• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[GUIDE]HOW TO: Two Monitor/Keyboard/Mouse/Users on One PC in Windows

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,857 (0.66/day)
Likes
517
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#1
HOW TO: Two Monitor/Keyboard/Mouse/Users - One PC on Windows :slap:



This guide will show you how to set up a PC that can be used by 2 people at the same time.:cool:

Its good if there are other people living/visiting in your house that wants to use Computer but you don't have an extra and you're using yours.

You can even play World of Warcraft and other Not so new games with 2 users in One PC!
(Use NAT and set up the Network in you Second OS, and Yes you can PLAY LAN and see each other's Games)

We tried LAN in CS and Warcraft. you can even connect the second OS to your network if you have just like normal.

You will need:
Windows OS
VMware Workstation or VMware player
2 Monitors(ofcourse that can be connected in your PC)
USB Keyboard for the second OS
USB mouse for the second OS
Any KB/Mouse for the Host. (I have a PS/2 KB and USB mouse for my Host.)



First you must know how to create a Virtual OS using VMware. (I used Windows 7 for my second OS)
heres how to Link here(This is Windows 7 Beta but its just the same)

Configure your Windows Virtual OS the way you like. and make sure to check these options

Enter fullscreen mode after powering on.


Enable 3d Acceleration = If you want to play games.(supports DX9):roll:
Game Compatibility List(Not Complete)



Check automatically connect new USB devices(Its grayed here because I already turned on the Virtual OS)


If you haven't, Enable your Second Monitor.


Now Drag the VMware Workstation Window to the Second Monitor



Power on the Virtual Machine. It should be in full screen on the second monitor. then.


Go to removable devices and check the USB KB and Mouse for the second OS.
IF IT DOESN'T WORK. unplugged both and connect them both again at the same time.
The "Automatically connect new USB devices option" will connect them.:slap:

NOTE: While someone is using the Second OS, you can still interfere with it and control it.
Pressing Windows + D(which i do often) will minimize the Second OS.
When you enable Preview Desktop with Aero Peek. It will also hide the Second OS.
When opening games or any fullscreen 3d program. The screen will flicker in the host(its normal). The second monitor/OS will flicker too.;)

Congratulations. You now have successfully faked a second Computer within your PC.:toast::rockout:


 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#2
thanx for the heads up, been looking for an easy way to do exacly that.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#3
Nice guide, Lyndon. If it gets a lot of traffic we'll consider stickying it.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
this sounds amusing

oh its just VMware fullscreened :(
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,324 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,729
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#5
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#6
this sounds amusing

oh its just VMware fullscreened :(
lol yeah that part does suck, but it does get the job done.


better to have the option then not ^^
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,857 (0.66/day)
Likes
517
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#8
thanks guys :p
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#9

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,857 (0.66/day)
Likes
517
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#10
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#11

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,857 (0.66/day)
Likes
517
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#12
will good for schools and other learning centers like parks and museums. \m/
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#13
same reaction that i had mussels ^^, tho i have never acutaly done it with VmWare.


EDIT:

i just found this http://blogs.windowsclient.net/rob_...nted-2-users-on-1-pc-now-it-is-happening.aspx

it was published today a few hrs ago ^^ apparely there adding the capability to windows server, im going to read the rest of it now.
Has been talked about for a while now, its just the same as terminal server though without the need for a seperate client for each user so it is ideal in classrooms labs etc though there are only so many display and usb ports for keyboards one can have on a single machine
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
It should be noted that VMWare player can do this, there is no need for the $200 VMWare Workstation program.(Not sure if VMWare player allows 3D Acceleration though, I'm not at my VM machine to check.) Nevermind, I did have it installed on this machine, and it does allow 3D Acceleration.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,857 (0.66/day)
Likes
517
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#15
It should be noted that VMWare player can do this, there is no need for the $200 VMWare Workstation program.(Not sure if VMWare player allows 3D Acceleration though, I'm not at my VM machine to check.)
yes Vmware player should. i will add it.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#16
It should be noted that VMWare player can do this, there is no need for the $200 VMWare Workstation program.(Not sure if VMWare player allows 3D Acceleration though, I'm not at my VM machine to check.) Nevermind, I did have it installed on this machine, and it does allow 3D Acceleration.
Only open GL based support isnt it, not DX ?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#17
Has been talked about for a while now, its just the same as terminal server though without the need for a seperate client for each user so it is ideal in classrooms labs etc though there are only so many display and usb ports for keyboards one can have on a single machine
YEAH, you can only connect umm... 128 per a bus so.... 64 users on 1 pc. i think thats enough?

