• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide how to flash back an AMD Radeon card?

mischlig

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100t Non OC
Motherboard ASUS M5 A88-V Evo
Memory 4x4 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 6950 flashed to 6970
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD
Display(s) ASUS VE248
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 750 (bit op)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
[Solved] Guide how to flash back an AMD Radeon card?

is it possible to write down a few steps how to flash back an amd radeon in general?

I own a 6950 2GB with bios switch. i flashed the card to 6970 with this atiwinflash but now i get a blackscreen during boot.

ive searched bit trought the forums and i didntt found a tut how to flash back!


What i did:

Checked that the bios switch on my card is on pos. 1
Run the atiwinflash as admin
saved the old bios.rom
flashed the card
restarted

now here i stuck. it will only give me a black screen.

ive read something that i do have to uninstall my vga drivers first? is that true?

if that causes the blackscreeen i can simply uninstall my vga drivers now as i am booted from my 6950 in bios switch 2...
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,699 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,436
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
I would try removing the drivers first if you can get to safe mode.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,646 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,427
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Here read THIS. It should help ya.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt

mischlig

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100t Non OC
Motherboard ASUS M5 A88-V Evo
Memory 4x4 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 6950 flashed to 6970
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD
Display(s) ASUS VE248
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 750 (bit op)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
I would try removing the drivers first if you can get to safe mode.
i was able to boot my system regular after i switched my amd bios to pos 2... i am right now booted into my system with the 6950...
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,646 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,427
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
copied from Wiz post...

In case your card does not boot at all you can use AMD's new backup BIOS feature:

Set the BIOS switch (pictured above) in the 2 position to enable the recovery BIOS and restart the computer. This will let you boot the card without problems.
Boot into Windows/DOS prompt and get ready to flash the card - do not start the flashing process just yet.
Set the BIOS switch in the 1 position with the system running and ready to flash.
Flash your saved BIOS to the card.
Reboot, done.

The dual BIOS feature is just an added convenience for easier recovery, it is not a requirement for this kind of modding, nor is it evidence that AMD has planned their cards with unlocking in mind.
 

mischlig

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100t Non OC
Motherboard ASUS M5 A88-V Evo
Memory 4x4 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 6950 flashed to 6970
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD
Display(s) ASUS VE248
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 750 (bit op)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
what software i have to put on the USB? oO

When you have made a bootable USB drive, download your favourite BIOS flashing software. (Eg. ATIFlash for ATI users and NVFlash for nVIDIA users)
the same as i used to flash to 6970? this atiwinflash?

oh wait. nvm.. its this http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2166/ATIFlash_3.99.html


well. i first will uninstall my drivers and ill check if this will fixes it. if not i have to flash back -.- ill let you guys know
 

mischlig

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100t Non OC
Motherboard ASUS M5 A88-V Evo
Memory 4x4 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 6950 flashed to 6970
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD
Display(s) ASUS VE248
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 750 (bit op)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
Boot into Windows/DOS prompt and get ready to flash the card - do not start the flashing process just yet.
what does he mean by that? how to boot into windows/dos prompt?
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,646 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,427
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
HERE

you can flash back and forth using this method as well.
 

mischlig

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100t Non OC
Motherboard ASUS M5 A88-V Evo
Memory 4x4 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 6950 flashed to 6970
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD
Display(s) ASUS VE248
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 750 (bit op)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
hey, thanks guys.

i know fixed it somehow without flashing it back

i downloaded this RBE and loaded my default bios .rom backup! ive edited it and enabled the 6970 shaders and flashed my radeon with atiwinflash with that modified .rom

now it works. my shaders are at 1536 so that means there are unlocked now _but_

for some reason my amd control center wont show up anymore oO curious about what is causing this?

i had no drivers installed. flashed my card, restarted the system and installed my amd drivers but there is no amd control center in my taskbar. i could reach it via right click, there is still this amd control center but it will not open it. oO

edit: ill restart once more (i did right after the amd driver setup) and see if it fixes it. but i doubt it


edit2: well, dont know why but had to uninstall it with the amd control center setup package and reinstall. the uninstall via device manager was not enough. now it works thanks all got my 6950 flashed :p

/close
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#11
Try reinstalling drivers. I think 12.11 or 12.12(forget the number)beta are the bomb. Go to AMD's website and get the newest beta driver. It is really good.