• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gtx770 fps dips

Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
in battlefield 3 my fps dips to 19 when explosion from 78 plz help gpu temp and cpu temp r fine and gpu is 99% in game
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
in battlefield 3 my fps dips to 19 when explosion from 78 plz help gpu temp and cpu temp r fine and gpu is 99% in game
What processor are you using? Explosions in BF3 use PhysX if I'm not mistaken, and the hit you're taking is probably from that. Check NVidia Control Panel to see what your physx is being processed by.
 

myfishbear

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
how hot is the card running at during game play? if it gets around 80 it slows down the card like crazy
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,693 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,926
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#5
if it gets around 80 it slows down the card like crazy
It should't be that much of a slowdown, especially not to 19 fps when sandy i5 + gtx 770 can run it over 60fps.

@OP What version of nvidia drivers are you using? Have you tried latest betas or have you tried "clean install" of the drivers with physx reinstall. You might as well uncheck 3DVision and their geforce experience software suite if you don't use them.

One more thing to check: is your graphics card running in pcie x4 mode? You can check it in GPU-Z.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
What processor are you using? Explosions in BF3 use PhysX if I'm not mistaken, and the hit you're taking is probably from that. Check NVidia Control Panel to see what your physx is being processed by.


No. BF3 does not have Nvidia Physx.

The game engine uses its own physics called destruction 3.0, If I'm right for the name. which is processed by the CPU.


+1 with checking PCI-E mode, Temp, clock (with GPUZ), and make sure you have the 2 power cable connected to your card.

Please fill your system spec also.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
No. BF3 does not have Nvidia Physx.

The game engine uses its own physics called destruction 3.0, If I'm right for the name. which is processed by the CPU.


+1 with checking PCI-E mode, Temp, clock (with GPUZ), and make sure you have the 2 power cable connected to your card.

Please fill your system spec also.
My bad, it was an older BF that used Physx.
The 80 degree throttling limit can cause lower frames, but I doubt his card will get that hot somehow in BF3, unless he's overclocked and not configured the OC correctly.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Check for driver update.

What setting do you use on the game? What is your system spec? (PSU)
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#10
thnx for reply my psu is seasonic x650 80+gold
i5 2500k @stock
asus p8b75
16gb ram running @1333
game settings all ultra @1080p and i have tried all drivers
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#11
None of the dang NVidia drivers seem to be doing my 770 any justice, either, and we have very similar computer specs. I'm currently back to 320.49 as others didn't provide stable gpu usage. They also give me crashes with the bccode of 116, which is graphics driver related. I would bet that is your issue as well.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#12
What processor are you using? Explosions in BF3 use PhysX if I'm not mistaken, and the hit you're taking is probably from that. Check NVidia Control Panel to see what your physx is being processed by.
Nothing in Battlefield uses Nvidia PhysX.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
Keep task manager and GPUz open when you're gaming. Cause an explosion and then jump out of the game real quick. You should be able to use GPUz to see the framerate drop, and check to see if the GPU is maxed or the CPU when the drop happens. A stock 2500k might not be enough to handle Battlefield's physics on Ultra settings.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#14
will try it too but i am using msi burner osd and hw info which shows gpu tem mram used gpu used and all 4 cpu cores separately mine cpu doesnt go above 81
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
301 (0.16/day)
Likes
113
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#15
will try it too but i am using msi burner osd and hw info which shows gpu tem mram used gpu used and all 4 cpu cores separately mine cpu doesnt go above 81
81C° for an i5 is actually close to throttling limit.

I know what you are speaking of an big explosion in your face like a tank you repaired and blow up in front of you. Fps dips down hard only had that on my old 480gtx cards in sli with my 670 or 680 no ditch noticeable.

TCASE 72.6°C
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#16
Try the newest betas. 326.41. BF3 performance is really good with those and my 780.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#17
will try it too but i am using msi burner osd and hw info which shows gpu tem mram used gpu used and all 4 cpu cores separately mine cpu doesnt go above 81
Yeah, 81 is a horrible temperature for your cpu, not so much because of damage to your processor, but if your gpu temps are good and your cpu are so crappy it means inadequate cooler or poor mounting.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.71/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#18
Yeah, 81 is a horrible temperature for your cpu, not so much because of damage to your processor, but if your gpu temps are good and your cpu are so crappy it means inadequate cooler or poor mounting.
This is probably because he is using it with the stock Intel cooler,i think 81c peak temp is fine considering its summer.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#19
This is probably because he is using it with the stock Intel cooler,i think 81c peak temp is fine considering its summer.
That's what I assumed, and is pretty unacceptable.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#20
thnx all for ur reply but lol its mt cpu peak usage in game not temp my temp is 67 max its in bf3 and in metro ll max cpu is 68 when i am getting 23 fps
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
Is that peak for all 4 cores combined, or peak for the highest used core?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
81C peak is quite high anyway.

if you can log CPU speed and temp while gaming, this could help.

What about the hard drive? when you get a drop, do you hear the hard drive scraching? Do you see it working hard?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
highest core is 81 in bf3
Hmm, IDK then, I still think it might be the CPU, but I just saw your RAM is only at 1333, that might be an issue as well.

81C peak is quite high anyway.

if you can log CPU speed and temp while gaming, this could help.

What about the hard drive? when you get a drop, do you hear the hard drive scraching? Do you see it working hard?
We're talking usage not temperature.