• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 770 TROUBLE AND NEED HELP FAST

Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#1
Hello guys, here I'm again needing help :( So before I start I just wanna say that I have all my mobo bios updated and drivers too. The thing is, I have an GTX 770 asus dcii oc edition at about 1 year and since yesterday the gpu "stopped working". I have cleaned the pci-e on mobo and on the gpu, i have tryed with the onboard gpu from my i7 4770k and removed the drivers of the 770 and cleaned all the things that have nvidia write and cleaned the registry because of nvidia. After that I put the gpu on the mobo and it works (without drivers), then I proceed to the installation of the drivers and then when I reboot... BAAMMM... the gpu doesnt show image. I boot pc with the 770 and it shows the bios post screen, the windows 8 booting and when it passes the boot to the part to enter the password it doesnt show no more image. What can I do? Erase ssd and format it and reinstall windows will work?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.36/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
I assume you used driver sweeper and have your BIOS Display settings set to PCI/PEG instead of PEG/PCI?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#3
I assume you used driver sweeper and have your BIOS Display settings set to PCI/PEG instead of PEG/PCI?
Yes i used driver sweeper and my BIOS settings dont have that option :p they only have Auto(If a GPU PCI-E is connected my mobo automaticly disable the onboars gpu), CPU onboard graphics or PCI-E. Of course i tryed the pci-e but its the same thing as auto. It boots and passes the bios screen, then is the windows 8 boting screen it boots and then when its the part to put password and all of that it doesnt show any image :s If I use it without drivers I can put password and all of that but with drivers the gpu doesnt show image after w8 boot logo :s
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.36/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
Yes i used driver sweeper and my BIOS settings dont have that option :p they only have Auto(If a GPU PCI-E is connected my mobo automaticly disable the onboars gpu), CPU onboard graphics or PCI-E. Of course i tryed the pci-e but its the same thing as auto. It boots and passes the bios screen, then is the windows 8 boting screen it boots and then when its the part to put password and all of that it doesnt show any image :s If I use it without drivers I can put password and all of that but with drivers the gpu doesnt show image after w8 boot logo :s
That's odd, have you tried it in a different PCI-E slot?

Also, does your cursor still appear?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#5
That's odd, have you tried it in a different PCI-E slot?
Yep and its the same thing :s without drivers i enter windows but cant play :( with onboard gpu i get 30 fps all settings low in titanfall :s i dont wanna play with onboard and i dont want to format my windows -_- well since I needed a new gpu I will sell this one because there is a store where wich buys hardware and they are so stupid they test the gpus without installing drivers lol btw i tryed my old amd 7870 and 3 gpus of my 3 friends ( x2 gtx 690, 1 780 ti and 1 r295x2) all of then work, 690 works both sli and non sli. They tryed mine only the guy with the 690s didnt worked so well :(
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,143 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: 2x Delta EFB1212VH, 3x Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#6
Hello guys, here I'm again needing help :( So before I start I just wanna say that I have all my mobo bios updated and drivers too. The thing is, I have an GTX 770 asus dcii oc edition at about 1 year and since yesterday the gpu "stopped working". I have cleaned the pci-e on mobo and on the gpu, i have tryed with the onboard gpu from my i7 4770k and removed the drivers of the 770 and cleaned all the things that have nvidia write and cleaned the registry because of nvidia. After that I put the gpu on the mobo and it works (without drivers), then I proceed to the installation of the drivers and then when I reboot... BAAMMM... the gpu doesnt show image. I boot pc with the 770 and it shows the bios post screen, the windows 8 booting and when it passes the boot to the part to enter the password it doesnt show no more image. What can I do? Erase ssd and format it and reinstall windows will work?
If you have a spare HDD, you could try a fresh format and install Windows.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.36/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
Yep and its the same thing :s without drivers i enter windows but cant play :( with onboard gpu i get 30 fps all settings low in titanfall :s i dont wanna play with onboard and i dont want to format my windows -_- well since I needed a new gpu I will sell this one because there is a store where wich buys hardware and they are so stupid they test the gpus without installing drivers lol btw i tryed my old amd 7870 and 3 gpus of my 3 friends ( x2 gtx 690, 1 780 ti and 1 r295x2) all of then work, 690 works both sli and non sli. They tryed mine only the guy with the 690s didnt worked so well :(
I've just been on the SevenForums, and there are 3 instances where people have the identical problem that you are having. Unfortunately in every case, the issue was that the gpu was toast. You may want to think about an RMA.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#8
If you have a spare HDD, you could try a fresh format and install Windows.
I was thinking about that before i sell it in the store ^^ If it is because of my windows 8.1 pro i will format the ssd after trying w7 on the hdd ^^ hope it works because I love my games :p titanfall 53 gb dont want to download it again :p
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.36/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#9
I was thinking about that before i sell it in the store ^^ If it is because of my windows 8.1 pro i will format the ssd after trying w7 on the hdd ^^ hope it works because I love my games :p titanfall 53 gb dont want to download it again :p
Good idea to test that. If you still encounter problems, prepare for RMA'ing.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,143 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: 2x Delta EFB1212VH, 3x Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#10
I was thinking about that before i sell it in the store ^^ If it is because of my windows 8.1 pro i will format the ssd after trying w7 on the hdd ^^ hope it works because I love my games :p titanfall 53 gb dont want to download it again :p
If you want to do this ethically and not scam your local store, you should be able to RMA the VGA to Asus if you have the receipt and then you can get a new one.