if you add a nother USB card then u can connect another 128 devices. your going to run out of ports to plug monitors in a lot sooner, unless your using those new USB monitors


does anyone have any solid infomation if multiserver can run Direct X games, or how well it shares the resourses of the CPU and Video card?
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,857 (0.66/day)
Likes
517
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#18
Only open GL based support isnt it, not DX ?
not sure about that, this link says that: it offers experimental support for DirectX 9.0c with Shader Model 3 and OpenGL. :toast:

and what i meant was it can run many DX9 games. :D :D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#19
YEAH, you can only connect umm... 128 per a bus so.... 64 users on 1 pc. i think thats enough?

if you add a nother USB card then u can connect another 128 devices. your going to run out of ports to plug monitors in a lot sooner, unless your using those new USB monitors


does anyone have any solid infomation if multiserver can run Direct X games, or how well it shares the resourses of the CPU and Video card?
where are you going to get 128 usb ports from?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
where are you going to get 128 usb ports from?
3 x 4 Port PCI USB Cards
12 x 10 Port USB Hubs

...not that I've done that before to see what would happen...:roll:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#22
hubs connected to hubs connected to...
The whole point of this is to share a pc between users, if you wanted 64+ users you would go TS and have it dumped in a server room/ data centre otherwise it wouldnt be practical to be in the same room as the users due to the mess of cabling not too mention for anywhere near 64 users you are going to be looking at a top end quad/dual, 8Gb+ ram, 10k scsi/sas drives etc, well done you just created a terminal server in a classroom :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#23
The whole point of this is to share a pc between users, if you wanted 64+ users you would go TS and have it dumped in a server room/ data centre otherwise it wouldnt be practical to be in the same room as the users due to the mess of cabling not too mention for anywhere near 64 users you are going to be looking at a top end quad/dual, 8Gb+ ram, 10k scsi/sas drives etc, well done you just created a terminal server in a classroom :laugh:
Somthing wrong with doing that? :p


a single USB bus can connect to a total of 128 USB devices using hubs. 1 keyboard 1 mouse for each will give u a max of 64 users, of course you would never reach that point, not intentinaly. chances are you will run out of DVI / HDMI / DP ports to plug in monitors long before then (unless you plan on using USB monitors, in witch case it would be 128 devided by 4) (1x keyboard 1x mouse 2x monitor) i havnt seen a monitor that can only use 1.




now of course this is not intended to be used by more then 16 users max at the same time i belive.


the real question worth asking is how well does it balance the user power requierments. can you get it to run 50/50 with 2 users. if so, you can effectivly build one gaming system for 2 or even 3 people, im sure 1 5870 / GTX480 is enough to power 2 games at high to mediem high settings @ 1080p.

of course this is NOT intended for the enthusiest who wants ultra high graphics and silky smooth game play but rather an easy setup so you and your Brother/friend/cousin could both game on the same pc. better yet, so you can Game on the family PC wile your parents/whoever does there spreadsheets / google recipes or even homework.

but then again, who runs windows server in there home with only 1 pc ? :p
 
Last edited:

Towlieee

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
I've done this, but my second keyboard/mouse wont work. It connects to the virtual machine and disconnects from my host just fine, but the mouse pointer wont move or anything in my virtual machine.

I've tried unplugging it and replugging it, restarting my entire pc, nothing. I've tried multiple times, I'm lost.

Anyone have any ideas? Btw sorry for bumping a old post, this is the only good guide I've found.

Also I'm running windows 7 x64 with all the latest updates on my pc and the virtual pc.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#25
All thought i would not use one PC for 2 user or more since i already got 3 PC's running in my house & got many more parts & screen to built about 5-6 PC's lol! (good enough for Internet)

Anyhow i thank the OP for is guide but most importantly for the information about VMware been able to use 3D i didn't know that , last time i tried VMware & MS VPC there were not 3D support good to know that VMware does now , i think i am gona use VMware again...:)