• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to Radeon X800/X850 bios modding

Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
666 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
System Name Good enough
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard ASrock Z68 Extreme 7
Cooling Megahalem
Memory 16G crucial sport BLS2KIT8G3D1339DS1S00
Video Card(s) 780 ti kingpin
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III
Display(s) Some Korean 2560 1440 thing with surround x 3 asus vh238
Case Lian Li Knockoff
Audio Device(s) logitech g930
Power Supply Evga SuperNOVA 1600. Won the early adopter contest paid 175 a/r, overkill
Software Win 8
Benchmark Scores 4.3 steady axtu slider overclock. Worship me.
Awesome

Hey Dolf, can you email me that? I tried to overclock it and didn't use the step two I found to get it to overclock, therefore when I did overclock it black screened fairly quickly.

I'm matt@setuplinux.com if you can hook me up

It's not a vivo card I don't think. I don't remember seeing that yellow thing.

Also, I think the x800xt-pe uses the r481 chip, is that a problem? Cool to see after all this time you're still helping people dolf, I know people appreciate it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
666 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
System Name Good enough
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard ASrock Z68 Extreme 7
Cooling Megahalem
Memory 16G crucial sport BLS2KIT8G3D1339DS1S00
Video Card(s) 780 ti kingpin
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III
Display(s) Some Korean 2560 1440 thing with surround x 3 asus vh238
Case Lian Li Knockoff
Audio Device(s) logitech g930
Power Supply Evga SuperNOVA 1600. Won the early adopter contest paid 175 a/r, overkill
Software Win 8
Benchmark Scores 4.3 steady axtu slider overclock. Worship me.
Whoa whoa whoa

I just read the specs on the x800xt-pe and it was on break but they said that was the best agp card on the market. Are you seriously saying my card can crank that quality out?

I only paid $94 for this thing and they said the x800xt-pe went for $499 retail.

Also, to anyone reading this, whats a kickass cooler for these? If I'm interpreting correctly then 20 or even 40 bucks makes this board worth the extra money for oc'ing if I can keep it cool. The x800xt-pe looked like it was a double din unit blowing the heat out the back which I'm not sure will fit based on the crappy layout of my mobo.
 
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
666 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
System Name Good enough
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard ASrock Z68 Extreme 7
Cooling Megahalem
Memory 16G crucial sport BLS2KIT8G3D1339DS1S00
Video Card(s) 780 ti kingpin
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III
Display(s) Some Korean 2560 1440 thing with surround x 3 asus vh238
Case Lian Li Knockoff
Audio Device(s) logitech g930
Power Supply Evga SuperNOVA 1600. Won the early adopter contest paid 175 a/r, overkill
Software Win 8
Benchmark Scores 4.3 steady axtu slider overclock. Worship me.
And...

For clarification, I used the tool based on your post here but I didn't use the overclock ability from the the utility you on page 35 where you told someone
I would suggest also a direct link to "your" utility: http://www.savefile.com/projects/733218
(Automated Flash Utility for X800GTO AGP with R480 and Realto bridge). Read the flash instructions before to start flashing.
Please to report what are your max. core / memory after unlocking to 16 pipes. When you determine the max. core/memory you can choose one of the overclocked BIOSes included within the utility.

Good luck
The reason being is the ati tool stated.
ATITool did not exit properly. Crash because of too high overclock?
Last working frequency was Core: 465.75 MHz-memory:492.75.

It black screens at a little over 460 every time and your bootable disc states 500/500 is the least core and memory oc on the disc and I didn't want to overclock and ruin the card.

So I'm wondering if that was the wrong utility to unlock as it is showing currently 16 pipes but I can't get anywhere near 500 Mhz.

For final clarification my stats now are showing

Device name 0x5d4f: R480, Bus:1, Dev:0

Device ID 5d4f
Chip name R480
Host Interface AGP
Catalyst Version unknown
Memory size 256 MB
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Bus Width 256 Bit
Active Pipelines 16
Default GPU Clock 400.00 MHz
Default mem Clock 490.00
CONFIG_DIE_FUSES 0XFFFFFFFFF
CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES 0XFFFFFFF9F
CONFIG_ROM_FUSES 0X260
GB_PIPE_SELECT 0X3FE4
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.42/day)
Likes
30
Hey Dolf, can you email me that? I tried to overclock it and didn't use the step two I found to get it to overclock, therefore when I did overclock it black screened fairly quickly.