I've just been on the SevenForums, and there are 3 instances where people have the identical problem that you are having. Unfortunately in every case, the issue was that the gpu was toast. You may want to think about an RMA.
What graphics card? 770? just the Asus brand 770?
I have a 770 :eek:.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#11
I've just been on the SevenForums, and there are 3 instances where people have the identical problem that you are having. Unfortunately in every case, the issue was that the gpu was toast. You may want to think about an RMA.
Mine isnt toasted because the gpu works to on my gf computer -_- I wanted to changed gpu tough because i need to render things with gpu etc and this one is little slow for rendering :s dont know why because i saw people rendering much faster with same gpu :) I saw that there are new 780 6gb gddr5 and they performe much better than 780 3gb gddr5 and OEM Nvidia 780 ti tough some games 780ti performs better because better clock :p i can oc the 780 6gb from 6ghz to 7ghz and performe the same as 780ti like i saw in reviews :)

Good idea to test that. If you still encounter problems, prepare for RMA'ing.
I think is because w8 because even with pirated version givesme some errors :s dont care because w7 is very good :) BTW I think I cant RMA the gpu because i change the thermal paste and for that i needed to remove the dcii cooler ahha
 
Last edited by a moderator:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.36/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#12
What graphics card? 770? just the Asus brand 770?
3 different NVidia GPU's. In every case it was a broken NVidia GPU that would work until drivers were installed, then present a black screen after the logon screen appeared. All of them replaced the GPU's and the issue was solved.

i change the thermal paste and for that i needed to remove the dcii cooler
That's fine, most companies allow you to change the TIM, except for XFX. Unless I'm mistaken, you should be fine to RMA.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,143 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: 2x Delta EFB1212VH, 3x Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#13
3 different NVidia GPU's. In every case it was a broken NVidia GPU that would work until drivers were installed, then present a black screen after the logon screen appeared. All of them replaced the GPU's and the issue was solved.
I had this issue with a Powercolor 7850 I bought from eBay, eventually convinced the seller to give me a full refund.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#14
That's fine, most companies allow you to change the TIM, except for XFX. Unless I'm mistaken, you should be fine to RMA.
But in one of the little screws there was one with a circle paper with a red dot :/ I think that is the garantie violation ex. If I remove that little screw garantie void :( since I need a new gpu for a ips monitor 1440p i think that 6gb version will make me happy instead of this one humm?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#15
I had this issue with a Powercolor 7850 I bought from eBay, eventually convinced the seller to give me a full refund.
So what you think I can do about my issue?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,438 (5.36/day)
Likes
9,634
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#16
So what you think I can do about my issue?
Push for an RMA anyway. I did, and I broke my GPU myself, right after removing the cooler. 3 months later I got a replacement card from Gigabyte, and it was an upgraded non ref version :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#17
Push for an RMA anyway. I did, and I broke my GPU myself, right after removing the cooler. 3 months later I got a replacement card from Gigabyte, and it was an upgraded non ref version :laugh:
Wait wait wait. You waited 3 months to get your gpu fixed? I cant wait that much :(
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,529 (1.10/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#18
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,707 (2.66/day)
Likes
2,108
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
#19
Wait wait wait. You waited 3 months to get your gpu fixed? I cant wait that much :(
I would just RMA it as is in all honesty. Its got some sort of issue and that needs to be resolved because GPU's do not just randomly decide they are not going to work in a system unless something else changed. But being that other GPU's are working fine in it, chances are the 770 has an issue.

My advice is to RMA immediately with Asus, they are pretty easy to deal with (Not the best, but I have not had much trouble) and i'm sure you will get a replacement. If you decide you still do not want the GPU after that, then all you have to do is just sell it later.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#20
It's better than the alternative. =/
I prefer instal w7 on another disk to see if the problem is w8 because even with pirated versions of w8 i get errors on gpu so i think its w8 :p when i has in w7 0% problems :) the only thing on w7 is that it consumes more ram than w8 and i only have 8gb of ram that its very good to play games but im going to upgrade to 16gb because i do a lot of render
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#21
I would just RMA it as is in all honesty. Its got some sort of issue and that needs to be resolved because GPU's do not just randomly decide they are not going to work in a system unless something else changed. But being that other GPU's are working fine in it, chances are the 770 has an issue.

My advice is to RMA immediately with Asus, they are pretty easy to deal with (Not the best, but I have not had much trouble) and i'm sure you will get a replacement. If you decide you still do not want the GPU after that, then all you have to do is just sell it later.
Well problem solved :s the problem? W8 -_- i did a clean install of windows 7 in a hdd 2.5 from my ps3 xD and guess what? It works fine :p did it now. I can play all the games i played on my ssd lol so i will format ssd and put the games in there and play :)
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,707 (2.66/day)
Likes
2,108
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
#22
Well problem solved :s the problem? W8 -_- i did a clean install of windows 7 in a hdd 2.5 from my ps3 xD and guess what? It works fine :p did it now. I can play all the games i played on my ssd lol so i will format ssd and put the games in there and play :)
...That's...Peculiar

Have not had any issues with Nvidia on windows 8...
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
38 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Gaming PC
Processor i7 4770k 3.5GHz @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair CL9 BLUE 1600MHz 2x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 770 DCII OC 2GB GDDR5
Storage SSD 120GB + SEAGATE HDD 1TB
Display(s) LG 2360
Case Zalman Z11
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply NOX HUMMER 80PLUS 700W
Software Windows 8.1 Professional x64
#23
...That's...Peculiar

Have not had any issues with Nvidia on windows 8...
Well not a problem :p w8/8.1 may have a max 10% more performance in games compared to w7 (i tested and its truth) but w7 is also very good :) when they launch the future 880/880ti I maybe sell my hole pc but not my awesome h100i, and buy a new one :p yes i have an op rig i7 4770k but the 4790k are cooler than this one or maybe when i move to 880/880ti i get a i7 5th generation :p or not
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,143 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: 2x Delta EFB1212VH, 3x Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#24
I RMA'd my gigabyte 7970, it took 3 months. I bought the 770 and sold the 7970 when I got the RMA back.
It can take a long time and I have heard things about Asus's RMA being difficult, but its better to do that then to sell a dud VGA, I'd hate to be on the receiving end of a dud (actually I have and it was a pain in the ass to deal with).

I'd get the 770 RMA'd, buy a 780, when you get the replacement 770 back sell it.