rebate if u buy 2 470s for 250 bucks a piece. Cool huh?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Yep, 285 sli will outperform a 470, and even a 480, but a single one, nope. But 2 used 285s are less than even a 470, so it's a poor man's solution. If you have the money, I'd go for the 570, I think that's probably the best bang for the buck in that range.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
158 (0.06/day)
Likes
17
The 570 is about $100 more than the 470. There are some huge improvements in terms of architecture and engineering and design. The 500 series was the correction of the incomplete design, or un-perfected 400 series if you will. It's about 3-5 fps faster over all, maybe 10-15 fps better on average fps, but minimum fps it's so close it doesn't make me wanna spend $350, ya know? For 250 bucks the 470 is a killer bang for your buck since it packs a hell of a punch for pretty cheap. If i can catch a 470 for closer to 200 bucks i'll probably jump on it. I get paid next week so i may just spontaneously buy it.

Read this... **** http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/foru...s/38626-nvidia-geforce-gtx-570-review-15.html

Regarding this GTX 260, idk but maybe the over voltage is causing the black screen under crazy load. I downloaded furmark and i was monitoring the gpu current. The most i've EVER seen it draw is 67-68 Amps. That's right, that's what AIDA64 reports from the GPU Power Current sensor.. weird huh? My cpu pulls 85 Amps when under load in intel burn test at maximum stress. So i put it under normal load in furmark, i didn't even touch the Extreme Burn in mode box.... I'm scared just looking at that box :/ .... So immediately i saw a near 90 AMP LOAD!!! on the gpu. Freaking insane. Pulled my 12v line waaaaay down. I have an 850W power supply that is rated at 70 Amps on the 12V line. It dropped down to 11.872V. That's pretty scary low. The craziest thing is the BFGTech 550W power supply i had before was rated at 36 Amps and it took the enormous load! 60 amps Avg on video card in game and around 30 amps on the cpu. 12v line would drop to 11.817V and the second it dropped below 11.8V it would just shut off. I could never run metro 2033 with the 550W since my computer would just turn off every time. That games kills a whole system. I'm running a 4Ghz Core i7 too. Anyway Furmark after a couple minutes made my screen go black just like metro! The exact same problem! so i thought, maybe it's these new 260.99 nvidia drivers. So i went back to the 258.96 which were known to be stable and the same thing happend. So i suppose the Over voltage, is actually making the system more unstable. Unusual huh? Just like cpus, voltage increases stability.. or so i thought? Anyway i'm going back to stock 1.12V Core voltage and see what happens. Oh yeah i'll stress it at the clock speeds you suggested. 666Mhz core and 1580Mhz Shader. What are your memory clocks at? I managed 1225Mhz perfectly stable just FYI. Later.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Yeah, guess you're right about the 470, very nice price point right now. I'd consider one if I didn't need a quad core cpu really bad right now. Well really, I'd need 2 for it to be an upgrade from 2 285s as I don't use dx10 or 11 yet. As for the 260s, I haven't bothered to push the memory past 1200. I think you'll need at least 1.15v for 1580 shaders however, I couldn't get close to it with 1.12v. Even 1.18 is safe. The 65nm is the same chip as the 280 which runs on 1.19, so I use that as a reference.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
I believe it was Tatty_One who told me to keep core under 700. He was right. At 666 core seems 1566 is stable for sli. Can't wait to play with my 285s, upto 750 core, 1700 shaders, not that I'll get that high, but sure want to try!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
158 (0.06/day)
Likes
17
Yeah, i can't wait to get the Fermi GTX 470! That things gonna tear my GTX 260 a new one! I believe 1 GTX 580 out performs GTX 285 SLI. I suppose the GTX 470 should come close with a huge overclock!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Actually, 2 gtx285 still beat a gtx580. In dx11, that's another story!