I'm matt@setuplinux.com if you can hook me up

It's not a vivo card I don't think. I don't remember seeing that yellow thing.

Also, I think the x800xt-pe uses the r481 chip, is that a problem? Cool to see after all this time you're still helping people dolf, I know people appreciate it.
Sorry but I have't seen that your card is AGP. And promise something which is not true. Your card probably has R430 which still can be unlocked to 16 pipes but can't be overclocked more than 420-450MHz. Attach here your original BIOS.
 
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
666 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
System Name Good enough
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard ASrock Z68 Extreme 7
Cooling Megahalem
Memory 16G crucial sport BLS2KIT8G3D1339DS1S00
Video Card(s) 780 ti kingpin
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III
Display(s) Some Korean 2560 1440 thing with surround x 3 asus vh238
Case Lian Li Knockoff
Audio Device(s) logitech g930
Power Supply Evga SuperNOVA 1600. Won the early adopter contest paid 175 a/r, overkill
Software Win 8
Benchmark Scores 4.3 steady axtu slider overclock. Worship me.
Sorry but I have't seen that your card is AGP. And promise something which is not true. Your card probably has R430 which still can be unlocked to 16 pipes but can't be overclocked more than 420-450MHz. Attach here your original BIOS.

No dolf, if you look a couple posts up you'll see the card stats. It is agp and I removed the stock cooler & I'm certain it's an r480 chip.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.42/day)
Likes
30
No dolf, if you look a couple posts up you'll see the card stats. It is agp and I removed the stock cooler & I'm certain it's an r480 chip.
Doesn't matter R480 or R430 is the chip your card should have Realto bridge. In this case it could be with blue board - then you can use that: http://savefile.com/projects/733218 or with red board and you can use that: http://savefile.com/projects/971168.

Of course it could be red (case 1) and with R480 (then it is better to save your original BIOS). The core voltage in both cases is not like on X850XT (1.4V) and probably your R480 won't go so high like expected. If you want to overclock it havy you will need at minimum 1.4V on the core and much much better colling.
 
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
666 (0.16/day)
Likes
66
System Name Good enough
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard ASrock Z68 Extreme 7
Cooling Megahalem
Memory 16G crucial sport BLS2KIT8G3D1339DS1S00
Video Card(s) 780 ti kingpin
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III
Display(s) Some Korean 2560 1440 thing with surround x 3 asus vh238
Case Lian Li Knockoff
Audio Device(s) logitech g930
Power Supply Evga SuperNOVA 1600. Won the early adopter contest paid 175 a/r, overkill
Software Win 8
Benchmark Scores 4.3 steady axtu slider overclock. Worship me.
Doesn't matter R480 or R430 is the chip your card should have Realto bridge. In this case it could be with blue board - then you can use that: http://savefile.com/projects/733218 or with red board and you can use that: http://savefile.com/projects/971168.

Of course it could be red (case 1) and with R480 (then it is better to save your original BIOS). The core voltage in both cases is not like on X850XT (1.4V) and probably your R480 won't go so high like expected. If you want to overclock it havy you will need at minimum 1.4V on the core and much much better colling.
Thanks again Dolf. It's the blue board, here is a picture of my original bios, couldn't get photobucket to upload files, only pictures I just took pictures of it from rabit.

So can I safely use the utility from this link?
http://savefile.com/projects/733218

With this bios.
http://s202.photobucket.com/albums/aa285/TemperVale/?action=view&current=Bios.jpg

I'm debating on buying the vf900 zalman cooler which I could use later on a different card when I upgrade my system. I read it'll cool my card like a champ.
 
Likes: dolf

Spid

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Pentium 4 2.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P4 Tytan 875P
Cooling Standard
Memory 2x 512MB Hynix
Video Card(s) X800 Pro 256MB DDR 3 (non-Vivo)
Storage Seagate 80Gb
Display(s) Sony SDM S51
Case Modecom
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy
Power Supply Modecom 350Wat
Software Windows XP Pro.
Hey guys, I got X800 Pro non-VIVO (from the first series) based on R420, with Samsung 2.0Ns 256 GDDR3 Ram. I can overclock it to XT even XT Pe clock without problem on standard cooling. Can i unlock extra 4 pipelines ?

