• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTX 660ti at full load after restart

Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#1
[SOLVED] GTX 660ti at full load after restart

I have recently bought a EVGA GTX 660ti 3GB SC to put in my old computer. The computer is getting quite old so i thought id put a 660ti in it. Its just a consumer level PC i bought, its a Gateway DX4840 and i don't know any of the hardware in it because i didn't build it...
What i do know is that it has a 660ti that i just put in and a Antec NEO ECO 520w power supply. The problem i am having is that after i restart the computer the card is running at full load no matter what i am doing on the PC. On the desktop the GPU usage is at like 97%. The temperature also rises at about 75c and game performance is cut in half.In order to fix this issue i have to reinstall the drivers(310.90) and the card returns to normal operation(load goes back down, temps, clock speed,etc). When i first got this card a couple months ago i don't remember having the issue but its been happening for awhile now and i cant get it to stop, EVERY TIME i restart the PC. Ive tried completely removing the drivers following the instructions on the techPowerUp forums, I've tried different drivers and still i getting this issue. I don't know what to do, any help would be appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,645
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#2
Try this. Wise gamebooster

It should detect and close whats not needed and you will figure out the cause I'm sure.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
476
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
#3
I have recently bought a EVGA GTX 660ti 3GB SC to put in my old computer. The computer is getting quite old so i thought id put a 660ti in it. Its just a consumer level PC i bought, its a Gateway DX4840 and i don't know any of the hardware in it because i didn't build it...
What i do know is that it has a 660ti that i just put in and a Antec NEO ECO 520w power supply. The problem i am having is that after i restart the computer the card is running at full load no matter what i am doing on the PC. On the desktop the GPU usage is at like 97%. The temperature also rises at about 75c and game performance is cut in half.In order to fix this issue i have to reinstall the drivers(310.90) and the card returns to normal operation(load goes back down, temps, clock speed,etc). When i first got this card a couple months ago i don't remember having the issue but its been happening for awhile now and i cant get it to stop, EVERY TIME i restart the PC. Ive tried completely removing the drivers following the instructions on the techPowerUp forums, I've tried different drivers and still i getting this issue. I don't know what to do, any help would be appreciated.
Best bet for solution would be to reload the PC back to factory settings. If you have a restore disc or restore partition, do that to the PC, then run a Driver Sweep/Driver Clean in safe mode, reboot, install new nVidia drivers, reboot.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#4
have u tired GPU Shark to see what applications actually uses your GPU?

just did a quick run from my own Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64 with driver 390.10...

Capture.JPG


when u start GPU Shark click View and choose "Detailed Mode" and u should get "Current active 3D appications:" at the buttom of the list.

Download: GPU Shark 0.6.8
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#5
i Just tried GPU Shark after a restart and heres the results, i dont see any processes that are out of the ordinary? Lcore.exe is for my keyboard..
GPU Shark.png
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,591 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#6
You'd think it was a driver relic somewhere causing problems.

Or if you're really unlucky, a bitcoin virus? Not very common but they do use the gpu.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,645
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#7
Disable aero.

use classic theme and check.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
That process with no name and only a PID definitely looks out of the ordinary to me.

You might try running a command prompt and running this:

Code:
taskkill /PID 3400
And see what happens.

You can go into Task Manager and go to the processes tab to find what process matches that PID, you'll have to enable the PID column.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#10
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#11
That process with no name and only a PID definitely looks out of the ordinary to me.

You might try running a command prompt and running this:

Code:
taskkill /PID 3400
And see what happens.

You can go into Task Manager and go to the processes tab to find what process matches that PID, you'll have to enable the PID column.
I guess i should have taken a closer look, i didn't see that because it wasn't named anything :)
The process changed to PID 2124 this time so i typed that into cmd and it said i needed to use /f to force the termination of the process so i did and my screen went black for a few seconds and came back and i got a NVIDIA Display Driver stopped responding...
error.png


The good news is everything went back to normal..
gpushark.png


Played Crysis 2 and it performed fine
crysis.png


I restarted and i get the issue again
Am i okay to disable this at start up?
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
The fact that killing the process caused the nVidia driver to crash leads me to believe the process is actually part of the driver.

I'd try cleaning all old nVidia drivers from your computer, including PhysX drivers using Driver Fusion(previously Driver Sweeper) in safe mode.

Then reboot and do a fresh install of the latest nVidia drivers.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#14
The fact that killing the process caused the nVidia driver to crash leads me to believe the process is actually part of the driver.

I'd try cleaning all old nVidia drivers from your computer, including PhysX drivers using Driver Fusion(previously Driver Sweeper) in safe mode.

Then reboot and do a fresh install of the latest nVidia drivers.
Ive tried that before and had no success the problem just continued
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#15
Ive tried that before and had no success the problem just continued
if u r using a Logitech G-Series keyboard i think the LCore.exe could interfere with load maybe, try deactivate lcore.exe from startup to see if that helps.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
476
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
#16
if u r using a Logitech G-Series keyboard i think the LCore.exe could interfere with load maybe, try deactivate lcore.exe from startup to see if that helps.
That'd be an odd issue. Haven't ever seen an issue like this in my years of G15 ownership. However I don't tend to mess with updating my keyboard software.

If the issue persists even after messing about with the drivers, I think a clean install (of Windows) would still be a best bet.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#17
That'd be an odd issue. Haven't ever seen an issue like this in my years of G15 ownership. However I don't tend to mess with updating my keyboard software.

If the issue persists even after messing about with the drivers, I think a clean install (of Windows) would still be a best bet.
i read on logitech's forum some had problems with the G-series keyboards software when it came to Nvidia Vision so u dunno maybe something is not working as it should, some of my friends got Logitech G-series keyboards aswell and no problem both with AMD and Nvidia but u never know, not every installed OS is the same...
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#18
i read on logitech's forum some had problems with the G-series keyboards software when it came to Nvidia Vision so u dunno maybe something is not working as it should, some of my friends got Logitech G-series keyboards aswell and no problem both with AMD and Nvidia but u never know, not every installed OS is the same...
I tried disabling lcore.exe at startup and it didnt fix the problem, but i think i figured out what is causing it...
using GPU Chark we found the "unnamed" process was causing the problem, when i killed the process the NVIDIA Driver crashed. After looking into this process further i found it is a process called scvhost.exe, i found this by using the PID in task manager, it was located in
\AppData\Roaming\Adobe32...when i ended the process in task manger i didn't get a driver crash and the graphics card returned to normal operations:rockout:

I simply deleted scvhost.exe and it seems to have fixed the issue when i restart. Im not sure what the file was used for...(hope it wasnt important :laugh:)

anyone know what it would be used for??

Thanks to everyone for the help!!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,696 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#19
wow, i thought i was the only one that had this issue, i remember getting my GTX 660 last december and i also had this unusually high GPU usage even tho im not running anything and its sending temps and fan speed to high, and making games sluggish due to the GPU being used at its max capacity, and i disabled a process from task manager and it solved the issue (just like what you did) tho i was not sure if it was SCVhost.exe (btw, my CPU is also being used at aroudn 25-30% at that time, not just high GPU usage)
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#20
wow, i thought i was the only one that had this issue, i remember getting my GTX 660 last december and i also had this unusually high GPU usage even tho im not running anything and its sending temps and fan speed to high, and making games sluggish due to the GPU being used at its max capacity, and i disabled a process from task manager and it solved the issue (just like what you did) tho i was not sure if it was SCVhost.exe (btw, my CPU is also being used at aroudn 25-30% at that time, not just high GPU usage)
Ya my cpu usage was also at like 25-30% i just never noticted it...
Thats weird you had the same issue..
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
I tried disabling lcore.exe at startup and it didnt fix the problem, but i think i figured out what is causing it...
using GPU Chark we found the "unnamed" process was causing the problem, when i killed the process the NVIDIA Driver crashed. After looking into this process further i found it is a process called scvhost.exe, i found this by using the PID in task manager, it was located in
\AppData\Roaming\Adobe32...when i ended the process in task manger i didn't get a driver crash and the graphics card returned to normal operations:rockout:

I simply deleted scvhost.exe and it seems to have fixed the issue when i restart. Im not sure what the file was used for...(hope it wasnt important :laugh:)

anyone know what it would be used for??

Thanks to everyone for the help!!
Well, svchost.exe is a critical windows process. However, it is located Windows/System32, it should not be running from AppData. In fact, nothing should be running from Appdata, AFAIK. But scvhost.exe running from under Appdata is a common virus. There was a virus that was going around that was actually Folding@Home, the virus maker set it up so that it would hijack your computer and fold for him so he could get more points. He had a pretty substantial bot network folding for him. I wouldn't be surprised if something similar was happening to you.

Run malwarebytes ASAP.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,696 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#22
yeah, looks like it was some bitcoin/GPGPU hijack mallware/virus, can't remember if my network is busy at that time tho.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,812
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#23
Hardware Specs of that desktop
http://support.gateway.com/s/desktop/2010/gateway/dx/dx4840/DX4840sp2.shtml

I would seriously recommend a Format if You have a Full OS disk of W7(Restore/Rescue disks suck balls), all the latest drivers, even a bios update for the motherboard. (If you have a full OS disk you can use a program called kill disk to wipe the drive completely)

After Format/OS restore, Install All Critical WIndows Updates to include SP1, IE9 (if wasnt installed originally in 2010 (NO DRIVERS). after those Install Drivers which are downloaded from Gateway, Install Latest Video Drivers for the card. Install Antivirus Software- Free versions recommended would be AVAST, AVG and AVIRA. Install Spyware blaster. Install Malware Bytes Antimalware. Install JAVA and put a short cut to the desktop for the Java Control Panel, Install latest flash, shockwave, install FOXIT Reader (PDF files) install 7 zip Beta and win rar.

Read up on the commands for Check Disk and Disk Defrag then run those one after the other (CHKDSK First then Disk Defrag)

Install Games to include DX Updates

I am unaware if MS has updated direct X with updates.

after games are installed run defrag again