• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

gtx 460 1gb sli bottleneck x4 b55 @3.6ghz

m32500

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name budget build
Processor x2 555 be unlocked x4 b55 @3.6ghz
Motherboard msi 870a-g54
Cooling sunbeam cool contact freezer
Memory 8gig ddr3
Video Card(s) gtx 460's 1gb in sli
Storage 500gb primary and 2tb
Display(s) 23" 1080p
Case rosewill chalenger
Power Supply 700w seasonic SS-700HM
Software windows 7 64
#1
pretty much like the title says ,I'm going sli once my new case comes in and i worried about bottlenecking the cpu in game like metro 2033 and BF3 ,any advice or opinions.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#2
Just install second card and have fun , with x4 at 3.7ghz you have at the limit (for your system ) pretty much i guess .People reported BF3 can played at maxed settings with gtx460 sli at 1920*1080.

Check this for metro 2033 http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Phenom_II_X4_980/9.html x4 975 runs at 3.6 ghz just like your cpu and gives good performance .

I think you are good for both games (anyway there is nothing you can do without buying a new motherboard and an intel cpu ,you may buy anytime you need .I think you are at the limit for amd platform pretty much ,excluding overclocking a bit more )

Play your game and have fun :toast:

PS:Im not a fps player
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Just install second card and have fun
^This. Don't worry about it until you get it setup. Then if you are having issues, we can try to find a fix. I will say that with AMD and dual gpu configurations you will want to overclock the CPU/NB. Just wait until you reach that time.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
283 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
Portugal
System Name MSIGameRig
Processor Intel 4670k @ 4.2 [1.21v]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Cooling EK XTX 360+240 Rad´s
Memory Corsair 16GB Dominator Plat.2800C11 DDR3 @ 2400Mhz CL11
Video Card(s) 2_WaySLI MSI Gaming_OC GTX770
Storage [RAID0] Corsair Neutron SSD 240GB / WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dual Samsung HS24" 1920x1080 [2ms]
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 HD
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I dont care about bench, just want the max fps possible @ DX11 with extreme AA/AF
#4
No worries it will run everything just fine.

Mine 955 runs BF3, Metro, MW3, Crysis2 [DX11/Pack] @ 1920x1080 Full AA/AF with no problems.
I have two GTX470 and "bottleneck" doesn't exist.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Yea BF3 doesnt rely much on CPU but more on ram and Vram.
 

m32500

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name budget build
Processor x2 555 be unlocked x4 b55 @3.6ghz
Motherboard msi 870a-g54
Cooling sunbeam cool contact freezer
Memory 8gig ddr3
Video Card(s) gtx 460's 1gb in sli
Storage 500gb primary and 2tb
Display(s) 23" 1080p
Case rosewill chalenger
Power Supply 700w seasonic SS-700HM
Software windows 7 64
#6
thanks for the reply's. well ill see how it goes with sli, i just don't want to get the upgrade bug for awhile.from what you said it seems my only loss will be lack of vram .BF3 is the main reason for me to upgrade along with skyrim i just said metro 2033 because i knew it put a toll on the cpu. currently i play metro on medium and some high settings to get good frame rates all the time.2gig vram wasn't really needed for 1080p gaming when i first got my 460,seems like games now starting to push pass 1gig limit now.
 

m32500

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name budget build
Processor x2 555 be unlocked x4 b55 @3.6ghz
Motherboard msi 870a-g54
Cooling sunbeam cool contact freezer
Memory 8gig ddr3
Video Card(s) gtx 460's 1gb in sli
Storage 500gb primary and 2tb
Display(s) 23" 1080p
Case rosewill chalenger
Power Supply 700w seasonic SS-700HM
Software windows 7 64
#7
well i just put in my second gtx 460 for sli and all i can say is wow.skyrim ultra smooth as butter!!thank god i took a chance with a second card not knowing if the sli patch would work with my board and it does just fine.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#8
thanks for the reply's. well ill see how it goes with sli, i just don't want to get the upgrade bug for awhile.from what you said it seems my only loss will be lack of vram .BF3 is the main reason for me to upgrade along with skyrim i just said metro 2033 because i knew it put a toll on the cpu. currently i play metro on medium and some high settings to get good frame rates all the time.2gig vram wasn't really needed for 1080p gaming when i first got my 460,seems like games now starting to push pass 1gig limit now.
The only game that will really stress your CPU is BF3. But saying that your Phenom II X4 @ 3.6GHz should be absolutely fine.

If you are looking for an excuse to upgrade there is nothing wrong with dropping in a Phenom II X6 or Bulldozer 8 core but I don't think you'll need it.
 

m32500

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name budget build
Processor x2 555 be unlocked x4 b55 @3.6ghz
Motherboard msi 870a-g54
Cooling sunbeam cool contact freezer
Memory 8gig ddr3
Video Card(s) gtx 460's 1gb in sli
Storage 500gb primary and 2tb
Display(s) 23" 1080p
Case rosewill chalenger
Power Supply 700w seasonic SS-700HM
Software windows 7 64
#9
i could always overclock my cpu further i just like 3.6 probably would not go higher than 3.8 though had it stable at 3.8 before.any other upgrade would be to a i5 unless amd put out something close in comparison.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#10
i could always overclock my cpu further i just like 3.6 probably would not go higher than 3.8 though had it stable at 3.8 before.any other upgrade would be to a i5 unless amd put out something close in comparison.
I doubt you'd need to overclock it. You could probably leave the Phenom II X4 at stock and BF3 will still run fine.

The i5 would make no sense, you'd have to change motherboards as well. The cheapest and most feasible option is the Phenom II X6 and 8 core Bulldozer, both would perform as fast if not faster than the i5 in Battlefield 3.

 

m32500

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name budget build
Processor x2 555 be unlocked x4 b55 @3.6ghz
Motherboard msi 870a-g54
Cooling sunbeam cool contact freezer
Memory 8gig ddr3
Video Card(s) gtx 460's 1gb in sli
Storage 500gb primary and 2tb
Display(s) 23" 1080p
Case rosewill chalenger
Power Supply 700w seasonic SS-700HM
Software windows 7 64
#11
i could not find one review favoring the new amd chips.does BF3 take adantage of having for than 4 cores?
so now it looks like my next upgrade might be a new cpu and after that will be a new video card not until the new gtx 600 series are out and price dropped!and of coarse one with 2gb vram
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#12
^

i could not find one review favoring the new amd chips.does BF3 take adantage of having for than 4 cores?
^ Look above. I linked a review from Hard OCP! BF3 is one of the few games which can utilise the threads, yes. Hence why AMD Pulls ahead in multithreaded activity. On balance single threaded games /activity will favour the Intels i-serieS.

so now it looks like my next upgrade might be a new cpu and after that will be a new video card not until the new gtx 600 series are out and price dropped!and of coarse one with 2gb vram
Might also be worth noting that the Bulldozer 8 core is expecting to be revamped with a C0 stepping early Q1 2012, AMD Piledriver is late Q1 2012.

The 460 SLI is plenty for a year or two, you dont need to always have the latest and greatest. Let the games catch up lol.
 

m32500

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name budget build
Processor x2 555 be unlocked x4 b55 @3.6ghz
Motherboard msi 870a-g54
Cooling sunbeam cool contact freezer
Memory 8gig ddr3
Video Card(s) gtx 460's 1gb in sli
Storage 500gb primary and 2tb
Display(s) 23" 1080p
Case rosewill chalenger
Power Supply 700w seasonic SS-700HM
Software windows 7 64
#13
yeah im not planning on upgrading for awhile now,i just had the bug and wanted to upgrade and i like the sound of doing a sli patch kinda like unlocking my cores on my cpu but with my motherboard.