• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GTX1080] No Anti Aliasing

Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#1
For some reason anti aliasing does not work anymore on my GTX1080, and I have absolutely no idea what to do about it. At first, I thought it was just the Blizzard games acting up (Diablo 3, Heroes of the Storm) since at least Diablo 3 has a relatively new x64 client, but as of now I am unable to activate it in any game.

So far, I have globally resetted all Nvidia driver settings, did a complete reinstall, wiped it with DDU and reinstalled it, removed my old 2 GPUs from the device manager (display hidden devices), used DDU again and did an additional manual cleaning of whatever leftover stuff I could find, had a look at Windows energy settings, ran sfc /scannow... yet, still no anti aliasing, and it's driving me crazy (in a mild way). I really dislike the jaggies.

Do you guys have any other idea I could try to get my AA working again?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#2
Have you tried forcing it in the driver setting.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,730 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,143
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
Reinstall your games, worst case send the card back
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.49/day)
Likes
1,322
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64
#4
For some reason anti aliasing does not work anymore on my GTX1080, and I have absolutely no idea what to do about it. At first, I thought it was just the Blizzard games acting up (Diablo 3, Heroes of the Storm) since at least Diablo 3 has a relatively new x64 client, but as of now I am unable to activate it in any game.

So far, I have globally resetted all Nvidia driver settings, did a complete reinstall, wiped it with DDU and reinstalled it, removed my old 2 GPUs from the device manager (display hidden devices), used DDU again and did an additional manual cleaning of whatever leftover stuff I could find, had a look at Windows energy settings, ran sfc /scannow... yet, still no anti aliasing, and it's driving me crazy (in a mild way). I really dislike the jaggies.

Do you guys have any other idea I could try to get my AA working again?
It is probably a new driver issue. You are using Win 10 and it forces new NVIDIA drivers to install.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#5
No. I have the latest ones and i can use AA on my 1080 fine, Blizz included; it's not the Nvidia drivers.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,154 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,219
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#6
Dual boot with win7 or 8.1. That'll solve it.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#7
Have you tried forcing it in the driver setting.
Yes, doesn't work either.
Reinstall your games, worst case send the card back
I've been considering a hardware issue, but it seems kind of unlikely to me that the only thing that is defective is the AA. Worth considering, though. I originally had a GTX1070 which I sent back two times due to defective fans. Kind of bad luck if the GTX1080 I was sent as a replacement is defective, too.
It is probably a new driver issue. You are using Win 10 and it forces new NVIDIA drivers to install.
Actually, I've disabled that already. From experience (system engineer) I can say that it's mostly an issue for notebooks, though.
No. I have the latest ones and i can use AA on my 1080 fine, Blizz included; it's not the Nvidia drivers.
Well, that's good to know.
Dual boot with win7 or 8.1. That'll solve it.
I've actually been considering to reinstall WIndows 8.1; I already dual boot Arch Linux and I don't quite feel like adding yet another OS.

Thanks so far, guys! I'll see if I can grab a different GTX1080 from our spares stock to see what happens.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
757 (0.90/day)
Likes
324
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3.95GHz / Intel Core i3 5005U @ 2GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Corsair Ballistix Sport 2400MHz @ 3200MHz DDR4 / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston 1600MHz DDR3L
Video Card(s) XFX AMD HD 7750 1GB @ 935/1250MHz / Intel HD 5500
Storage HDD Hitachi 1TB / SSD Kingston 32GB
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentry XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Noganet ST-334 2400DPI @ 500Hz / Touchpad
Keyboard Generic PS2 / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSB 2016 x64 + Gentoo x64
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike: 2687 Time Spy: 546
#8
You're not using an insider build, right?
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#9
You're not using an insider build, right?
No, not interested in that. If anything I'd use that on some secondary / tertiary machine. Good thought, though.

EDIT: Actually, I'm still on 1511. I dislike some changes of the 1607 update and saw no benefits, so I disabled the 1607 update until the creator update comes along. Might want to check that out, though. Maybe downgrading to 1511 after the initial installation broke something (quite likely, actually).
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,900 (0.85/day)
Likes
814
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#10
No, not interested in that. If anything I'd use that on some secondary / tertiary machine. Good thought, though.

EDIT: Actually, I'm still on 1511. I dislike some changes of the 1607 update and saw no benefits, so I disabled the 1607 update until the creator update comes along. Might want to check that out, though. Maybe downgrading to 1511 after the initial installation broke something (quite likely, actually).
I went back to 1511 after the anniversary update turned my PC into a quicksand simulator (tried installing it when it came out and again a couple of weeks ago with the same results). I do not think the AA issue is caused by going back to 1511 - though that being said I don't think it can be ruled out either. I'm a little unsure what could be causing it. Have you tried your 1080 and run some games in another machine?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#11
Sorry, but just to be sure this isn't heading the direction i'm thinking it's heading..

- Have you tried FXAA? Does that work?
- When you say 'unable to activate it', what exactly does that entail? Greyed-out option(s) in the ctpl? Not even clickable? Clickable/alterable but no visual changes?
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#12
I went back to 1511 after the anniversary update turned my PC into a quicksand simulator (tried installing it when it came out and again a couple of weeks ago with the same results). I do not think the AA issue is caused by going back to 1511 - though that being said I don't think it can be ruled out either. I'm a little unsure what could be causing it. Have you tried your 1080 and run some games in another machine?
Not yet, might do that soon. I have another PC at work with a GTX970 where AA seems to work, so I could swap the GPUs some time this week.
Sorry, but just to be sure this isn't heading the direction i'm thinking it's heading..

- Have you tried FXAA? Does that work?
- When you say 'unable to activate it', what exactly does that entail? Greyed-out option(s) in the ctpl? Not even clickable? Clickable/alterable but no visual changes?
Actually, I didn't try FXAA yet because I really don't like FXAA at all. It's usually either 4x+ MSAA or SSAA for me. As for the settings: They are perfectly click- and selectable, but they just do not have any effect, be it the ingame AA of the various games or the AA settings of the control panel.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#13
Wait wait.. forget about whether you like it or not, lol, try enabling FXAA from the ctpl, check for visual changes ingame, so we can see if all forms of AA are out or just the one in particular :)

And just to be sure; speaking of ingame.. you mean that with the ctpl left at "let the game decide" and an ingame only changing of AA, you still get nothing?

(edit: i don't like FXAA either for the record. It and transparency are the two dumbest nuvidya "tweaks" ever. In my opinion!)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#14
(@ mods: purposefully making a separate post, so that he sees it. Sorry)

You have Linux too right? Load that and try a GPU stress test there, one where the user can set the AA levels. See if the issue persists in both OSs?
Am not too familiar with GPU stressers, but something like this one should do, has versions for both Linux and Windows: https://unigine.com/products/benchmarks/heaven/
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#15
Yes, I will do that when I get home from work and school today (late in the evening), and yes, let the application decide and enabling AA ingame. Nothing works. As for why FXAA exists... yay for consoles and their comparatively limited computing power.

As for Linux I never really looked into any sort of graphics since I have developed a habit of working on Linux and gaming / entertainment on Windows, but I'll see what I can find. If all else fails I'll hook up another HDD and do some sort of fresh Windows 7 / 8.1 install just to see what happens. Thanks for your help!

EDIT: I've installed the proprietary drivers on Linux, though, since out of the box the GTX1080 wasn't properly supported. Oh, and for testing AA I could just install Steam and try one of my games.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#16
You could try it in other games (tbh, this is the first thing i'd have done, my mistake for concluding it'd already been tried) from Windows, but you should test it in Linux too; the one i linked above runs on it and has user-defined AA settings, so you won't need to install any games there to check what's what. If everything's fine from Linux, we'll at least know it's software-related.

And in the off chance the 'yes, i will do that' refered to the stress testing alone, don't forget to try FXAA under Windows as well :)
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#17
Trying it in other games was the first thing I've done, especially because I play all kinds of games so it is kind of unavoidable. That being said I do know the Unigine Benchmarks, I use(d) them at work :) If I find the time today I'll examine the AA under Linux. I have Steam installed on Linux anyway (in the interest of... science) and have a game or two installed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
manually install Nvidia drivers and tick the 'clean install' button, that'll probably fix things.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,312 (2.12/day)
Likes
9,149
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.2GHz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#19
manually install Nvidia drivers and tick the 'clean install' button, that'll probably fix things.
^This.

Must be a driver issue.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#20
Been there, done that. A clean reinstall was one of the first things I did. I even removed all traces of previous installations via DDU and manual checking before reinstalling on the second attempt.

EDIT: I also regularly check my system for malware using Malwarebyte's Anti-Malware and have been getting 0 results for several years, so a malware related problem is rather unlikely.

EDIT2: Maybe I should dig through my registry and examine programs I installed recently. I've been looking for a video editing software for a friend of mine and have shotcut installed (which can be directed to use the GPU to offload transcoding). Maybe there is something persistent that influences the GPU - but I'm just taking a wild guess.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#21
If AA runs fine with Linux booted, remember the Microsoft way. Shortcut missing? Format the PC!

Microsoft. Providing solutions since 1985. Customers always first.
lol
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#22
Haha, well, there might be some truth to it. Recently I had to reinstall several key components of my Lenovo tablet's Windows because the downgrade from 1607 liberally uninstalled necessary things... I still suspect that this might be the problem. I might try a 1607 upgrade before wiping the system - although I am not terribly opposed to that, my install is more than 3 years old and sometimes I just like to have a clean slate again.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#23
So, I tried two games on Linux and Anti Aliasing worked just fine. I'm going to boot into Windows later and see if I can find something.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#24
Obviously no hardware issue would cause AA to be "permanently" disabled. it can cause artifacts, low FPS, crashes, but not that :)

I am inclined to think some software or registry setting is messing up with Nvidia settings even after a clean install.
Do you have some "special" program that could cause such behavior?
Did it happened only after the downgrade to 1511? did you installed something?
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
165 (0.10/day)
Likes
46
Location
Switzerland
System Name Upgraded Not-So-Silent-Anymore Black Box That Computes
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.24V
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170S
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 3
Memory 2x 8GB 3000Mhz Corsair Vengeance LP (CL15)
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX1080
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro / 500GB Samsung 840 Evo / 3TB WD Green
Display(s) 24" Asus PB248Q (1.920x1.200)
Case Fractal Define R3 / 3x 120mm Corsair AF case fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional / Arch Linux Dualboot
#25
Well, I'll be damned. Seems like all my tinkering last night paid off, I have AA back in Windows. Beats me why, though. I did multiple reboots last night and still had no AA... I'll poke around some more to verify that AA is working 100% correctly. If I find something I will let you know, in the interest of those who might have a similar problem in the future and need a solution.

EDIT: So, I was unable to find a reason for this. For those who have the same problem I can only suggest to go through the steps I took to fix it, and to have a close look whether AA is, in fact, working, but almost unnoriceable due to bad ingame AA.
 
Last edited: