• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTX 460 SLI issue?

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#1
I'm currently running two GTX 460's 768mb in SLI. For the most part things are working great but I do have one issue. In games like Dirt 2 and Dragon Age when there are many particles (dirt, smoke, etc) present I'm getting a noticable slowdown in FPS. The only thing I can think that may be causing this is a lack of video memory but then again I would think that 768mb would be sufficient for 1920x1200. Is this the case or can someone else who may be running this setup give me another suggestion as what the problem is?

Thanks! :toast:
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#2
What do you mean by 'noticeable loss'?

I can see that 768MB could be low for 1920x1200, from what I've seen at least 1GB is beneficial at those resolutions.

How is performance with just a single card?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
What do you mean by 'noticeable loss'?

I can see that 768MB could be low for 1920x1200, from what I've seen at least 1GB is beneficial at those resolutions.

How is performance with just a single card?
Dirt 2 for example can go from nice high framerates (Mid-80's ish and higher) to somewhere in the mid 40's. This causes the games to slow down considerably especially making it difficult for a racing game. Same thing happens with a single card. When heavy particles aren't present the framerates remain high and solid, gameplay is smooth. So, I suppose it could be the memory doing it, but I've had many 512mb cards that never had this issue with many particles present.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#4
I'm currently running two GTX 460's 768mb in SLI. For the most part things are working great but I do have one issue. In games like Dirt 2 and Dragon Age when there are many particles (dirt, smoke, etc) present I'm getting a noticable slowdown in FPS. The only thing I can think that may be causing this is a lack of video memory but then again I would think that 768mb would be sufficient for 1920x1200. Is this the case or can someone else who may be running this setup give me another suggestion as what the problem is?

Thanks! :toast:
Which driver are you using bud??? I can tell you that with mine certain drivers didn't do as well as others with the particles and such. For benching I used the latest 260.89 and 260.63 drives but after I was done doing the for awhile I found out I got better performance in gaming and the like when I reverted back to the 258.96 drivers.

My cards especially did not like the AVP/ Dirt 2/ and Just cause 2. But when rolled back the drivers the problems went away for the most part. Especially in Dirt 2 and AVP. Just cause 2 still was having a little bit of issues but I think that is just how that game is.

I play at a similar res to you....1920x1080 and I did studies with MSI AB's info status on the top. Two cards with 768MB never got maxed out with memory. The closest I saw it come was 1300 something.

Hope this helps bro :)

What do you mean by 'noticeable loss'?

I can see that 768MB could be low for 1920x1200, from what I've seen at least 1GB is beneficial at those resolutions.

How is performance with just a single card?
__________________
What he is talking about in Dirt 2 for example when there are allot of cars around you kicking up dirt you will get almost like a Prolonged micro stutter. Were your FPS will go from 80 to 25.... and choppy. Or when you are taking a turn around a corner and allot of dirt smoke and tracks will get kicked up the same thing happens.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#5
I am also running 2 460 GTX 768MB in SLI but at 2560x1600 resolution. It is very likely that the limited memory is the problem. For instance, in Bad Company 2 at Hi setting + 1x AA, I'd get 50's-60's fps when moving around but as soon as big fire fights broke out, it dropped to 30's.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Which driver are you using bud??? I can tell you that with mine certain drivers didn't do as well as others with the particles and such. For benching I used the latest 260.89 and 260.63 drives but after I was done doing the for awhile I found out I got better performance in gaming and the like when I reverted back to the 258.96 drivers.

My cards especially did not like the AVP/ Dirt 2/ and Just cause 2. But when rolled back the drivers the problems went away for the most part. Especially in Dirt 2 and AVP. Just cause 2 still was having a little bit of issues but I think that is just how that game is.

I play at a similar res to you....1920x1080 and I did studies with MSI AB's info status on the top. Two cards with 768MB never got maxed out with memory. The closest I saw it come was 1300 something.

Hope this helps bro :)
Yeah, latest two sets of WHQL's have the same issue, I guess the RAM just isn't cutting it. :ohwell: I guess I can go back to my 5850 and just use these things as dedicated folders. :)

What he is talking about in Dirt 2 for example when there are allot of cars around you kicking up dirt you will get almost like a Prolonged micro stutter. Were your FPS will go from 80 to 25.... and choppy. Or when you are taking a turn around a corner and allot of dirt smoke and tracks will get kicked up the same thing happens.
Exactly the issue.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#7
I am also running 2 460 GTX 768MB in SLI but at 2560x1600 resolution. It is very likely that the limited memory is the problem. For instance, in Bad Company 2 at Hi setting + 1x AA, I'd get 50's-60's fps when moving around but as soon as big fire fights broke out, it dropped to 30's.
At that res I might agree with you but have you tried to watch your stats while in games..... 768MBx2 does not get used all that quickly.

Yeah, latest two sets of WHQL's have the same issue, I guess the RAM just isn't cutting it. I guess I can go back to my 5850 and just use these things as dedicated folders.
Before you do that look at your stats while in game though. The memory isn't really being used all that much though bud.

I mean you guys could still be right. the stats could not be that accurate. But my findings were that the memory wasn't getting used all that much.

I personally think nvidia is slacking on their drivers :(
 

SwagBlow

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#8
I can vouch that the 258 drivers work best for me as well...

In Dirt 2 on a GTX460 1GB I get really smooth framerates which never drop, so it could be memory

However I'm only running at 1280x1024, but still everything maxed out etc even at this res should still give it a run for it's money

It's this kinda problem that made me avoid getting anything less than 1GB on a video card, I just didn't wanna take the risk

I don't really know how the SLi works, but if it combines the memory of both cards then you should have more than enough :/
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
I can vouch that the 258 drivers work best for me as well...

In Dirt 2 on a GTX460 1GB I get really smooth framerates which never drop, so it could be memory

However I'm only running at 1280x1024, but still everything maxed out etc even at this res should still give it a run for it's money

It's this kinda problem that made me avoid getting anything less than 1GB on a video card, I just didn't wanna take the risk

I don't really know how the SLi works, but if it combines the memory of both cards then you should have more than enough :/
Unfortunately it doesn't combine the memory. 1280x1024 is quite low for resolution, but it reminds me that I should try at a lower resolution to see if the problem goes away. I'm guessing it will. :toast:

I personally think nvidia is slacking on their drivers :(
This could also be true since I've had better with cards with less ram than 768mb.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#10
Unfortunately it doesn't combine the memory. 1280x1024 is quite low for resolution, but it reminds me that I should try at a lower resolution to see if the problem goes away. I'm guessing it will. :toast:



This could also be true since I've had better with cards with less ram than 768mb.
Too bad I got to go to work now... but I will definitely check back later to see if that worked man. Good luck.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#11
try using the SLI enhancement packages,they usually add fixes for people that run SLI
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#12
try using the SLI enhancement packages,they usually add fixes for people that run SLI
Ah, I forgot about those. Do you get those from Nvidia or is that just an eVga thing?
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#13
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#14
OMG dude thanks for being my guinea pig here as I know all along I wanted 1GB SLI but couldn't wait to try a 460 in general and bought a used 768 at XS. So I have been tempted to just get another but having already run into similar things as you report (and chalking it up to probably needing more VRAM) I have held off. 768 in my past experience as well is just not quite enough for 1920x1200 in some scenarios esp if you like AA. In fact, backing down on the AA settings has helped remove those sudden FPS plummets it would seem so it all points to VRAM.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#15
OMG dude thanks for being my guinea pig here as I know all along I wanted 1GB SLI but couldn't wait to try a 460 in general and bought a used 768 at XS. So I have been tempted to just get another but having already run into similar things as you report (and chalking it up to probably needing more VRAM) I have held off. 768 in my past experience as well is just not quite enough for 1920x1200 in some scenarios esp if you like AA. In fact, backing down on the AA settings has helped remove those sudden FPS plummets it would seem so it all points to VRAM.
Yup. SLi enhancement patch didn't resolve the issue. Turning off AA does as well as lowering the resolution. All signs point to VRAM for sure. Bummer.

Thanks for the feedback everyone! :toast:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Leave MSI Afterburner or GPU-z running in the background while you play the game and monitor how much VRAM is being used. If you get up near that 768MB mark you can be assured that the card is starting to have to swap memory out to the system RAM, which will cause a noticeable performance hit. This way you will know for sure it is running out of VRAM.

I would think 768MB would be a little low for 1900x1200, especially with tessellation enabled.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#17
Those cards won't run Just Cause 2 at high res. I can't lock that game @ 60 FPS with my GTX 470s @ 1920x1200 res, 4xAA.

768MB should be sufficient for many games but ones like GTA IV or Oblivion that use all of your GPU RAM, it won't be. GTA IV uses almost all my GPU RAM when I max the settings. Would have gone with the 1GB model myself because 768MB is generally low for todays games.

Question: Does the EVGA SLI enhancement patch do anything besides add SLI to non SLI games?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,593 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#18
Pretty sure that was the achilles heel of my GTX 295. 1792 total memory but that was effectively 896 each 'chip' (being two GTX 275's on one board). Seems to be in some situations, at that resolution, 1GB per 'card' is required for enabling all the eye candy.

"768MB should be sufficient for many games but ones like GTA IV or Oblivion that use all of your GPU RAM, it won't be."

Yup, that hits it on the head for my issues.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#19
Those cards won't run Just Cause 2 at high res. I can't lock that game @ 60 FPS with my GTX 470s @ 1920x1200 res, 4xAA.
Max settings with 8xAA with two 5850's my frames would never drop below 60 FPS. These cards just don't seem to handle AA as well.

I actually find that these 460's run GTAIV better than my 5850's did. :/
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#20
Hmm.. profiles should be able to iron it out.

Must be a dual gpu thing again. Its insanely fast on some apps, but sometimes, a quirk or two may come up. I experienced framedrops from some titles back when I was on 260 SLi, although sli profiles would fix this, but by the time they release them profiles, I finished the game. Vowed just to keep single but fast gpu ever since.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#21
Hmm.. profiles should be able to iron it out.

Must be a dual gpu thing again. Its insanely fast on some apps, but sometimes, a quirk or two may come up. I experienced framedrops from some titles back when I was on 260 SLi, although sli profiles would fix this, but by the time they release them profiles, I finished the game. Vowed just to keep single but fast gpu ever since.
Nah, tested and it happens with a single card too. Obviously framerates are less overall than with the two cards, but the slowdowns still happen. I guess in this case 768mb simply is not enough for this resolution. Previously I wouldn't of thought this was the case but now I'm quite certain that it is with these cards.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#22
Max settings with 8xAA with two 5850's my frames would never drop below 60 FPS. These cards just don't seem to handle AA as well.

I actually find that these 460's run GTAIV better than my 5850's did. :/
I have water physics and bokeh filter on which drops the framerate at least 15 FPS. HD 5850 can't support those features as they are nvidia proprietary.

GTA IV is nvidia optimized.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#23
I have water physics and bokeh filter on which drops the framerate at least 15 FPS.
Seems to be a pretty useless feature if two 470's can't handle it. How does it work with those two settings off?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#24
Seems to be a pretty useless feature if two 470's can't handle it. How does it work with those two settings off?
Haven't tried it yet with it off, I always max my games before I play them in all features with as much AA as possible to still achieve 60 FPS. I'll try it here soon and update.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#25
Haven't tried it yet with it off, I always max my games before I play them in all features with as much AA as possible to achieve 60 FPS. I'll try it here soon and update.
Same here. Well, if you get a chance to try it with those two options disabled, let me know. :toast: