1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 750 vs GTX 750 Ti

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Durvelle27, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,811 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Is the GTX 750 Ti worth the premium over the GTX 750. I'm looking to get the fastest card that doesn't require an external power connector for a small light gaming machine for 1280x720 (BF4, BF3, South Park, Need For Speed, CoD etc...).


    System Specs:

    Intel Core 2 Duo 4300 l ASUS IPIBL-LB l 4x 1GB DDR2 667MHz l Galaxy 8400 GS 512MB l Western Digtal 80GB l LG DVDRW l Audigy 2 ZS l Thermaltake Case l Antec 350W
     
  2. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    503 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Where the hand of man has never set foot
    No, it is not worth the premium because your 1.8GHz dual core will bottleneck both of them anyway and because putting a 150$ video card in a 200$ computer is not worth it.

    Sorry for the bad news.
     
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,092
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Secondly, the 750's are, IMHO, way overpriced for what you get. Get a used GTX 650. Your PSU should be okay.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,811 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    PSU has no PCIe connectors and i don't think i want to stress it to much
     
  5. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,826 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    AMD 7770?
     
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,811 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Thought about it since AMD is cheaper. Also I don't think CPU will be to bad.
     
  7. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,826 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah should work well with it id say.
     
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,811 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Would it work with my PSU. It's no an Antec one anymore as it went out. I believe it's a Dell 350W currently
     
  9. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,826 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    I think so!
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,092
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    That's easy to fix. Something like this: 6-pin to 2x Molex PCI Express Power Adapter
    You have a 350 watt PSU. You have a 65 watt CPU. A GTX 650 will use 54 watts. No problem. The 7770 uses about 73 watts, again, no problem. Another one to consider would be the GTX 650 Ti (NOT boost) at 69 watts.
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,811 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Also has a DVDRW, 2x HDDs, sound card, 2x monitors, external audio bay etc...
     
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,092
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Those take almost nothing. My general rule: If the CPU+GPU=<1/2 PSU's rated capacity, then you're okay.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,826 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    The GTX 650 Ti requires a 6PIN though!
     
  14. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    503 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Where the hand of man has never set foot
    Take a look at R7 250X, they are rebranded HD 7770 and have a lower MSRP.

    PS: HD 7770 and R7 250X both have 1x 6pins power connector.
     
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,826 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    Are you sure? I cant see any 6pin for the cards...
     
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,092
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I have a 7770. It has 1-6 pin connector.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    503 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Where the hand of man has never set foot
    Yes, HD 7770 have a TDP of 80W and sadly only 75W are available from PCIE.
     
  18. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,811 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    If true I think a single 6 pin is fine
     
  19. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,092
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    OP, maybe this will help. From Nvidia:
    Q: What are the power requirements for the GeForce 8400 GS GPU?
    A: GeForce 8400 GS cards have a maximum power draw of 71 watts.

    I don't like the 750's because I think that Nvidia is pulling a fast one. I've explained elsewhere the "family" that these cards belong to. Nvidia is moving the next generation up a "family" instead of replacing the previous generation. "GTX" used to mean SLI'able, but the 750's do not support SLI. Even the GTS 450 had SLI. These 750's really should be called GT 710's. It's like Chevy calling the new Camaro Z28 a Corvette because it can beat the previous generation Corvette. But, If you only care about performance, than my argument does not hold water. The 750's are the best performance/watt cards available.

    If these coupons are of worth to you, then the card ends up being almost free. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125502&Tpk=N82E16814125502
    You should notice that Gigabyte provides one of those 2 molex power to 6 pin PCIe connector.
    Also, here's what w1zzard said about the 6 pin connector on a similar Asus card:
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,949 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,917
    The GT* prefix has never had anything to do with SLI capability. From the moment they started using it they made it very clear that it was about how the card performed. GTX was high end performance, GTS was mid-range performance, and GT was low-end performance.

    And the GTX 750s aren't the next generation moving up a "family" to GTX. The GTX 750s are a test run for Maxwell on the old fabrication process. At this point though I'd say nVidia is actually eliminating the GTS/GT prefixes and sticking with the GTX prefix because the prefixes don't really mean anything at this point, the model number is really all that matters. Back when we had the 8800GT, 8800GTS, 8800GTX, etc. the GT* use to matter, but now they mean nothing really.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,776
    12% difference. Is the price difference worth 12% to you?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)