• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 670 FTW 144Hz Issue

Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
427 (0.12/day)
Likes
59
Location
San Antonio TX
System Name Floating Fortress
Processor i7-3770K @4.2Ghz
Motherboard MSI Something something
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GTX 980 Ti
Storage 128GB SSDx2 Evo (RAID 0)
Display(s) Phillips 144Hz 1Ms
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair CX 750w
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 9584 Firestrike
#1
Hello all,

Today I just got in my brand new Phillips 42G5DJEB 144hz, 1ms Extreme Performance 24-Inch Professional Gaming Monitor from Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00G6IWEE0/?tag=tec06d-20

Hooked it up, went to the nVidia control panel for my GTX 670 FTW 2Gb card, and changed the refresh rate from 60Hz to 144Hz, and it looked shitty. So bad that I could not read the text on the screen. I tried rebooting the PC and turning off the monitor several times thinking this would do the trick. Nope.
I have the latest nVidia drivers.. anyone got any ideas to get my new $300 monitor to display right?

I also found drivers for the monitor, installed those, I'm out of ideas. I used a dual link DVI connector as the monitor recommends too.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
How is the monitor connected?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
427 (0.12/day)
Likes
59
Location
San Antonio TX
System Name Floating Fortress
Processor i7-3770K @4.2Ghz
Motherboard MSI Something something
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GTX 980 Ti
Storage 128GB SSDx2 Evo (RAID 0)
Display(s) Phillips 144Hz 1Ms
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair CX 750w
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 9584 Firestrike
#3
Dual link DVI.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#4
how many threads u need to open???

have u considered trying to run your monitor at 120hz instead of 144hz? bcs that's what Philips writes to be "optimum"....

Philips writes:

Optimum resolution: 1920x1080 @ 120Hz (Dual-link DVI/DP)

Response time (typical): 5 ms

Source: http://www.philips.com.au/c/pc-moni...20CB08271B619FAD.app101-drp1?t=specifications


with this said have u considered have you thinking about trying to hook your monitor up to a DisplayPort instead? it's not like a DP cable cost much to be honest.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
427 (0.12/day)
Likes
59
Location
San Antonio TX
System Name Floating Fortress
Processor i7-3770K @4.2Ghz
Motherboard MSI Something something
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GTX 980 Ti
Storage 128GB SSDx2 Evo (RAID 0)
Display(s) Phillips 144Hz 1Ms
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair CX 750w
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 9584 Firestrike
#5
I fixed it. One end of my cable oddly enough was single link, not dual link. Crazy how that made such a difference.

And so sorry to inconvenience everyone with 2 posts. Figured after making the other one, this area might get more visibility. Also, cannot close threads like I used to be able to.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#6
I fixed it. One end of my cable oddly enough was single link, not dual link. Crazy how that made such a difference.

And so sorry to inconvenience everyone with 2 posts. Figured after making the other one, this area might get more visibility. Also, cannot close threads like I used to be able to.
haha lol yeah cables sometimes ain't what they should be :laugh:

i am using an old Belkin Pro Series Dual-Link DVI-I cable for my Yamakasi Catleap Q270 running at 2560x1440@120hz (actually about 119,992hz) pushing it to the limit here ^^