• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hackers Get to ASUS Live Update Servers, Plant Malware in Thousands of Computers

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
6,194 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600@CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
23 (0.02/day)
System Name Tybalt
Processor Intel Core i5-4690 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard Asus H97I-PLUS Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S 46.44 CFM CPU Cooler
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 Fury
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 480 GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
Display(s) LG 27EA73LM 60Hz 27.0" Monitor
Case NCase M1V5B2
Audio Device(s) AKG K271 MKII w/ Antlion ModMic 4
Power Supply Corsair SF 600 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular SFX Power Supply
Mouse Mionix NAOS QG
Keyboard KBDFans 5° w/ Tealios/Zealios
Great, you don't have auto-update on. But this problem has been out there for a couple months without anyone knowing about it. So even if you manually update, you could still have done it yourself, no?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
120 (0.03/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name ASUS ROG GL702
Processor Intel i7-7700HQ @ 2.8GHz
Memory 2x8GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX1060M 6GB
Display(s) 1080p
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD585
Mouse FinalMouse
Software Windows 10 64bit
I had it set to auto-update but it never did. It's running an old version from the time I got the notebook.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
392 (0.09/day)
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
668 (0.26/day)
As far as AM4 goes Asrock has good hardware but their bios is a big joke : missing bios options , abysmal ram oc/support , bios updates take ages even for simple bugs and brake more things than they do fix , moved from Fatality AB350 itx to Strix B450-i for this exact reason and i can tell you for sure that ASUS are miles ahead in terms of OC features , relevant bios updates etc etc . If for some reason you don't want to go with ASUS i would advise you to go with MSI especialy now that they have implemented offset voltage , don't make the Asrock mistake !
I can second some of these points building a AsRock B450 based system last week. The BIOS is confusing with the same options in several places. But if you change it in one place it does not change in another. Plus i have a bug with code 98 displaying for nearly a minute before the board boots. Supposedly it's related to PCI-E which i don't even have any devices connected. It's also pretty rich if you reach some option and the help section instead of you know...helping displays: No help string. Like seriously. Did someone forgot to include it or what?

Also no luck overcloking RAM so far. 3000Mhz rated kit and XMP option is unstable at 2933 or anything above it even when keying in specific values from Ryzen DRAM calculator based on my memory (Teamgroup Delta RGB 2x4GB using Micron B-Die chips).

Also unlike ASUS and some others the BIOS does not show what settings you have changed when saving or exiting. You can't select to load or save custom profiles with only keyboard. The RGB tool is unable to control connected RAM sticks from BIOS. The autoupdate tool for ODD-less systems supposedly downloads drivers to...somewhere on disk which i have yet to find where.

God what a mess. I should have gone with ASUS instead. Not saying they are perfect but atleast their hardware and BIOS is manageable. Well except for Z390 VRM-s and windows based software.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,969 (4.28/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64

Psimoes

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2019
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
i did a bios update on my maximus XI this week ,a popup of ez update showed up and updated

am i in danger?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,392 (1.68/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
i did a bios update on my maximus XI this week ,a popup of ez update showed up and updated

am i in danger?
Only if your MAC was one of the targeted which I would highly doubt.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
6,194 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600@CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
i did a bios update on my maximus XI this week ,a popup of ez update showed up and updated

am i in danger?
Nope the program was distributed for ASUS Notebooks. Try running the detection tool they have provided I guarantee it will error out for "unsupported hardware"
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2019
Messages
30 (0.05/day)
System Name NEO
Processor i9-7940X All cores @ 4.8GHZ
Motherboard Asus Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling MO-RA 420 Pro Radiator Stainless Steel, EK X-TOP Revo Dual D5,EK Velocity, Phanteks 1080Ti GPU Block
Memory 64GB Trident Z RGB 3600 Quad Kit
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
Storage Samsung 960Pro, WD Gold 10TB, 2X WD Red 4TB
Display(s) Benq SW320 32" 4k, Samsung 24" Full HD
Case Coolermaster Cosmos 2 (Mod)
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2s, Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro
God what a mess. I should have gone with ASUS instead. Not saying they are perfect but atleast their hardware and BIOS is manageable. Well except for Z390 VRM-s and windows based software.
Their BIOS is the best as far as I am concerned. If only they would make a serious effort on the software front they would be perfect and all features would be working. I really wonder if there is even a manager in charge of all this and why on earth isn't he/she doing something....What is possibly holding them back from solving their software issues? Is it so hard to produce proper motherboard software given the resources and experience of Asus? Is it simple arrogance? Who knows and why should we care when other products "Just Work" (pun intended)....lol.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,392 (1.68/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Their BIOS is the best as far as I am concerned. If only they would make a serious effort on the software front they would be perfect and all features would be working. I really wonder if there is even a manager in charge of all this and why on earth isn't he/she doing something....What is possibly holding them back from solving their software issues? Is it so hard to produce proper motherboard software given the resources and experience of Asus? Is it simple arrogance? Who knows and why should we care when other products "Just Work" (pun intended)....lol.
What motherboard software could you possibly need?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,407 (2.80/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC ULTRA
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
kaspersky=russian
you believe?
I mean, they are HQ'd in Russia. Or do you mean you don't believe them because they are russian? If so that's silly, this is pretty verifiable and they have a good track record on such things. The only thing the US government was suspicious of is what their AV was collecting, and whether it could be secretly seized by the Russian government and/or courts, hardly whether or not it worked or the company was honest.

What motherboard software could you possibly need?
If you ask me the bios should handle all of that, but that seems to be a "times are changing" kind of thing.

Don't AVs in general send info (statistics home) whether you give them permission or not every time they call home to check for a update.
Depends on the AV Vendor but it's hardly rare. The issue is jurisdiction in Kaspersky's case (regarding why the USA pounced on them).
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
6,194 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600@CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
What motherboard software could you possibly need?
Well my Sabertooth has 2 extra fans, one cooling the VRM and one on the board. Without AI Suite I can't control them and they can't do their "magic" reverse dust spin thing and post shut down cooling cycle.
I totally agree with Abaidor, ASUS has the best BIOS BUT the absolute WORST software...There was the period of time a Windows update broke all ASUS software and I was left high and dry. ASUS put a "new" version of AI Suite out as a solution. It didn't even see ANYTHING on my board so it was absolutely useless to me and well ASUS is also terrible with uninstallers, once you get it in there getting it out again is near impossible.
But bottom line I NEED AI Suite and specifically the one for my motherboard, not a generic version.But I strip it down on install to just the bit I need because it always comes with a ton of bloat.Just built a 2600X rig for a friend on an ASUS board recently and it's still the buggy bloated mess even now.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,392 (1.68/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Well my Sabertooth has 2 extra fans, one cooling the VRM and one on the board. Without AI Suite I can't control them and they can't do their "magic" reverse dust spin thing and post shut down cooling cycle.
I totally agree with Abaidor, ASUS has the best BIOS BUT the absolute WORST software...There was the period of time a Windows update broke all ASUS software and I was left high and dry. ASUS put a "new" version of AI Suite out as a solution. It didn't even see ANYTHING on my board so it was absolutely useless to me and well ASUS is also terrible with uninstallers, once you get it in there getting it out again is near impossible.
But bottom line I NEED AI Suite and specifically the one for my motherboard, not a generic version.But I strip it down on install to just the bit I need because it always comes with a ton of bloat.Just built a 2600X rig for a friend on an ASUS board recently and it's still the buggy bloated mess even now.
Understood. My Strix 580 was the worst of my group and the one board from them I owned was nothing fantastic. But I won't touch ASUS after Arez anyway.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
6,194 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600@CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Understood. My Strix 580 was the worst of my group and the one board from them I owned was nothing fantastic. But I won't touch ASUS after Arez anyway.
Oh I'm first to admit ASUS software sucks to high heaven, sadly some of us are dependent on said suck...This fiasco really doesn't surprise me just more of that good old ASUS software...
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2019
Messages
30 (0.05/day)
System Name NEO
Processor i9-7940X All cores @ 4.8GHZ
Motherboard Asus Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling MO-RA 420 Pro Radiator Stainless Steel, EK X-TOP Revo Dual D5,EK Velocity, Phanteks 1080Ti GPU Block
Memory 64GB Trident Z RGB 3600 Quad Kit
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
Storage Samsung 960Pro, WD Gold 10TB, 2X WD Red 4TB
Display(s) Benq SW320 32" 4k, Samsung 24" Full HD
Case Coolermaster Cosmos 2 (Mod)
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2s, Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro
What motherboard software could you possibly need?
As others pointed out I mostly need the Fan control package (Fan Expert 4) and although my motherboard has extensive options in Q-FAN (BIOS) that I use, you always need to reboot in order to make adjustments. Yet, some things are not possible through BIOS. Have a look at Aquaero & Aquasuite and you will see what I mean.

Most probably I will end up with an Aquaero + their LED controllers since both fan/pump/sensor control through BIOS is limited while Aura is simply a piece of junk software once you add some burden to it while it lacks in features and stability. Damn Aura does not even have profiles.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,847 (0.81/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
It really is a guestimation. They know they had 57,000 clients that had the infection and they likely know how many clients have ASUS mobos so it was a simple extrapolation. Symantec reported 13,000 of their clients had it.

What I find the most interesting is that the attackers already knew the MAC addresses they were targeting. I would surmise that they retrieved those from the previous ASUS hack they did.
Cmon, now, symantec couldn't detect malware on a 12 yr old boy's porn laptop.
 
Top