• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTX 670 DC2 2Gb ASUS will it bottleneck i3 3220

Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
239 (0.11/day)
Likes
19
Location
UK
System Name Intel RED6G
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K 4.0Ghz @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus MAXIMUS VIII Hero z170
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 and 4 fans 120mm RED LEDs Corsair PRO
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 24GB (3 x 8GB) DDR4 3000/ MXP Profile SET
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1TB SSHD Firecuda / 240Gb SSD HyperX Savage
Display(s) ACER 2MS 24'inch LED Monitor K242HL
Case Aerocool Aero-800 Black RED Moded.
Audio Device(s) SuprimeFX
Power Supply Corsair RMi Series RM650i Fully Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Mouse Roccat KOVA 2016 Grey
Keyboard Corsair K30
Software Windows 10Pro 64Bit
#1
hello guys i wondering if i get GTX 670 DC2 2GB will this gpu bottleneck my i3 3220 with 600W PSU 80plus ? thanks

is second rig building! :D
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#2
No bottlenecking, only scaling.

Your setup will be great. An i7 would net you a bit more FPS, but nothing to be worried about.

Bottlenecking would assume that you wouldn't get any more FPS out of 680 if you had a bottleneck at a 670. I really wish people would stop using that term.

A CPU equivalent to a P4 could run games today with a 670, and probably max a lot of them out.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#3
No problem there.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
A CPU equivalent to a P4 could run games today with a 670, and probably max a lot of them out.
No. Games still do require CPU power, and modern games definitely would be limited by a P4 equivalent. This would create the exact situation you are talking about, a bottleneck, where upgrading the video card doesn't help at all because the CPU is the limiting factor.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#6
No. Games still do require CPU power, and modern games definitely would be limited by a P4 equivalent. This would create the exact situation you are talking about, a bottleneck, where upgrading the video card doesn't help at all because the CPU is the limiting factor.
You are trying to tell me a P4 with a 680 will not perform any better than a P4 with a 660?

I think you are focusing on the wrong part of what I said. I am not saying the P4 is relevant, forget about the P4 altogether. I am saying that there is no bottleneck, only scaling with a processor. The faster the processor the better of course.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
You are trying to tell me a P4 with a 680 will not perform any better than a P4 with a 660?

I think you are focusing on the wrong part of what I said. I am not saying the P4 is relevant, forget about the P4 altogether. I am saying that there is no bottleneck, only scaling with a processor. The faster the processor the better of course.
Yes, I'm telling you, that at a certain point you will see no performance boost going from a 670 to a 680 if the CPU is holding you back that much.

The 680 might allow you to run a higher resolution, or turn on some more eye candy, but if you leave the settings the same, at some point the CPU will become the limiting factor and increasing the GPU power will not give any performance gains.

Now most modern games are GPU bound on any reasonable settings, so the CPU makes little difference as long as you have a modern CPU, but there are definitely some games out there still that rely heavily on the CPU. If the CPU can only do enough calculations to run the game at 20FPS, then the game is going to run at 20FPS, it doesn't matter if you have a 650 or dual-680s, the game will still run at 20FPS.

Any point where the GPU has to wait on the CPU is a bottleneck, and yes it does happen.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
Now most modern games are GPU bound on any reasonable settings, so the CPU makes little difference as long as you have a modern CPU, but there are definitely some games out there still that rely heavily on the CPU
My second machine has an E8400 on P35, slow DDR2 RAM and 720p res. BF3 multiplayer is unplayable with a GTX560SE. GPU load is around 30% jumping all the time up and down. If I tone down the settings it's the same. That is just one example. ACIII is another example where regardless of the settings there are low framerates that come with low GPU load.
Of course 80% of the games run well but lately many titles require a strong CPU (3220 is in that category as gaming is concerned)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
My second machine has an E8400 on P35, slow DDR2 RAM and 720p res. BF3 multiplayer is unplayable with a GTX560SE. GPU load is around 30% jumping all the time up and down. If I tone down the settings it's the same. That is just one example. ACIII is another example where regardless of the settings there are low framerates that come with low GPU load.
Of course 80% of the games run well but lately many titles require a strong CPU (3220 is in that category as gaming is concerned)
Exactly, even Skyrim@720 is CPU limited with anything better than a GTX660. Going from a 660Ti to a 680 gives absolutely no performance boost. Hard Reset and Starcraft II are two more examples.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#10
hello guys i wondering if i get GTX 670 DC2 2GB will this gpu bottleneck my i3 3220 with 600W PSU 80plus ? thanks

is second rig building! :D
It would but it also depends on the games that you play. I've been rocking with i5 760 at 4GHz and a GTX 660Ti for a while now but recently had to switch to a i3 2100 because of a motherboard failure. In Battlefield 3 I could no longer run Ultra settings because the FPS would sometimes drop to "unacceptable" framerates. Also I did play Crysis 3 alpha at medium on the i3 and then high on the i5 to get framerates I wanted. Also in DayZ (ArmaII mod) l had an issue with lag in cities but that also cleared when I switched back to my i5. So these are my experiences with the i3 2100. It might not be the i3 3220 so take the information with a grain of salt.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
The Short and simple answer is no,you will be completely fine and max out most games.