0x4A49 Bus:1 Dev:0

Device ID: 4A49
Chip Type: R420
CONFIG_DIE_FUSES 0xFFF3BFFF
CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES 0xFFFFFF1E
CONFIG_ROM_FUSES 0x20
GB_PIPE_SELECT 0x12B84

I saw that people having AIW X800 based on R420 where able to unlock extra pipelines, is it possible in my case ?
 

KKnot

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi!

I need some help.

I have a ati x800 GTO 512Mb, but i dont know if i can change the bios

ati tool says that:

0x554F: R430, Bus:1, dev: 0

Device ID 554F
Chip name R430
Host interface PCI E
Memory type 512Mb
Memory type DDR2
Memory bus Width 256bits
Active pipelines 16
GPU clock 400mhz
Mem clock 400mhz
config_die_fusses 0xFFFFFFFF
config_substrate_fuses 0xFFFFFFFF

Im not very good at english but im trying to do it, can someone help me? Its my card modeable?

Thx
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
AIW X800 XT mem clock problem

Hey man, I believe Im having problems, either with my card or with ati tool detecting it, my card is an All In Wonder x800 xt and the clocks are specified to be 500 mhz for the core and 1000 mhz for the mem, but ATItool says its mem clock is only 500 mhz!!!! what should I do?????
acoording to ATItool this are my cards specs:

DeviceID 4A4B
Chip Name R420
Host Interface AGP
Mem Size 256
Mem type DDR3
Mem Bus Width 256-bit
Active Pipelines 16
Default GPU clock 500Mhz
Default Mem Clock 500Mhz
Config_Die_fuses 0xEFF7FFFF
Config_substrate_fuses 0xFFFFFF9F
Config_rom_fuses 0x20
GB_pipe_select 0x3FE4

Thanks in advanced for your help.
 

naibaf7

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
So:

500Mhz Memory Clock = 1000Mhz DDR RAM Clock

you can set Memory Clock to 600Mhz (1200Mhz DDR Clock)
 

lpfreak

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sydney, Australia
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S983
Memory Geil DDR667 2x1024MB
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce Gigabyte Turboforce 8800GT 512MB
Storage Western Digital SATA II 320gb
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 730BF
Case Antec Plusview II
Audio Device(s) Intel ICH9
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550w
Software Windows XP PROFESSIONAL SP3
i have a gecube x800gt 256m pci-e with infineon mem chips, omega drivers pick up as x800se and ati drivers pick up as x800gt, i've removed cooler and it says r480 core but in ati tool it says r423.
CONFIG_DIE_FUSE 0xFFFFEFF
CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES 0xFFFFFF9D
CONFIG_ROM_FUSES 0x9E0
GB_PIPE_SELECT 0x5650

can i mod it?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.42/day)
Likes
30
i have a gecube x800gt 256m pci-e with infineon mem chips, omega drivers pick up as x800se and ati drivers pick up as x800gt, i've removed cooler and it says r480 core but in ati tool it says r423.
CONFIG_DIE_FUSE 0xFFFFEFF
CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES 0xFFFFFF9D
CONFIG_ROM_FUSES 0x9E0
GB_PIPE_SELECT 0x5650

can i mod it?
It seems already moded to 12 pipes? The only thing that you can do is to mod the device ID in order the core to be recognized like R480 (not R423) which could bring some % more performance :).
 

lpfreak

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sydney, Australia
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S983
Memory Geil DDR667 2x1024MB
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce Gigabyte Turboforce 8800GT 512MB
Storage Western Digital SATA II 320gb
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 730BF
Case Antec Plusview II
Audio Device(s) Intel ICH9
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550w
Software Windows XP PROFESSIONAL SP3
well right now im not 100% sure what card i have, would you know? its badged as an x800gt but omega driver picks up as x800SE, according to wiki, i match neither specs because ati tool says my core is 500mhz and mem is 500mhz.
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/lpcr1t1cal/oc.png
gecube website also says that it only has 8 pipes, i also emailed them, awaiting reply.
 
Last edited:

EngineD

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor INTEL Dual Core 925 3.00GHz 4M
Motherboard Foxconn 975X7AA-8ERKS2H
Cooling Intel Cooler
Memory Kingmax 2x1gb 667 CL.5
Video Card(s) X800GTO Ultimate(X850XT PE BIOS)
Storage WD 200Gb JB
Display(s) Hanns-G 19"
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Chieftech 560W Cable Management
Software WinXP sp2
i've got an Sapphire X800GTo Ultimate VIVO with R480 GPU and 1.6 samsung memory and i can't activate the other 4 pipelines. The BIOS i'm using right now is an X850XT PE and i mounted an Artic Cooler ver.4 that keeps my GPU at 40 and memory at 45 in normal mode,and in games maximum 55.
Can someone tell me if i can activate the others 4 pipelines?
 

EngineD

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor INTEL Dual Core 925 3.00GHz 4M
Motherboard Foxconn 975X7AA-8ERKS2H
Cooling Intel Cooler
Memory Kingmax 2x1gb 667 CL.5
Video Card(s) X800GTO Ultimate(X850XT PE BIOS)
Storage WD 200Gb JB
Display(s) Hanns-G 19"
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Chieftech 560W Cable Management
Software WinXP sp2
[/IMG]


here is my atitool configuration
 

EngineD

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor INTEL Dual Core 925 3.00GHz 4M
Motherboard Foxconn 975X7AA-8ERKS2H
Cooling Intel Cooler
Memory Kingmax 2x1gb 667 CL.5
Video Card(s) X800GTO Ultimate(X850XT PE BIOS)
Storage WD 200Gb JB
Display(s) Hanns-G 19"
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Chieftech 560W Cable Management
Software WinXP sp2
Dolf...is there any way to bypass the fuses by hardware so it can be actived the 16pipelines mode? and how far i can go with the overclock of R480 and 1.6 Samsung Memories without damage the video card
 

leger

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi All, I have a powercolor x850pro and i flashed the bios to a x850xt with flashrom (following the techpower up vivo x800/x850 unlock 16Pipeline article) and now the fan has stopped working, I have flashed back to original bios and its still not working...
any help would be real cool :)!
 

Drakis

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I installed the card, and it's a R481 core, with 12 pipes.
I flashed it (using dolf's bootcd) to x850pro with 16 pipes.
Reboot, reinstall drivers, reboot again and voila!
16 pipes here we go!!!

Next, i installed a Zalman VF900-Cu with artic silver 5, and put ramsinks on the board.

I haven't overclocked it yet, but anyone has experience with this board to tell me how much will it give? The rams are Samsung 2.0ns so i think they will not give much, maybe x850xt speeds (540)?
 

naibaf7

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
:)

RAM to max. 610Mhz (305Mhz DDR)
GPU to max. 580Mhz (can be instabil)

I have these max. settings with X800GT(O) and Arctic Cooler! Max. temperatur by 50°C :rockout:, as fast as an X850XT non-OC :nutkick:
 

Drakis

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I get 570 core and 580 mem. Remember that my mem's are Samsung 2.0ns.
I scored 6280 on 3DMark 2005.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name Homebrew
Processor Intel I5 4690k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5
Cooling CPU: Prolimatek Megahelim 2+1 exhaust fan GPU: 570lx 240mm AIO w/kraken G10 + Ramsinks
Memory Kingston Hyper-X 2400 Savage 2 x 8Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 56 currently overclocking HBM to 950Mhz from 800Mhz (see above cooling solution)
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb, HGST HDN724040ALE640, ST350064 500Gb, WD10EACS 1Tb, WD20EARS 2Tb
Display(s) Benq GW2265
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Gigabyte M6900
Keyboard Logitech G15 + Wolfking circular gaming KB
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/system-spec.html
Hi, this post is very informative; however I would like some specific information. If someone can help me then please send me a private message. Best Regards,
Spammer?:banghead:
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.42/day)
Likes
30
Dolf...is there any way to bypass the fuses by hardware so it can be actived the 16pipelines mode? and how far i can go with the overclock of R480 and 1.6 Samsung Memories without damage the video card
Unfortunately there isn't way to bypass the fuses (I tried all but the system for disabling of the pipe quads is very simple and deadly effective). Probably it is for good because there should be a reason to disable some pipes. About the overclock you can probably reach 570-600MHz core (but the Vcore should be 1.4V) and 580-610MHz on the memory.
 
Top