1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gtx 280 & Core i7 920 weird speeds

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by oinkypig, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    302 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Alright so right now im running Windows Vista Ultimate x64 with:
    1-Asus P6T deluxe
    2-Core i7 920 stock
    3-BFG O/C gtx280
    I have everest ultimate edition and it says that the gtx280 in 3d performace mode runs the clocks at these speeds.
    1-Core-615Mhz
    2-Memory-1107Mhz
    3-Shader-1350Mhz
    The gtx280 SHOULD be running the memory at
    1-Core-615Mhz
    2-Memory-2214Mhz
    3-Shader-1350Mhz
    I noticed 1107 is 1/2 of the 2214 speed. Is it multiplied by 2 in order to achieve the 2214 clock? Also ive noticed that my Coire i7 920 runs at 1.6Ghz rather than 2.66Ghz. I sometimes see it jump up and down in the clock. Is that normal? When idle does it run 1.6 and when being used for performance it jumps to 2.66?
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,136
    Those are all energy-saving features.
    Don't worry, it's normal.
    And your computer will be squeezing out performance when you need it to. It just lowers itself as an energy saving feature (ie you don't need all the power of a core i7 and 280GTX while browsing the net, but run a game or benchmark and everything'd go on max) :)
     
  3. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    302 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Thanks for the fast reply!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    2d clock speeds. It's normal. When the load increases, the memory speed does too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Double your memory speed to get your "effective" speed.

    And all modern CPU's clock down to save power.
     
  6. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Is it true that ALL x58 boards support both NVIDIA and ATI cards?
     
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Yes, both SLI and Crossfire
     
  8. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I'm going with NVIDIA when I go Core i7.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)