• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTX 680 score is a little low, why?

desire111

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,

This pc is brand new (7 days), a few days ago when i run this test i had a 9500 score and now after i reinstalled my OS my score dropped to 9017, how can this be? I installed the latest Nvidia drivers, did all windows updates and have no background programs running while performing the test, i performed the test a few times now and it never gets higher then 9050. What can cause this? a 500 drop is a little big, I included some screens. Any help would be great i find this very strange. When i compared scores online i even found one with the exact same system and he had a 9300 score. Even then im still 300 below it doesn't make sence.

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4545483

I dont know how to make a screen of cpu-z and cpuid while running the test so i took one directly afterwards.

http://s7.postimage.org/e50mch0m3/Naamloos.png

thanx
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
hmm this question has been pooped before...

it's bcs ur cards automaticly overclocks itself, and depending on temperature on it it can go higher the colder the card is and the hotter it is, the smaller or maybe no oc will happen.
 

desire111

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
hi,

yes i readed that earlyer in a post on this forum, thats why i waited this time to perform the test directly after boot up when the pc was off for a while but it didn't make any difference. The room temperature is normal to.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#4
You scored normal for a stock GPU and CPU clock.



Hence why you fall in the "normal" score zone.
 

desire111

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
ah yes it isnt overclocked maybe the one i compared to was, i still dont understand the drop i had but oh well.. maybe cause it was fresh out the box when i did the first test or something, as long as all games run smooth, im happy :)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,637
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
Did you set your display scaling to Stretched
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,209 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,801
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
did you build this machine yourself or was it built by someone else?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,209 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,801
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
im not sure if your HD was wiped properly
 

desire111

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
hm i did a store reset, i just push F11 (when i reboot) and it resets my pc to store defaults. Everyting on my ssd drive C: will be wiped and windows is reinstalled clean. Is there a way to check if it cleaned it right or do it different maybe? I don't have a windows cd it reinstalls all from a restore partition.

It doesn't clean the other partition ( the 2 tb partition where i store everything) i have to do that manually should i format that partition maybe? Can that be the cause of the benchmark drop?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,209 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,801
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
hm i did a store reset, i just push F11 (when i reboot) and it resets my pc to store defaults. Everyting on my ssd drive C: will be wiped and windows is reinstalled clean. Is there a way to check if it cleaned it right or do it different maybe? I don't have a windows cd it reinstalls all from a restore partition.

It doesn't clean the other partition ( the 2 tb partition where i store everything) i have to do that manually should i format that partition maybe? Can that be the cause of the benchmark drop?
if you dont have a OS disk or driver disks or even back up your SSD/HDD I wouldnt until you can get all the disks needed for that computer.
 

desire111

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Guess its time for me to make some back ups then and check things out, not sure yet how to make a 30 gig backup, think i best buy a external hdd or alot of dvds.

But basicly if i get it right a faulty reinstall can influence the benchmark results?
 

desire111

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Update: after i installed battlefield 3 my score went up again, i don't know why exactly but i think it has something to do with the update of some directx components. Guess that maked the difference.

Score is now 9268

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4548631

Thanx all and happy gaming :rockout:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,209 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,801
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
Update: after i installed battlefield 3 my score went up again, i don't know why exactly but i think it has something to do with the update of some directx components. Guess that maked the difference.

Score is now 9268

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4548631

Thanx all and happy gaming :rockout:
it probably tweaked Direct X, course once in awhile its always good to see if there is a direct X update on Microsofts site since MS dont allow updates from Windows Update for DX