• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 560 "memorized" game screenshot and causes BSoD on Win 7/xp startup

Mafiozych

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
2 (0.02/day)
System Name Windows 7 64-bit
Processor Intel Core i5-2320 3 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8H67
Cooling Xilence M402 + additional Xilence fan
Memory 2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Display(s) LG 23MP48
Case EZCool NA-750R
Audio Device(s) Sven 314
Mouse A4Tech N-500F
Keyboard Sven Challenge 9500
Hello

A few days ago I installed Battlefield 1942, changed its display settings to 1920*1080*32 60 fps via some config (in-game settings didn't work), launched a battle and after 3 seconds of playing I caught BSoD and my PC rebooted itself. That happened in Windows 7 64-bit, I tried to start it again but got BSoD 0x116 nvlddmkm.sys after Win7 logo shown (there also were a few seconds of no signal state). Then I tried to launch Windows XP instead of 7 and saw a screenshot from the game! It was there during 20-30 seconds, then I got BSoD 0x8E nv4_isp.dll. I launched Win7 in Safe Mode, deleted NVIDIA drivers via Control Panel, rebooted my PC and logged in to Win7 successfully (but with a standard VGA adapter instead of GTX 560). I did the same thing with WinXP. Every time I install NVIDIA graphics drivers again (tried the oldest and newest versions) I get the same BSoD after rebooting. The situation is almost identical in both XP and 7, just error codes and files are different. Actually, there's one more: I get some artifacts (blue dots) on WinXP logo at the end of its appearance, then blue dots all over a black screen, some random colored dots all over the screen (I used to get game screenshot parts 2-3 times, but then I started to get those dots).

The fact that I launched BF1942 in Win7 and got a game screenshot in WinXP after rebooting makes me think that my GPU somehow memorized an image rendered once and can't get rid of it.

What I've already tried:
  • sfc /scannow - nothing found
  • chkdsk c: /f - nothing found
  • memtest86 with default settings - nothing found, my RAM is okay
  • reinstalled NVIDIA drivers for both 7 and XP multiple times (tried different versions) - BSoD when drivers are installed, no BSoD without them
  • nvflash'ed my GPU BIOS with the same BIOS version (70.24.21.00.00) and the newer one (70.24.36.00.00) - nothing changed at all
  • deleted nvlddmkm.sys from "c:/windows/system32/drivers/" right after installing NVIDIA drivers - no BSoD, but with a standard VGA adapter, just like if I had no NVIDIA drivers at all
  • reconnected my GPU and removed some dust - nothing changed

Sure, I can use my PC without NVIDIA drivers, but I can't change my screen resolution from default 4:3 to 16:9 and can't normally use 3D or FullHD video.

Looks like I have some serious hardware prolems with my GPU, but caused by just a game. How do I get it back to work normally? Even nvflash'ing didn't help. Is there any way to clear GPU's memory (or whatever it has)?

And yeah, even BSoD screen has some artifacts on it.

 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
1,041 (0.92/day)
Location
Pristina
System Name My PC
Processor 4670K@4.4GHz
Motherboard Gryphon Z87
Cooling CM 212
Memory 2x8GB+2x4GB @2400GHz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 1425MHz OC+, 8GB
Storage Intel 530 SSD 480GB + Intel 510 SSD 120GB + 2x500GB hdd raid 1
Display(s) HP envy 32 1440p
Case CM Mastercase 5
Audio Device(s) Sbz ZXR
Power Supply Antec 620W
Mouse G502
Keyboard G910
Software Win 10 pro
Your gpu is dying/dead so nothing you can do but to buy another one.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
685 (1.67/day)
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
Processor i3 2100
Motherboard Asus H61M-E
Cooling Alseye AS-GH1156-i7
Memory Cruical DDR3 1600MHz 8GB (4x2) , @1333MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750TI FML OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 120GB + Western Digital Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster E1920
Power Supply Microdigit MD2111P
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
It's time to get a new GPU.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,514 (0.64/day)
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage Intel 600p 512GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
The fact that I launched BF1942 in Win7 and got a game screenshot in WinXP after rebooting makes me think that my GPU somehow memorized an image rendered once and can't get rid of it.
This is not quite a thing: GPUs have no non-volatile memory to store something like this in.

It is far more likely that your old card is simply developing a fault: Random dots and other artifacts often indicate a memory chip failure, and a burned-in image can also be caused by memory chips failing and essentially "freezing" into a state on initialization, but since you've seen this once on a reboot, which is warm reset, and thus power was not lost to the card, and its memory could retain stuff from before the reboot, it is likely just a glitch of the memory not clearing properly on a crash.

You're going to need a new card.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
432 (0.18/day)
System Name Gentoo64 /w Cold Coffee
Processor 9900K 5GHz 1.224v
Motherboard EVGA Z370 Micro
Cooling Custom 480mm H2O, Raystorm Pro, Nemesis GTX, EK-XRES
Memory 2x8GB Trident Z 4000-16-1T 1.425v
Video Card(s) MSI Seahawk EK X 1080Ti 2100.5/12600
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
Display(s) XB271HU 165Hz
Case FT03-T
Audio Device(s) SBz
Power Supply SS-850KM3
Mouse G502
Keyboard G710+
Software Gentoo 64-bit, Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/7242501

Mafiozych

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
2 (0.02/day)
System Name Windows 7 64-bit
Processor Intel Core i5-2320 3 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8H67
Cooling Xilence M402 + additional Xilence fan
Memory 2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Display(s) LG 23MP48
Case EZCool NA-750R
Audio Device(s) Sven 314
Mouse A4Tech N-500F
Keyboard Sven Challenge 9500
Interesting, I didn't have any problems with my GPU before, but had THAT after I tried to play a game I never played. Is there any way to fix it? Which part (chip, etc.) must be changed physically? Are there any nvflash-like tools I should also try?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,573 (2.98/day)
Location
USA
Your gpu is dying/dead so nothing you can do but to buy another one.
Yup. This.
Interesting, I didn't have any problems with my GPU before, but had THAT after I tried to play a game I never played. Is there any way to fix it? Which part (chip, etc.) must be changed physically? Are there any nvflash-like tools I should also try?
That GPU is damaged beyond simple or cost effective repair. Happily, newer GPU's can be had for around $50 or $60 on Ebay. Look for a GTX660, GTX670, GTX760 or GTX770. Any of those cards will greatly increase your performance and maintain the Windows XP compatibility you seem to need. Examples;
https://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-GeForce-GTX-660-Superclocked-2GB-Video-Card-02G-P4-2662-KR/372654533768
https://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-GeForce-GTX-670-02G-P4-2670-KR-2-GB-GDDR5-SDRAM-PCI-Express-Graphic-Card/273787144222
https://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-GeForce-GTX-760-2-GB-02G-P4-2761-KR/143224947145
https://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-GeForce-GTX-760-SC-ACX-2GB-02G-P4-2765-KR/223490571667
https://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-GEFORCE-GTX-770-DIRECTCU-II-2GB-GPU-VIDEO-GRAPHICS-CARD-GTX770-DC2OC-2GD5/183754645399
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,514 (0.64/day)
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage Intel 600p 512GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Replacing any of the likely affected components (memory or the GPU chip itself) is not something worth pursuing on an ancient GTX560, even if you could figure out exactly what died: Unless you have professional grade equipment ready to go and know how to use it, this is way beyond your abilities, while paying someone else to do it is going to be more expensive than getting a replacement.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,074 (0.53/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Could be something in the game's software was goofed when the screenie was taken because the card was acting up, since it saves a screenie to your drive and the fact your card seems to be dying may explain it.
The GPU itself has no way to "Store" a pic but your HDD does because that's what it's supposed to do, I'm thinking somehow it got the screenie crossed up with a file/scrambled in the software to make it do that.

I too suggest a replacement GPU, anything close to the current gen would be better than the 560. Doesn't matter if it's Nvidia or AMD, anything of a more recent make will show an improvement over your current card if it were still working correctly.

I don't know your budget for such, let us know what that would be and we can make some suggestions based on it.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,981 (0.73/day)
System Name msdos
Processor 8086
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
Power off the PC. Unplug from wall. Wait 60 seconds. Plug in, and power on. If that doesn't help, your card is likely dead.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,573 (2.98/day)
Location
USA
Could be something in the game's software was goofed when the screenie was taken because the card was acting up
Did you look at all of the screen shots provided? Such a problem would not persist through a reboot.
Power off the PC. Unplug from wall. Wait 60 seconds. Plug in, and power on.
That will not help this problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,074 (0.53/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Did you look at all of the screen shots provided? Such a problem would not persist through a reboot.

That will not help this problem.
Yes I did and it's clear his card is FUBAR, I was trying to provide a possible explanation of why it was showing the screenie when he would start the game all the times it did.

However.....
That's a mute point, esp now since we know what the fix would be.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,384 (4.34/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
He's got a fever, and the only prescription is a new graphics card
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,981 (0.73/day)
System Name msdos
Processor 8086
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
That will not help this problem.
Over the years, we have seen nVidia cards get stuck in strange states that are only resolved with full power removal (psu unplug and wait). I didn't think it would help either, but it's worth a shot, since it's free to try. Somehow the gpu can get wedged in a way that reboots / reset button doesn't get the card back into a working state. I don't know if this still plagues their cards, and it was fairly rare in the first place (not reported very often).
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
102 (0.39/day)
Location
South Africa
System Name 1.Archimedes 2. Ianna
Processor 1. i7 7700k 2. R5 1600x
Motherboard 1. MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon 2. ASUS Prime X470 Pro
Cooling 1. U12S with IPPC 3000RPM 2. AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 1. 16GB Crucial 2400MHz (4x4GB) 2. 16GB Crucial 2666Mhz (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) 1. MSI 1060 Gaming X Plus(6GB). 2. MSI 1050TI Gaming X (4GB)
Storage 1. 32GB Optane+120 GB SSD, 4TB X300, Firecuda 2TB. 2. Kingston 240GB SSD, 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) AOC G2460VQ6, Samsung 8 series
Case 1. S340 Elite. 2. S340
Audio Device(s) Lenovo Y Gaming , Logitech X530 , Galaxy Buds
Power Supply 1. Antec TPC 750W (Seasonic OEM) 2. Antec Neo Eco II 550W (Delta OEM)
Mouse G502, G102
Keyboard G413
Ive seen something similar once before. On a Gigabyte Windforce GTX 760, turned out that one of the fans stopped spinning. We pulled the fans/plastic off and attached a coolermaster sickleflow to the heatsink, using some screws and string. If this is the case the original fan 2 pin on the card needs to remain attached or the card wouldnt post. If the fans are still working fine then the card is dead.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,573 (2.98/day)
Location
USA
Over the years, we have seen nVidia cards get stuck in strange states that are only resolved with full power removal (psu unplug and wait). I didn't think it would help either, but it's worth a shot, since it's free to try.
Given the screen shots? That card is hosed..
 
Top