• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 680 only 100Hz using DP?

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#1
I brought a DP cable 1.1 spec and the max Hz i can set my screen to is 100Hz, With my 7970 using mini-DP to DP i could get 120hz any ideas?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3 ~ 3.6GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#3
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Are you able to force the 120hz? I mean something written: Hide mode that monitor doesn'T support? that is checked?
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#5
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,556 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#6
ChristTheGreat probably mean in nvidia control panal.

And yeah, You should try changing it in the nvidia control panel, not through windows own settings. (Actually, that also goes for changing resolution, along with pretty much every possible display setting - use the nvidia control panel.)

EDIT: Also: man, there is so many crazy things that can be forced through nv-crtrl-panel. I know, 'cause, I was bored once, and decided to mess around in it. For teh lulz. C:
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#7
ChristTheGreat probably mean in nvidia control panal.

And yeah, You should try changing it in the nvidia control panel, not through windows own settings. (Actually, that also goes for changing resolution, along with pretty much every possible display setting - use the nvidia control panel.)

EDIT: Also: man, there is so many crazy things that can be forced through nv-crtrl-panel. I know, 'cause, I was bored once, and decided to mess around in it. For teh lulz. C:
Nope
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,556 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#8
See that little "Customize..." button?
You can use that to set whatever resolutions, refresh rates, yadda, yadda, yadda... even such that are not even supported by Your monitor.

(for example, I used that very thing to run skyrim in 880x495 resolution on my previous computer. As far as I remember, it gives no less freedom in customizing The refresh rate.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#9
Yer i understand i can force 120Hz and it should be fine i just did that and 120Hz just popup but its forcing 16-bit color :confused:
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,556 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#10
Did You try also forcing the color depth?
Also, were You able to set 120Hz on 7970 with the same cable? 'Cause, also depending on the cable, 1920x1080x24@120 could be above it's maximum bandwidth.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#11
Im running 120Hz right now with 32-bit i forced it also my 7970 was mini-DP to DP so i cant use the same cable but both cables are 1.1 specs, But you my be right i mite need to get a 1.2 spec cable.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,556 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#12
Im running 120Hz right now with 32-bit i forced it also my 7970 was mini-DP to DP so i cant use the same cable but both cables are 1.1 specs, But you my be right i mite need to get a 1.2 spec cable.
I'd take it that it works now. Glad to hear! ;]

Also, as much as I understand: two 1.1 spec cables are not necessarily the same - can have completely different bandwidths. (That is why I asked if it was the very same cable)
Assuming the information there is correct: more on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_port

P.S. 1920x1080x24@120 needs at least ~5.97 Gbps for the actual data. Along with control data & other overhead, total required would be significantly more. [Assuming wiki isn't lying - ] Not all 1.1 configurations support that. And even some 1.2 DP [should | do] not. Bummer.
 
Last edited: