• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTX465 SLI on HP Z800

Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Z800
Processor Intel Xeon X5560 @2.8 GHz (dual processor)
Motherboard HP
Cooling OEM
Memory 6x Hynix PC3-10700 4GB ECC Buffered RAM, 24GB total
Video Card(s) Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 (SLI)
Storage Dual RAID0 Western Digital 10K RPM SAS drives
Display(s) 1x Samsung 27" LCD, 1x Samsung 24" LED
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Xi-Fi
Power Supply 1.1KW HP Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
Hi guys,

I'm new here and I'm having a problem getting SLI enabled on my Z800. I have 2 GTX465 cards and they are recognized by the computer, however, when I boot up and open the nvidia control panel the option to enable SLI is not available. The SLI bridge is installed.

Is there anything special I need to do to get SLI working? I've tried removing and reinstalling the drivers and nvidia software and it didn't seem to help.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#2
Are the cards placed in PCIe x16 x16 or at least in x16 x8?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,372 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#3
Are they "matching" cards. I know another user on another forum had issues getting SLI going on 2 580's with different RAM amounts(1.5 and 3GB) He ended up having to use this to get his SLI working.
Not saying that is the problem but need a little more info.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#4
What chipset does that board us?

I find the Z800 on the HP site, but it lists it as a workstation setup. If it has a higher end Intel chipset, then that maybe why SLI is not working.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Z800
Processor Intel Xeon X5560 @2.8 GHz (dual processor)
Motherboard HP
Cooling OEM
Memory 6x Hynix PC3-10700 4GB ECC Buffered RAM, 24GB total
Video Card(s) Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 (SLI)
Storage Dual RAID0 Western Digital 10K RPM SAS drives
Display(s) 1x Samsung 27" LCD, 1x Samsung 24" LED
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Xi-Fi
Power Supply 1.1KW HP Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#5
Yes, the cards are placed in the two PCIe x16 slots. For the most part they are matching - the cards are from different manufacturers but they have the same RAM amount (and from what I've read on the nvidia SLI FAQ site, running different manufacturers of the same model should be okay...). The Z800 uses the Intel 5520 chipset.

I know this computer supports SLI because they've been advertising this machine running quadros in SLI, so I would think running a pair of geforces in SLI shouldn't be a problem...
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#6
Just because it can run Quadros in SLI doesn't mean that the driver will support GeForce cards running in SLI. The driver does a check with the bios to see if the board manufacturer paid the SLI premium.

I don't know if it differentiates from Quadro to Geforce cards though.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Z800
Processor Intel Xeon X5560 @2.8 GHz (dual processor)
Motherboard HP
Cooling OEM
Memory 6x Hynix PC3-10700 4GB ECC Buffered RAM, 24GB total
Video Card(s) Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 (SLI)
Storage Dual RAID0 Western Digital 10K RPM SAS drives
Display(s) 1x Samsung 27" LCD, 1x Samsung 24" LED
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Xi-Fi
Power Supply 1.1KW HP Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#7
are you talking the nvidia driver or a chipset driver?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#8
The nVidia driver looks to make sure the board is on the approved SLI list. If it is not, then SLI is not allowed. There is some check that is added in the BIOS and that is what the driver checks for.

Like I said, HP may have paid for SLI on Quadro cards, but that doesn't mean that the same fee pays for Geforce cards. Though that is just speculation on my part.

Your best bet would be to contact HP and ask them is SLI with GeFroce cards are supported on this system.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
The 5520 doesn't support SLi with desktop card.

You can try it with HyperSLI, but I'm not sure if HyperSLI is still working, I haven't been keeping up on it lately.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
24
System Name AMD
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX R2.0
Cooling Noctua u12p se2
Memory Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 4GB
Storage Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Packard Bell 22
Case Coolermaster CM690 III
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC892
Power Supply OCZ ZS550W
#10

Attachments

Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,527 (0.46/day)
Likes
375
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#11
Check the SLI bridge? When I upgraded boards I had to use my old bridge because the one I got with the new board wouldn't work. Dunno why, brand new. Maybe it got fried or is a defective part. Not sure if its a common issue or not with the bridges.