1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hailea Ultra Titan HC 250 WaterChiller

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Knoxx29, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    Hi Lads.

    A few years ago i bought a Hailea Ultra Titan HC-150 Waterchiller but i never used it, it was in it's box all the time, i never opened it, i bought it to cool my ex 3770K which was Overclocked at 5.0GHz 1.37V, it was my best CPU ever, @Nicholas Peyton came with his Waterchiller idea and then i though because i have a Chiller laying around maybe i should give it a try too, so a few weeks ago i sold the Ultra Titan HC-150A and bought a Hailea Ultra Titan HC-250A, the reason why i didn't use the first Chiller was because i delided the 3770K and temps dropped 20c, so i decided not to build the Waterchiller setup.

    The Chiller

    IMG_20170109_222529.jpg
    IMG_20170109_222602.jpg
    IMG_20170110_002427.jpg
    IMG_20170110_104105.jpg IMG_20170110_104128.jpg IMG_20170110_104153.jpg IMG_20170110_104214.jpg

    The original fittings

    IMG_20170110_104307.jpg
    IMG_20170110_105610.jpg
    IMG_20170110_105741.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  2. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    The G 1/4 adapter.

    IMG_20170110_104238.jpg
    IMG_20170110_110144.jpg
    IMG_20170110_104512.jpg IMG_20170110_104535.jpg
    IMG_20170110_104658.jpg IMG_20170110_104725.jpg
    IMG_20170110_104751.jpg

    Thanks for watching.

    More updates coming soon.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  3. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    EK-AF Ball Valve (10mm) G1/4

    IMG_20170110_194434.jpg



    PrimoChill PrimoFlex™ Advanced LRT™ Brilliant UV Blue RETAIL 3m

    IMG_20170110_200428.jpg

    IMG_20170110_200447.jpg


    Innovatek protect IP

    IMG_20170110_200615.jpg


    The right place?

    IMG_20170110_201448.jpg
    IMG_20170110_201519.jpg


    Thanks for watching.

    More updates coming soon.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  4. damian246

    damian246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    look huge, and does it have the desired effect?
    I mean the size almost quadrupled.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  5. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    It is not ready yet because i am waiting for the Coolant, looks big it is not.
     
  6. damian246

    damian246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Well keep us updated ;)
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  7. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    wow it looks the same size as mine, although mine weighs 22kg (just checked)

    Mine isn't that big (now that I'm used to it) but when I first got it, I thought it was massive.

    I'm watching you-tube videos and looking at electrical wiring diagrams,
    for 'Ranco Temperature Controllers'; trying to figure out, how to modify mine for sub-zero. And scratching my head lol...

    I need to replace the Stock Temperature Panel on the front (like on Knoxx29's picture) with a new Temperature Controller to enable it to go below 3 degrees C.

    Anyway good pictures Knoxx, keep us updated :) Very interested :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    damian246 and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  8. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    I will.

    The Coolant will be delivered tomorrow

    IMG_20170110_203954.jpg
     
  9. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    Easy, you just have to modify the temp sensor.
     
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,094 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,247
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm sure he'd prefer a step by step instruction. Go on, help him out - he did 'motivate you' after all.
     
    Nicholas Peyton and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  11. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    That is why i am looking for the Thread where i read about the mod.
     
    the54thvoid and Nicholas Peyton say thanks.
  12. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    I might open it up tonight and see if I can locate the thermometer.

    It would be easier than trying to install a new controller.

    Then I could take the water temperature using a probe connected to my fan controller instead. Or even use GPU temp to measure it. GPU temp seems to match water temp at idle to within 1 degree.. or within 10 degrees at full 275w load.

    Might need to drain loop first, as the thermometer is probably in the tank with coolant..
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  13. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    I am looking to see what i find.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?280406-Hailea-HC-500A-waterchiller-controller
     
    Nicholas Peyton says thanks.
  14. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yup I've been on that one.

    This is the one I was looking at tonight: (and they mention replacing the controller with a ranco temperature controller). I checked the Ranco Temperature Controller details on Ebay and it allows -30 settings.

    http://midlifegamers.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=1558

    But accessing the thermometer and moving it to a different location (outside the unit) would potentially be a much easier, temporary solution. I believe the wire its on is a 30cm (so I've read).

    Wishing I'd done this now, before I'd filled it lol.

    But last month; I was too excited to get it set up. Didn't want to risk taking it apart and breaking anything before I'd even checked to see if it was working. (grabbed it on Ebay at an amazing price 2nd hand)
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  15. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
  16. damian246

    damian246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    18 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm pretty sure you could watch you tube videos with out sub zero cooler application around the CPU.
    Did you notice any feel-able difference between super cooled PC and before?
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  17. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yup :)

    And this is what he's said (Pulse88)... I'll try and quote it here:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    What you nead for mod is:
    -ranco etc-111000-000 controller(singlestage) easy find on ebay.
    Next step its controller installation
    -First 1650cp electricity diagram
    1.[​IMG]
    Dont read what i have whrite on electricity manual its wrong
    2.[​IMG]
    3.[​IMG]
    1.Blue/(white in my controller) is com cable (L in diagram)
    2.brown/brown is 240v (ac1 or N cable in diagram)
    3. Red/(Black in my controller) is CL,fan etc (evry ting that neads controlling)
    - As seen in picture 2 and 3 you nead to put a cable between 240v and C
    -If you have wired wrong the chiller wont start.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    /\ That is instructions for the Hailea HC 1000a (bigger than mine or yours) the 1 full Horse Power Unit.

    But I figure the wiring principles can't be that different.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  18. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    Not at all, its just a hobby... :)

    Subzero is always the "dream that's never quite possible" when you begin water cooling.

    So actually managing it, using your EK water cooling equipment, for example.. is kind of exciting.

    I could go and play a game I suppose, lol...
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  19. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    :roll:
     
  20. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    I think he might be using the Ranco Temperature Controller as the actual power source for Chiller (like how it gets its power normally by plugging into Socket in the Wall).
    and the Chiller's regular plug is just plugged into a surge protector that has been wired up to the Ranco Controller.

    For that to work; he'd have to short out the Chiller's stock Temp Controller/circuit board, to force the Chiller to *always* run when power is switched on.

    That would also be another way of doing it if the thermometer isn't accessible. I wouldn't even need the ranco controller.. I could just bridge the connections on the Chiller's stock circuit board, to bypass the thermostat completely. Then as soon as I hit the power (switch at socket in the wall) the chiller switches on.... regardless of temperature

    Like this:
    delete_me.jpg
    By bridging the two connections circled in pink (brown wire).
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  21. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    @Nicholas Peyton

    Forget that i will try subzero temps, i don't want to have anything to do with it, well, at least until some manufacturer make waterproof Hardwares:D
     
  22. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    lol when I first got the chiller I was happy to be hitting these amazing temps.

    But two weeks later I got the "subzero bug".. I knew I already owned most of the equipment to actually do it.. the only thing stopping me going subzero now, was me.....

    That's when I decided I have to do it.

    Just to say I did it once, in life.. lol

    Knoxx maybe you will, probably you won't.. but maybe in two weeks you will get the bug, like me.. lol -- won't be happy with 3c anymore.. you'll want more :) lol -- maybe ;-)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  23. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,959
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    Have you tested your room temperatures with the Chiller on and off to see how much heat the Chiller generate?
     
  24. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    I've not recorded the results.... but with the chiller switched on for an hour last night.. it made the temperature in the room rise a good couple of degrees.. its like a small heater lol...

    I just open the windows wide open for a few minutes to bring indoor temp back in line...
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  25. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    705 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,024
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Exactly. ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)