• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Half my memory slots suddenly not working right...

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,468 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well thanks for the help guys. I pulled all sticks, scrubbed the contacts, blew out the slots, put it back together and voila all 32gbs working again. Bizarre, but makes me very happy!
Contact problems, electron migration too
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Supporter
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,464 (1.24/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, EVO 860 500GB
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
More than that, age and degradation. I looks like my cpu is slowly dying... realized today I can't go back to 1866 ram speeds, it just boot loops. 1600 I can still stress test it and it passes. Was looking at used x99 stuff, and realized I can barely afford the ram, the mobos aren't bad used.. but the used desktop cpus are ridiculous. 400+us. I need cores for vms, but I would also like to game once in a while. Intel xeons are too slow for gaming.
I guess the next best thing is a used ryzen 1700 system for a fraction of the price. But then I have to find friggin samsumg b-die dimms for cheap. This is going to put me in the poor house either way....

I suspect it must be my cpu, so I just ordered a 1660 for 100 bucks. If it doesn't work it can just resell it!
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
964 (0.48/day)
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
did you re seat the cpu#??
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Supporter
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,464 (1.24/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, EVO 860 500GB
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
I reseated everything. Time for a new cpu....
And I guess I'll be reseating it with the new cpu, 4.8 at under 1.35 I hope.
I guess I kind of wanted this since the 1680s just won't come down in price enough.....
And a Captain doesn't let his ship go down... he does everything in his power to keep it afloat and fighting....
 
Last edited:

johnspack

Here For Good!
Supporter
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,464 (1.24/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, EVO 860 500GB
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Got my new/used 1660 today... so far up to 4.5ghz and all 32gbs ram at 1866 still. It's looking like a fix. I did clean the contacts of the new
1660 just to make sure. It's just behaving much better than my old 1650, so I guess I fried the imc somehow. Using much lower voltages this time,
but this cpu doesn't seem to need as much.....

Back up to 4.7ghz now and very stable. Love this 1660 cpu with it's full 15mb l3 cache, it's beating my old 1650. Going to try 4.8 and then 5ghz.
I may have finally got the golden sample I was looking for.....

Never mind... it just walked up to 4.8ghz and I just bested every bench I've done. I can see why this cpu cost 1100us at launch....
Nope, 4.9....

https://valid.x86.fr/l082ku
 
Last edited:

FCG

Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
81 (0.02/day)
That half of the DIMMs were not properly registered and that they were on the same "side" of the CPU was the dead give-away from the OP.

Glad everyone figured it out.

High(er) impedance path(s) can be enough to skew signals sufficient to cause non-operation.
It's why we match impedance, for example termination impedance.
Likely the pin walked to the edge of the pad and was making only marginal contact.
Thermal cycling can do some funky stuff.
 
Top